I used 6 big legs, rather than a whole chicken. I browned them in a skillet, then stripped off the skin and rubbed salt and pepper into the surface. Chicken was just falling off the bone, and very interesting flavor.
So you cooked in the oven, interesting, will have to try that out too.
Good to see that it tured out so well. So what are you cooking next? :)
My next South Asian effort will be a curry, nice and hot!
But it will be back to traditional dishes for a few days. Probably the curry on Sunday night when I have a little time to research it better!
here are 2 more sites from my favorite list, just in case you might want them.
http://cookingwithbj.com/
http://www.contactpakistan.com/pakfood/index.html
One of those sites has an English to Urdu food translator, you have no idea how handy that might be!
Thank you!
*Originally posted by Ohioguy: *
One of those sites has an English to Urdu food translator, you have no idea how handy that might be!
Thank you!
Damn right. I've been wondering for weeks now what fenugreek seeds were....turns out it was methi!
And fenugreek sounds so foreign and exotic...aur nikla kya methi!
Well folks here is my summary:
The chicken turned out great, very tender and tasty. I overcompensated, in fear scorching my family, and the rice was too wimpy. Next time more SPICE! I had a huge pot to put in the oven, and have lots of leftovers, and because I had a big pot, I cooked it for 60 minutes. Probably could have used only 40 min. because I browned the chicken in advance.
Also, I cooked some of the rice a few minutes on the stovetop to get it started, before putting it in the pan. I probably should have cooked it even less, or rinsed it with cold water to stop it from cooking in the bowl before layering it, the rice would have turned out a little firmer. Could have used the saffron too, but I will put out an order to the Fraudia approved web site for the next endeavor.
So far so good, next time a few adjustments. The family liked all of the interesting flavors. One thing my other recipe had was either currants or raisins. Didn't have currants, so I used golden raisins, and they were very cool, little pockets of sweetness in the rice.
Thanks for the recipe and your help!
You really do love spicey stuff, don't you?:D
Good to know the recipe worked well. By the way, try leaving uncooked chicken with slightly cooked rice in the oven and it will turn out perfect. I mean the chicken will turn out as soft and tender as it can get! :)
PS.
You're welcome!
Janab, oven cooked biryani is as authentic as deg biryani…
hehe…yaar your posts always make me smile…![]()
Thank you!
You're welcome.
Post a pic if you can when you finish :D
Seems like a lot of hard work :)
Hope it turns out delicious :)
LH, I'm confused...who are you talking to and about what? biryani, saivaiyaan, rice pudding, chicken/mutton/lab korma, or something else in this thread? :D
*Originally posted by CurruptAngel: *
LH, I'm confused...who are you talking to and about what? biryani, saivaiyaan, rice pudding, chicken/mutton/lab korma, or something else in this thread? :D
obviously OG's biryani I can't wait to see it :D
Little Human
So sorry (slurp), just ate the last of it! Quick recap, I made almost 8 QTs, and had lots of cilantro and mint on the top, as well as the sauted onions. Did a nice yogurt, which was tinted slightly green from the herbs in it. Next time I will think to snap a digital photo, or perhaps do some smell-o-vision for all my helpers! :)
Little Human
So sorry (slurp), just ate the last of it! Quick recap, I made almost 8 QTs, and had lots of cilantro and mint on the top, as well as the sauted onions. Did a nice yogurt, which was tinted slightly green from the herbs in it. Next time I will think to snap a digital photo, or perhaps do some smell-o-vision for all my helpers! :)
Never mind :)
Seems delicious :D