Desi Parties

Re: Desi Parties

those get-togethers are really interesting, u learn a lot and then try to implement that into your practical lives, i tell u, u would be way ahead of ur friends who don't attend such gatherings.

yess, i usually just fiddle with my hands or something and stay realllly quiet :bummer:

I hate to go to other people's house mainly because I am bored to death. Men sit in one living room while women go to the other one as soon as we enter their house. I once made a mistake of correcting an uncle (his English when he meant to say one thing but it meant something totally different). Others got it and I got it too, but I just politely corrected him. It was fun to watch him defend himself.

Another time, they were talking about Pakistan affairs. I normally act like I can't hear them but they said something that was not true and I knew what the actual news was because I had just read it on the newspaper before going to their house. Well, they didn't admit that they were wrong. In the end, I had to say yes you are right, perhaps I misread.

Their kids are in teens and they expect us (who are in 20s) to entertain them and to treat them as your younger brothers and take them out to the movies etc. Well, one time we took these 2 kids to a movie. Dude, the little one (10 or 11) started crying and wanted to go home and the older one (15) wanted to go see his friend while we were watching movies. After that, we decided not to listen to their parents and to never make a mistake of taking anyone to anywhere with us.

I still go to get together but that's because if I don't, parents say "tum tum family ki khushi k liye koi kaam karna hi nahi chahtey ho."

I think it also depends upon what kind of family/relatives you have OR what kind of friends circle your parents have.... like my family/relatives and my parents friends are well-educated and well-mannered so i never had any problem with desi parties, infact, sitting with elders, as someone else mentioned, I learned a great deal of knowledgeable stuff that ranges from literature and world affairs to family life and relationships.

And about gossiping, oh come on, who doesn't gossip???? I have seen all kalas, goras, chinese etc. gossiping and backbiting whenever they sit together.... so please stop labeling 'gossip' thing with desis only.

how do you figure that?

They are certainly educational :). It really bothers me that the younger kids run around completely unsupervised by their parents. Now that my kids are older I put them in charge of the younger ones during parties at our place.

There are a couple of aunties we have been socializing with for several years who still ask EVERY TIME if my husband cooked the food - because you know a gori can't cook desi food. My husband couldn't find his way around a kitchen if his life depended on it.

Everyone has a opinion on how boring these parties are but nobody has a suggestion on what should be done to make things interesting.
People gossip, talk, discuss a wide variety of topics. Where does the party go wrong? Is segregation the problem? generation gap? quality of discussion?

Mrs Saeein,

I totally remember some of those huge parties where EVERYONE was invited..hehe...the good ole days. I think that's when i met you. By the way, have you seen pics of B's son, he is absolutely gorgeous and sooo adorable Mashallah se. I think we will head up there soon to possibly visit the baby.

The worst part is telling people every time what you do for a living, or study, or plan on studying.

How are gora parties?

I think it all really depends on the crowds at the party you go to. Depending on the people it can be fun or really boring

:lifey::cb:

Yah man daawats blow. They ruin all my weekend plans. Sometimes my mom will let me stay home if I make up a good enough excuse (I'm feeling sick, I have homework to do, that Aunty sucks at cooking).

100% agree :D

Worst experience, as I used to drag my parent to go home, as some places there were no kids of my age.

I would have to go to these parties and then be asked to clean up the mess! Typical desi parties :)

Still have to endure them.

Wierd thing is I really shouldn't be attending these parties as I now refer to my mum's friends by their first names. Goes to show how old I'm getting :(