'Deal done' - Benazir agrees to Musharraf’s re-election in uniform

Re: ‘Deal done’ - Benazir agrees to Musharraf’s re-election in uniform

That is very much true. Now the PCO and LFO Chief Justice is meeting up with Musharraf’s ex-PM’s Ch.Shujaat and Jamali in all the wheeling dealing that’s going on.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/07/30/top2.htm

Jamali’s ‘high-profile’ role

In a significant development, former prime minister Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali has become suddenly active and held a series of high-profile meetings, creating an impression that he may be getting ready for a role to defuse the charged political atmosphere. He met Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz on Sunday for the third time after his recent meetings with Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry and President General Pervez Musharraf. Mr Jamali, it may be mentioned, quit the ruling Pakistan Muslim League a couple of months back, accusing the party’s high command of ignoring him while taking important party decisions. His decision to quit the party made little political impact, his half-hearted announcement to launch his own party fizzled out and so did his efforts to join Functional League of Pir Pagara. But his recent meetings in the capital indicate that he may have been given the task of bridging the differences between important power players, which may also serve his objective of undermining his main political foes — the Chaudhrys whom he blames for his unceremonious exit from the PM House in 2004.

His meeting with the Chief Justice after the latter’s reinstatement by the Supreme Court was significant in view of his declared support for President Musharraf. Mr Jamali also met the president before the latter left for Abu Dhabi for his yet to be officially confirmed talks with PPP chairperson Benazir Bhutto, and interestingly he was the first politician here to welcome the meeting. He described it as a step forward to reduce the intensity of political tension that was taking its toll. According to sources, during his meeting with Prime Minister Aziz, Mr Jamali discussed the government’s efforts to reach an understanding with the PPP and said that an alliance between the ruling PML and the PPP was the only way out of the current political crisis. The prime minister, according to the sources, said that discussions and consultations among political forces were the hallmark of democratic culture and that the PML and its allies would contest the next elections from a single platform on the basis of their performance. When contacted, Minister of State for Information Tariq Azeem Khan said he would not attach any importance to Mr Jamali’s meetings with the prime minister, president or anyone else and added that those were a routine affair.

Some deal sweetners for BB.

**Some frozen bank accounts of BB restored **

Updated at 1740 PST

ISLAMABAD: The government has restored some bank accounts of former Prime Minister and PPP Chairperson Benazir Bhutto as a part of measures to pave the way for government-PPP deal, the well-placed sources told Geo News. The banks accounts of Benazir were restored 15 days ago to show that the government was sincere in talks with PPP that led towards Musharraf-Benazir meeting in Abu Dhahbi, the reliable sources added. However, the government has not restored all the frozen banks accounts of Benazir. The remaining frozen banks accounts of Benazir Bhutto will be restored after final deal between the government and PPP, the sources informed.

Re: 'Deal done' - Benazir agrees to Musharraf’s re-election in uniform

another one of those unfulfilled Basharat's by Wasi Zafar

no no i meant ppl on this site.

huh..who? :konfused:

I dont know about that..what I can tell u is that Aitezaz said in court that if CJ is reinstated he will not resign. He said he is not fighting his case just to resign. If he had to resign he would’ve resigned on 9th March. Makes sense to me. All else is unfulfilled dreams.

MMA to hold protests against ‘deal’

http://www.nation.com.pk/daily/july-2007/31/index11.php

halwa being catered by ambala...

Here:

Yes.

It’s a given. Please point out where in the constitution it says the President has to be a human and not monkey.

What happens after they interpret? Do they form a judgment over it or not?

Good. U cleared it up. Ur earlier post was missing the bit I have highlighted.

Not if it changes the basic framework of the constitution or is in conflict with the spirit of the constitution. It’s not such a free for all as u r led to believe.

then what were they doing deciding whether the Reference was constitutional or not?

Contradiction.

Repeat.

Supreme Court can strike down constitutional changes.

Whatever rocks your boat man. mein toh kehta hoon, President sahib itnay popular hain, he doesn’t even need the Unifrom. If he stands a poll in Pakistan, he polls so much vote, it chokes the border at Khyber.

Yes. Because all those institutions u mentioned r covered under the executive authority.

Wrong. Judiciary is an independent organ of the state.

True story. Truer today than ever before.

