^ or an egyptian calling a desi "ya gadaa" (sounds like gadah) or an Arab introducing himself to a desi hi I am Bandar :) ... Shehzada Bandar...
yeah desi pronounciation of asif means sorry in arabic.
but the connotation of that or someone named bandar coming to pak is not quite as bad as desis named fakhar, and anas etc in english speaking countries.
haha!
rreminds me of this story one of my Bangladeshi teachers once told me about a bengali babu who once arrived at a middleeastern airport and handed over the passport to the immigration official who burst out laughing on turining the first page and couldnt conrol himself. this disterssed the poor bengali guy who appeared too confused wiht the scenarion and finally another official explained to him what was wrong. his name was “Jamal Mia”.
in arabic that means a hundrred camels! ![]()
also, think about an arab neighbor greeting you one mroning with “harami! harami” and explaining with gestures that his flowerpots have been stolen. you get angry at him for calling you illegitimate and kill him and at the police station you find out he meant “thief” whic the arabs call “harami”![]()
Re: desis growing up in middle east and accents/approach
I know this is a late reply and the moderators are gonna be like soo pissed off but I couldn't resist answering.. so here I go
Fraudz your title post is more than enough to piss the average sensible Middle-Eastern born and bred desi (like me).. okay I lived in Dubai nearly all my life (albeit in an averagely conservative family).. I guess I have more than enough to shove up your face Fraudz..
I don't know what shackled candy-ass world you live in but let me tell you.. not even an idiotic desi is an Arabian Born Confused Desi out there you know why, cuz you have all the things that you don't have in crappy little North America:
Now this towers everything, you got the religion
You got the culture, in fact most of the population in
Dubai is desis.. and I don't know what kind of ppl you hung out with but as far as I know no one speaks in a foreign accentYou got educated people. There are a few exceptions but the majority is under control
You got positive western influence.. the buildings, the system.. they took the technological advances of the West and blended it with Islamic rules as best as they could (the halal Western chains.. yummy)
You don't have to act like an Arab, a gora, a ghetto Kala, or heck - even a desi. It's up to you and no one gives a damn.
Now those 5 points should be enough to prove that a Middle Eastern desi has enough to show off when he comes in Pakistan.. I don't know about KSA (yes it is quite strict there but good for many people), but I suppose Qatar, Bahrain, Kuwait are pretty much the same.. so there you go buddy
it depends on tthe people you talk with . if they have a poor vocabulary , you would likely be the same .
when I was in pakistan. This guy from our boxing team went to Russia to study.
When he came back he started speaking urdu instead of punjabi.
Before going to russia he only spoke punjabi with us.
We asked him"u went to russia if any thing you should be speaking russian : whats with urdu"
And he use to give us some fake reasons(we use to laugh at him)
Religion...Islamic religion..like retro guy says is the best thing that Middle east provides..Like I always say Bests of both worlds
oh we are shoving things up my face already, this seems to be a promsing start. Getting personal is such a desi trait ![]()
if u insist on shoving something uo my face, I request that it be falafel, hmmm …yummie.
shackled candy ass world that i live in.. my my, touchy touchy. middle eastern desis realy do seem to have a ship on their shoulder ![]()
I know middle east well, I too spent time in the midle east and have cousins who lived in dubai or have moved to dubai
it is not a question of what one has or what one does not HAVE in north america. but it simply is not North America. Dubai is significantly better but come on, Riyadh? Kuwait, Doha? not really world class cities ya know. Its not just my opinion any stats ranging from tourist volumes to what they have to offer will indicate that they are pretty lame cities.
and everything that goes on in dubai, hey i remember the belly dancing in the desert thing. Alhumdulillah…MashaAllah. religion rocks man.
most of the population is desi. yeah, i dunno why thats a plus, but thats fine.
and there are people who speak urdu in a funked up accent. I dont know why it is, I ran itno these types in pakistan as well as in US and UK. That is not saying much, As I noted in a thread that was the precursor to this thread. there are Pakistanis in Pakistan who were born there and raised there, and aside from a summer trip to UK thats it, and they speak urdu like they grew up in michicgan and their parents did not bother to teach them urdu ![]()
The question raised was about the type of people who exist, u see them in duabi, u see them in Pakistan, and you would think they are the ultimate spoilt slueless desi growing up in the west with parents that did piss poort job of teaching them anything about the culture, and then u find out the person has never stapped a foot out of asia.. ya know. Its that type of individual I am questioning. Not all middle eastern desis,.
do middle east born desis know what ‘tanz o mazah’ is or do they take everything so seriously ![]()
please read post 12 for enlightenment
This time I want to look at the desis growing up in middle east..back then this is how I had looked at some specimen of this group
Scenario#2: You grew up in the middle east...hmmmmm question is, why is your urdu bad and hopping along with a "western" accent. If we take into account the same criteria as discussed in the previous example..should you not be speaking urdu with an arabic accent and mixing arabic words like "Ya Habeebi, Ateeni aik panni ka glass, shukran". Its my impression that desis growing up in middleeast feel like expatriates of teh second degree compared to those in europe and North america ( and australia perhaps) ..thus trying to be all western...but folks.. you are spotted a mile away J Those Hara Jeans have got to go, and the whole nike and reebok heyday is gone, so quit dressing like an extra from "footloose" and chill. On a positive side though, most of these folks are in another country and with limited opportunities to use urdu on an everyday basis since they are in international schools most of the times. Again parents fault and all...but its slightly ummmm dodgy shall we say.
so can anyone explain it? I mean pakistan is defintely more liberal than saudi Arabia, Kuwait and qatar etc...but the desis coming from there try to be so dang mod...people from UAe I can understand a little..not a whole lot..just a little, but why is it that ppl whoa rrive from middle east act as if they spent their entire lives in LA, London or NYC? the cities they live in are okay but doha, riyadh and kuwait city are not quite the same thing.
