i knw the owner of Zari house...(well they r related to my In laws somehow ), anyways if you dont mind could you please show me some pictures of urs and ur cousins outfit. PM is fine too.
Thank you
hey...i would like to show some pix but somehow i cant upload any pix...
yeah my father knws him too..is my dads friend i think..everytime my father went to pakistan i gave him some pix..to let it made...and they do it..
i had only prob with one suit but i sent it back n told them whts wrong n they made a new one...i like their work n they have gud prices..
hey...i would like to show some pix but somehow i cant upload any pix...
yeah my father knws him too..is my dads friend i think..everytime my father went to pakistan i gave him some pix..to let it made...and they do it..
i had only prob with one suit but i sent it back n told them whts wrong n they made a new one...i like their work n they have gud prices..
ohhh...i really wanted to c pictures, i haven't been there yet, but inshallah will go when i go wedding shopping.,
oh n when uploading the pictures make sure in the name of the image there are no space btw letter
ex: rabia 3983 is wrong
but rabia3983 is ok.
try that maybe thats what the prob is.
girls do try my stuff...i make beautiful dresses at reasonable rates...i buy my fabric from where nomi n shaiyanne malik does
my work quality is excellent n colour combos superb....a lot of guppies are my clients
I've heard a lot about Kehkashan market. Where is it exactly?
Also, I might be going to Khi this December (ishallah) so would love to know about the tailor. I don't need a bridal jora stiched...just regular semi-formal/formal wear.
Sorry about the late reply,
Kehkashan is between do talwar and theen talwar (2 and 3 swords :)) in clifton, right across the road from Gulf shopping plaza.
The tailor is awesome!! His name is Arif, I left his number in khi, so i dont have it and it wouldnt have mattered because he doesnt pick up his phone. He is extremely busy 365 days a yr and therefore is a jerk and refuses to answer calls, but his cutting,stitching,finishing are amazing! He has a shop in 9th commercial area in phase 4 in defence. It is in the alley of K&N Chicken and if you go to that commercial area and ask anyone about 'Arif the tailor' i'm sure they will let u know. he has been there for over 10 yrs and the canopy on his shop says 'Arif Dressmaker.'
Caution: he is very moody. to make new customers he will give u ur first few dresses within a 2-3 days but after that if he doesnt like u much, he will make u cry over them for months. and women keep going back to him cuz his work is really good.
Again, sorry for the late reply, read the reply on top for info on the tailor and kehkashan. Yeh, i have also heard that there is a pathan shop in Gulf where some designers get jamavar from, and damn it i forgot the shop number but its a very, very small shop, (he has really good jamavar) when u go in the alley with all the lace-walae, it is on ur left hand side, across from a hair-clip shop. haha my describing abilities suck.
when u go to kehkashan u can look at all the different embroideries u have and pick a shop whose workmanship u like the best( i.e. design,quality).
Yes, you can negotiate with designers. I’m sure you can get one bridal outfit from bunto for under $5k but definitely not 2. i dont think u can get 2 from any upscale designer in pak.
wait a minute! u actually might be able to get it. with the current exchange rate of Rs.80/$ $5000=Rs.4 lakh and if u get each bridal dress for Rs.2lakh it would work!!! omg thats awesome. it sucks for me though, i spent about 2 lakh on my bridal and at that time the exchange rate was Rs.60/$ so it ended up costing me $2500 and Rs.2 lakh is now $2k and im sure the exchange rate will drop even further by yr end specially after their new IMF loan. YAYYYY poor pakistan=cheaper bridal dresses for us!!
Kehkashan is in Clifton, Karachi. I have heard Rim Jhim in Clifton Karachi is also very good.
Rim Jhim used to have beautiful stuff about 10 yrs ago when pak didnt have as many great designers as it does now. Now if you go in their shop after you have seen designer clothes, you will not like a single outfit! I went there in august while i was doing my wedding shopping and ended up wasting my time there and at the recently opened Zardosi in the same lane.
girls do try my stuff...i make beautiful dresses at reasonable rates...i buy my fabric from where nomi n shaiyanne malik does
my work quality is excellent n colour combos superb....a lot of guppies are my clients
why dont u post some pics so we can have a lookie :) and tell ur guppie customers to post some comments about ur service and the quality/design, etc of the outfits!
man you're the best, sumorani :) so helpful and honest mashaAllah! i hope so, there are so many designers to choose from...when i do talk to them, i'll let you guys know what the negotiations were like.
hahaha yeah now is a good time to buy houses and bridal outfits :biggthumb
i really like bunto, but i've also heard that sanya muneer is good even though ive never seen her stuff except for once on this Bina Khan facebook group and even then you can only see her shirt. mohammed mehdi and sana safinaz are supposed to be good, but I cant really find their bridals on real women as opposed to models...maybe i should ask on the bridal pics thread.