Military is the executive today. And if what u said were true, why did the military not refuse to obey SC’s order on the reference? :5:

There is a limit to the military’s power. Like they say the strongest of armies can’t stop an idea whose time has come.

Not interested in knowing. All I know is it killed all pretensions of an intelligent debate.

Something doesn’t add up in that para. going around in circles, self-contradictory.

Irrelevant.

U can write two more pages justifying your use of the term, doesn’t change the fact that you betrayed your own level of intelligence by calling names to the CJP. Cool with me. Keep it up. Only degrades your argument to the street level. I no care :slight_smile:

Guess what? The Supreme Court can strike down the Emergency orders. So it appears, all roads lead up to the CJP. Par gayee na mushkil. :5:

Fantastic.

Fantastic x 2

SC is answerable to others as well and not just itself.

SJC :fatee:

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007\07\31\story_31-7-2007_pg7_31

Abu Dhabi talks to benefit Musharraf more than Bhutto: BBC Urdu online survey

An overwhelming majority of 67.4 percent of the people who participated in an online survey concerning the alleged meeting between President General Pervez Musharraf and Pakistan People’s Party Chairwoman Benazir Bhutto in Abu Dhabi said the meeting would benefit General Musharraf more than it would Bhutto. BBC Urdu conducted the survey on its website to determine who the public thought was likely to benefit more from the meeting. The survey had three options: (i) The meeting would favour General Musharraf (ii) The meeting would favour Benazir Bhutto and (iii) Don’t know. A majority of 67.4 percent of the voters voted that the meeting would favour General Musharraf. Twenty-four percent of the voters said the meeting would benefit Bhutto more, while eight percent replied that they did not know whom it would benefit. Meanwhile, most political pundits and analysts are also of the view that the still-to-be-confirmed Abu Dhabi meeting and any resultant power-sharing formula it might yield would benefit General Musharraf far more than it would Bhutto. They said the landmark ruling of the Supreme Court on July 20 had drastically reduced the options available to the military ruler to stay in power

Just imagine, try to convince many that Abdul Rasheed and Abdul Aziz were breaking the laws and thus were criminals, and these people would never accept that. They would stay living in their world of right and wrong, whatever they perceive. Brother, I read your reply with care and I am sorry, I believe that you are living in a world of illusions and misconceptions, and it is impossible to convince someone who is in that situation :)

Since you believe that Chief Justice is Superman and there is no law that he has to follow or that he is not answerable to anyone, that implies that if he wants to he can declare tomorrow that he is Prime Minister of Pakistan and BB is his wife and after that he would be Prime Minister and BB would be his wife. If you want to beleive that way, good luck :)

As far as i know, CJ is just an employee of government as any government servant, and answerable to government (executives) as any government servant. Unfortunately, CJ does not even have any force under his control to resist government (like people in armed forces ... though even generals are suppose to be ... I mean, suppose to be, subordinate of executives, as CJ or any government servant).

You have weird believes that Supreme Court is not a tool of government and can influence constitution or can even stop any changes in constitution regardless of what parliament wants. It seems that you have started dreaming that Chief Justice is King and that Supreme Court rule the nation. Now what can I say?

You have started believing that government employee (Chief Justice) is above government and have right to run the house of government (country, parliament, constitution, etc), is just like saying that my servant is my master. Here again, on paper, military generals are also servant, but because of armed men behind them, they become master (gunda gardi, but still it happens, and sometime for good ;)).

As far as I know, if tomorrow Parliament decides parliamentarians can throw away each and every clause in constitution and can rewrite everything there, from scratch. I believe that your misconception is there, because when President Musharraf took power, he was directed by judiciary that he can not change some basic structure, that he (note: HE) agreed and followed. Else, before that: Ayub Khan, Yahya Khan, Zia-ul-Haq, all three military dictators inherited constitution and they used constitution like it was a useless piece of paper. Fact is that, even now if a military dictator wants to, constitution could do nothing as long as dictator has support or have a hold on military.

Thus constitution is only valid when constitutional assembly is in power and ruling, while military and other institutions are accepting that constitution and aiding executives to rule the country according to that constitution. Nevertheless, if tomorrow parliamentarian decides and have enough majority in assembly, they can bring any change to constitution, even to the basic structure of the constitution … only requirement would be that people accept that and also those that can stop that change by force (mainly military) accept that.

