Dancing at a Wedding

Re: Dancing at a Wedding

Lollypop before getting all excited please go back and read where I mentioned that our mehndis are segregated and that is the on;ly day we actually sing and dance :D

Thanks.

same here.. now call that girl.

oops ok I thought that lesson part was for me. I haven;t run in to the girl after that but if I do I know what to ask her :D maybe u already know her. Weren;t u from VA or nearby?

she is local... even better. what r u going to ask?

Ok, I was only commenting on dancing at weddings and in front of other males. Girls have always danced on mehndis in segregated functions, and I said so in my initial post. Men act silly in their gatherings as well, nothing new or objectionable. My only objection is to dancing in front of other male guests.

And I am not asking anyone not to dance. Ba-sadd-shouque, bibioN, shake away. I just dont feel comfortable, with someone I know, dancing in front of other males. All I did was voice my opinion, which I have every right to, and ended up with you girls asking me 'khan se uth ke aaya hoon'? Is that fair?

I am happy for your sisters wedding.

Oh one more thing, dancing is sensous, seductive and provocative. That is what it was designed and practiced for, for ages.

ok ashley that was unfair. maafi maangoon kya ye itna hee kaafi hei :smiley:

p.s. dancing isn;t always seductive, sensuous and provocative, trust me, you gotta see OG’s video that was put up in general :smiley:

Lollypop i’ll ask her if shewould be interested in lessons for a chiseled beast like you or if you can just watch. Isn;t that what u wanted :hoonh:

Ashy bhai, don’t worry, jotiyaN sub ko hi parti haiN.

But I do agree that mahdis are uncomfortable, I wasn’t even comfortable at mine.

Femme, pyar se kaha hae to kaafi hae :blush:

ajee :hehe:

I think ashtray and LI are going back a couple of generations where dancing was only restricted to the prostitution and entertainment districts. I think it is something we've adopted from the Hindus like so many of our other 'Pakistani' traditions.

nahi catty, I was not equating the dances of prostitutes and the dances on mehndis shadis as the same. I just dont find the idea of 'my' woman dancing in front of other men very pleasing. Bus itni si baat kahi hae, kiyouN pahaR bana rahae ho dunya walo?

Yeah it can get very uncomfortable watching the girls dance, so I tend to either gaze away from the action or walk all the way towards the back.
I remember on my mehndi it was a bit too much ... as it was evident from the sweat on my forehead in the video.

ash, im not making pahaars, this is what you said:

Dancing is certainly a new addition to weddings. This was only limited to dukan daar type and jahil tabqa and was a taboo for shurafa.

You never made mention of a distinction between segregated mehndis and non-segregated ones.

haha thats so true!!!

Catty, buri baat. I also said, girls do it on their own but not in mehfils. When I used the word mehfils, I meant mixed gatherings. In retrospect, I think I should have used the 'mixed' prefix, but at the time I thought that I had made it clear in the preceding sentence by saying 'particularly males'. And I cleared that up in my subsequent posts as well. And yes dancing at 'weddings', and not segregated mehndi functions, is a new addition.

I attended a wedding in Pakistan, in November, where some girls from the brides side, had coreographed a few dances. While they were dancing, one girls mother took some money out of her purse and then started rotating it around her dancing girl's head, to utaar nazar, and gave it to the dhol walay. Then a mamoo or chacha of another dancing girl did the same and utar her neice's nazar, then a young man stood up from the guests and started throwing money on the girl, mujra style. The whole family were like qurbaan jaooN, bano kitna acha naachti hae (her name was not bano) and I could tell from their eyes that they were gowing qurban on bano. I felt so disgusted at the beghairti that I walked outside for a smoke. What kind of celebration was that? More than half of the crowd was not close family relatives. Oh and I cant quote the comments of the young group of boys without offending a few members on this site.

^ I've seen the same thing with my own eyes at a family wedding I attended in Pakistan. Although most of the people were family, the joint mehndi was on a grand scale in a hotel and there were about 25 dances altogether, where the boys side and girls side were competing. It's just become very commonplace in Pakistan nowadays, where mehndis are held on a much grander scale than the actual shaadi or walima.

I have nothing against mehndis myself - i love the hulla gulla and love dancing, but everyone has just crossed the limits it seems.

I like mehndis myself. baqol shair
phool haiN sehra maiN ya paryaaN qataar ander qataar
oodhae oodhae, neelae, neelae, peelae peelae, pairahan.

?

I was gonna reply but what kind of behavior isnt even worth a reply. Anyways I agree with you on the other parts.

I feel the need to explain myself here that my mahandi was rather conservative. Women out numbered the segregated men by 4-1 and it were obvious that men were there as drivers and as the clean up crew. I felt uncomfortable because I was center stage in front of these women of whom I only knew 10% personally and another 10% as acquaintance and the rest were all those whom I would otherwise be forbidden to look at because of all their burqas and stuff. On top of that they were singing mean songs about me and I am sure I was being evaluated on every move I made. Just to make matters worse they started placing mahandi on my hand (actually on the tissue on my hand) & started giving me Salami of odd digits. It was just a bizarre experience, which I am sure was one of the best moments for my wife. I am from Mars and I am proud of it!

barfee, I am trying to quit.