Then you start hearing their lame ass stories..like dude..shut up..boring ass countries, boring ass "adventures" and boring ass stories..
racing yer dad's car late night to the local shawarma place and exchanging glances with some arabi haseena is pretty lame.
Then the real lame stories come out.. which I would believe about the same time as when JFK and elvis release a joint gangsta rap album..
so middle east desis...explain these type of people amongst you..why, how etc etc?
as far as i think ur background is coming from middle east too right?and u came here to so u can improve urself right.
Duh well I am a desi so why not act like one. Also why can’t I shove a shawerma up your mouth instead of a falafel
?
Well yea you’re maybe right that Dubai IS better than most other Middle Eastern countries.. but I suppose that the only difference is liberty (infrastructure is almost same).. and in that case shouldn’t you find it a plus that even though Dubai is religious but still people who want liberties can have them.
Well if you think that “confused desis” are to be found everywhere (which is probably true) why didn’t you specify it in your title post? I suppose those were just the kind of ppl you were hanging out with
As for your ‘tanza o mazah’ I’ve got an advice for you: either learn how to blend sarcasm in your typing or use the
emoticon.. cuz I don’t think anyone could tell whether you were serious or “joking”.. only after reading post#12 did I know that (sorry but at the time I couldn’t resist to answer your title thread :))
i was in a falafel mood so made a special request. I had shawarma for lunch that day.
hey it is a plus, but I cant have dubai serve as a surrogate for all of middle east. its not all like dubai, dubai is more of an exception rather than the rule.
I did, that was a post prior to this, which I can dig up for you if you wish, this was a follow up to that. I think I hinted at that at the start of the thread too.
its less of ppl I was hanging out with, it was ppl that was exposed to. such wanna bes are not teh type of crowd I have any intention of hanging with. whther they are in middle east, europe, north america or pakistan.
had I been from cafe, I would be proficient in using rolleyes emoticon. As you cannsee this post is from a few years ago. At that time the people who participated in this forum were a hand ful of people who knew each other well and understood when something was being presented as a serious topic or as tanz o mazah. Indicating using emoticons was not really because the people you were talking to knew what it was. It was the new ppl who really did not show up much, who needed explanation.
and that is the challenge reviving old threads, that moment is gone, so one may not fully understand or appreciate the dynamics present among the people who were in the discussion then.
btw do pull up my thread on desis- urdu-english and the in between stuff, you will see that the target at that time were confused desis living in Pakistan ![]()
My daughters are studying in international school and they have French as a second langauge. At home everybody speaks urdu. As they don't learn urdu in the school their *Daado *teaches them urdu at home after school. Can't help having the accent while studying in the international schools.
Or try explaining the name Jawad to an egyptian.
hahahahahahaha
not true, u can find people in teh same family growing up in the same city or same country where some kids speak urdu without anyor much f an accent and others speak it like the ghunda robert from indian movies ![]()
so its not an issue of ‘cant help’
so its not an issue of 'cant help'
Pir ji you got me wrong. I meant english in english and urdu in urdu.
My children also go to an international school, and ofcourse this means that i pay a lot more than other people whose kids go to local/national schools. So other than accent&English i haven't really found that they offer any more than the third rate school where i studied.
But, my kids speak very good urdu. Its Punjabi that they have trouble with. Today my son was telling me,
Baba mujhey "Jambaji"(punjabi) ka aik lafz aa gya hai
achha! konsa? I asked.
"changa" he replied proudly.
Havn't got a chance to read all posts but as my name says i'm a desi brought up in Saudi Arabia n guess wat ppl ask me how my urdu is so good?And i always thought we desis brought up in Saudia r more liberal minded than those in pak.Ladies in saudia do hijab,don't drive , gossip like pak paindu women but still they r a lil more open minded n anti traditionist.
n other than a joke but since my husband n i were brought up in saudia n now living in canada we sometimes do use phrases like "ya habibi, ya bint-e-halal n "yalla be-sura"
I think what Mr.Fraudia is saying is soo true..In my own family i know someone who is ecstatic about her daughter speaking broken urdu and fluent fake accent English. She gets upset with her son (14 years) for speaking proper Urdu...and her kids have grown up in Pakistan.
This language degeneration has become the new 'cool' societal upper class acceptability factor unfortunately.
But, my kids speak very good urdu. Its Punjabi that they have trouble with. Today my son was telling me,
Baba mujhey "Jambaji"(punjabi) ka aik lafz aa gya hai
achha! konsa? I asked.
"changa" he replied proudly.
My elder one when she was 2-3 years used to say "pajami".