Actually, even military has no right to reject any change to constitution, but if they revolt then there is no way executive can impose that constitution. If military revolt fails (for instance other in military gives support to government), than those that revolted could get executed too. So, their revolt is not legal, but they do it on the strength of their military power. If judiciary revolts, it would be illegal too, and since they have no power, these in judiciary could get sacked or executed easily. That is why judiciary do not revolt, if they do not agree with change, they could resign, as most resigned when new oath was taken from judges after 1999 coup.

If you want to see how powerful Chief Justice is (in practical sense): Just remember that on 9th March, one order from executives and Chief Justice Ch Iftikhar could not even enter Chief Justice Chamber. Same policemen that were suppose to be aiding CJ were holding his head and pushing him in the car (rather according to some, were pulling him from his hair). Now you say that this man (CJ) is actually so powerful that he would order … not policeman … but even Army Chief, Prime Minister, Ministers and others, and they would listen? I do not know what are you trying to say? ;)

Same Chief Justice that was not allowed to work in his position as CJ and many called that illegal action by government … make me laugh, as according to you, legality and illegality was suppose to be whatever this man says, right? :). Just think that a person that cannot even protect his own position (and office), you want me to believe that he is superman? :) According to you, government cannot send CJ home, but they did (on Friday, 9th march).

So, when government could make CJ non-functional with one order, just think, what stops them to do the same to other lower judges (if government really wants to)? If government wanted to, they could have made them all Supreme Court judges non-functional and believe me, nothing would have happened.

If government would have wanted, they would have stopped all media from reporting anything and nothing would have happened. (Actually wait for time when there would be no Musharraf, and then look at what would happen to freedom of media, than you will know what could happen and what could not).

Anyhow, to me, most of your arguments and understanding of laws and constitution seems illogical and incorrect. I stand on each and every word I wrote earlier. If you are not going to accept that, than its fine, because believe me, I am not surprised, as living in world of illusion and keep uttering ‘mai na maanoo’ has become National characteristic in Pakistan. Maybe you must be thinking about me the same (that I am adamant and keep arguing against your understanding and uttering ‘mai na maanoo’, so when there is no argument to argue, where one can stand? No where.

I think that when discussion starts on basis of personal perception without reality or logic and against all senses (especially where no one is in position to enforce anything), than its best to stop such discussion. I realised that I could not convince you whatever the reality … :) Aap khush raho in whatever you want to believe as it seems ‘right or wrong’ does not matter to you … … errrrrrrrr to me … khush? ;)

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=9327

**Coalition government a la IJI **

**Under this planned arrangement, the government at the centre would be formed either by the PPP or the PML-Q, depending on the number of seats that they would win in the general elections. The Chaudhrys of Gujrat, who faced the wrath of PML-Q parliamentarians in Islamabad on Monday for being kept in the dark, have been promised the Punjab lollipop. Knowledgeable circles, however, believe that the PPP would also demand a lion’s share in the Punjab after the elections. In Sindh the government would be formed by the PPP and the MQM while the JUI of Maulana Fazl will retain what it has at present—the government in the North West Frontier Province and a coalition in Balochistan. The top leadership of the ruling PML-Q believes that their party would get clear majority in the Punjab as well in Balochistan and hence form the governments there. To form a government at the centre, the PML-Q leadership claims, it has the most suitable candidates for National Assembly elections. **

Well I guess Flame and his group believe that CJ does have a force under him. You know the ones known as

Men in Black.

Very disappointed in this deal bakwas. Unless we get some semblance of a functioning democracy, all this will end up in a further mess.

"Functional democracy" means precisely dat! Deal making.

We have had bouts of Marshal Law precisely because our politikos failed to make deals.

Look at 1999 time frame. No one was willing to be make a deal with NS, and instead BB, MQM, Mullahs all were threatening to lauch Pahya-jaam (total lockout) tehrik aka anarchy.

Guess what? When you create anarchy, the guy with big stick shows up. If you don't listen to him, then another guy with yet bigger stick shows up. The process continues until we all reach Allah Mian (the guy with humongous stick).

lolz

This just seems like another repetition of the same game. Governments formed through deal-making, deals being broken, political turmoil, governments falling, elections, weak government, military coup, rinse and repeat.

Musharraf ki government ke baray mai aisa kehna mana hai :nono3: ye Democracy hay, iss mai aisa nahi ho sakta.

Sadly! That's true!