man you're the best, sumorani :) so helpful and honest mashaAllah! i hope so, there are so many designers to choose from...when i do talk to them, i'll let you guys know what the negotiations were like.
hahaha yeah now is a good time to buy houses and bridal outfits :biggthumb
i really like bunto, but i've also heard that sanya muneer is good even though ive never seen her stuff except for once on this Bina Khan facebook group and even then you can only see her shirt. mohammed mehdi and sana safinaz are supposed to be good, but I cant really find their bridals on real women as opposed to models...maybe i should ask on the bridal pics thread.
mehdi is phenomenal! i didnt sana safinaz much. i liked a couple of dresses out of their whole range, but they werent anything special. u should definitely check them out but i wasnt amazed by their bridal collection. i also wanted to get a dress for my sister for my mehndi made from them but only had two months and they said its impossible so i never went back to them and this was in aug 08.
If Sanya Muneer is who I think she is then I wouldn't exactly recommend her - her stuff came across a little paindu in a magazine shoot I saw, with funny looking floral motifs on hideous fabrics.
Again, sorry for the late reply, read the reply on top for info on the tailor and kehkashan. Yeh, i have also heard that there is a pathan shop in Gulf where some designers get jamavar from, and damn it i forgot the shop number but its a very, very small shop, (he has really good jamavar) when u go in the alley with all the lace-walae, it is on ur left hand side, across from a hair-clip shop. haha my describing abilities suck.
when u go to kehkashan u can look at all the different embroideries u have and pick a shop whose workmanship u like the best( i.e. design,quality).
Yes, you can negotiate with designers. I'm sure you can get one bridal outfit from bunto for under $5k but definitely not 2. i dont think u can get 2 from any upscale designer in pak.
wait a minute! u actually might be able to get it. with the current exchange rate of Rs.80/$ $5000=Rs.4 lakh and if u get each bridal dress for Rs.2lakh it would work!!! omg thats awesome. it sucks for me though, i spent about 2 lakh on my bridal and at that time the exchange rate was Rs.60/$ so it ended up costing me $2500 and Rs.2 lakh is now $2k and im sure the exchange rate will drop even further by yr end specially after their new IMF loan. YAYYYY poor pakistan=cheaper bridal dresses for us!! :)
ahhhhh even though the exchange rate "sounds" better; the designers have increased their prices along with this.....so a gharara that was 2 lakhs at the old exchange rate time is close to 3 lakhs now:(:( so the dollar value didnt help us States ppl lol
As for Bunto–few months ago I called and she said that her bridals are budget based–so whtever budget u have she will gladly work with it:) I needed a mehni suit–but she coulnt possibly make it in 6 months and the earliest would have been a month after my wedding. As for bridal—she said she can make things for even 1.5 lakhs and the sky’s the limit.
It all depnds on the amount of kaam and the type of kaam. Right now swarovski i all the rage–so im sure the swarovski kaam clothes will be very expensive.
She’s a darling person to talk to–the entire family is–SERIOUSLY! they seem down to earth and willing to work with each person individually—accoding to their desires, tastes:)
HSY is a lil pain in the neck--heard severa complaints......his fittings dont come out right/ he makes wrong orders and it takes forever getting the original order....my cousin wore an HSY sari on the valima and yes it was gorgeous--but the whole process a total mess.
with the current exchange rate of Rs.80/$ $5000=Rs.4 lakh and if u get each bridal dress for Rs.2lakh it would work!!! omg thats awesome. it sucks for me though, i spent about 2 lakh on my bridal and at that time the exchange rate was Rs.60/$ so it ended up costing me $2500 and Rs.2 lakh is now $2k and im sure the exchange rate will drop even further by yr end specially after their new IMF loan. YAYYYY poor pakistan=cheaper bridal dresses for us!! :)
LOL at Yay!... but i think the designers are a step ahead of hte general public, so they will still raise their prices...
Does anybody know Designer Shakeel from Karachi...my friend got her bridal outfits from him....they were beautiful ...i cant post pictures obviously without her permission.:)
Her wedding gharara was white with light blue piping...that was amazing. but in my opinion that was a little too light on work for a bride...but it was her choice :)
Walima outfit was good nothing out of the ordinary...BUT she LOOKED GORGEOUS masha allah .
Does anybody know Designer Shakeel from Karachi...my friend got her bridal outfits from him....they were beautiful ...i cant post pictures obviously without her permission.:)
Her wedding gharara was white with light blue piping...that was amazing. but in my opinion that was a little too light on work for a bride...but it was her choice :)
Walima outfit was good nothing out of the ordinary...BUT she LOOKED GORGEOUS masha allah .
would love to see pics. Can u cut her head off and post the pic? And I mean to say that in the nicest way possible:)
P.s. 2 lakh at 60/$ = $3333 and I said $2500. Bad mathematical error... ANd I'm studying to be an accountant. Guess I now know part of the reason to the cause of the current financial crisis!