Conqueror of the hearts - Qalandar Laal Shahbaz

Re: Conqueror of the hearts - Qalandar Laal Shahbaz

the kaur now this jhule laal concept is quite confusing. On one hand Jhule Laal is considered as same to Laal Shahbaz like when you listen to famous qawwali of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan ‘Jhoole Jhoole Laal Dum Mast Qalandar’. On the other hand, Jhule Laal is considered to be another Hindu Saint, who is also famous with the name of Udero Laal, Laal Sain. Laal Sain is also the most famous title of Qalandar Shahbaz in masses :konfused:

Even Quratulain Haider (famous Urdu novelist) in her novelette Sita Hiran, refers to Hindu identity of many Muslim Saints.

Here is extract from William Darlymple’s Nine Lives on this issue:

The Hindus were said to regard Lal Shahbaz Qalander as a reincarnation of the sensual Sanskrit poet turned Shaivite ascetic, Bhartrihari, who in the fourth century AD renounced the pleasures of the court of Ujjain and moved to Sehwan, where he lived as an ash-smeared sadhu, and was later cremated on the site of the present shrine. The Hindus also know Lal Shahbaz by a third name: Jhule Lal, originally the Hindu water god and Lord of the Indus River. This name, and the legends that go with it, they have passed on to the Muslim devotees of the saint, some of whom still believe that Lal Shahbaz controls the ebb and flow, the angry storms and peaceful meanders of the great river of Sindh

muqawwee bhai ap to apni field k bnday niklay

Haan jee ek umr guzri hai iss dasht ki siyahi main :hinna:

I thought it was about Sufism.

my bad, i thought there is just one song made in his honour! :)

how amazing that ... mA ... i mean people from every background/religion visit his shrine to pay their respects!
I have one more question I know he was named lal Shahbaz qalandar because he used to wead red color alot ... but what does jhule lal means, why is it attributed to him?

rangoli… If I’m asked about Sindh and what Sindhis consider important for their life? My answer would be River Indus, Qalandar Shahbaz, Shah Latif’s poetry . Sindhi culture is based on these three. Sindh is incomplete without them. Its undivided treasure for all Sindhis irrespective of their location.

Qalandar Shahbaz is part of hundreds of Sindhi songs. In Sindh women mannat (locally called Sukhan) is incomplete without going to the tombs of Qaldandar Shahaz & Shah Latif. There are many popular songs related to this one.

(Watch from 10:30)

The most popular one for Shah Latif is ‘Bhit ja Bhitai muhijoon tau Pujhaiyoon - Oh the Saint of Bhit- You conveyed my wished to Lord’… Although the thekedaars of Shirk will translate it ’ you fulfilled my wishes’. :bummer:

(I hope your parents must know about these songs :smiley: )

Regarding your question for Jhule Laal, refer my post no 21.

Basically Jhulay is derived from Jhoola (means swing) as we use in Urdu / Hindi too. As Sehwan is on the bank of river Indus, so with the swing of Indus river water and the red (Laal) color of dress Qalandar used to wear, this term might was attached to him. A rough guess :slight_smile:

Indeed, Sindhi culture is very rich and ancient and without all those it will be incomplete, Sindhi language is the oldest language in Pakistan. I was told Sindhi was also the first language after persian in which Quran was translated, also Quran first complete translation was also done in Sindh province. :) You sound so much like my father, he takes so much pride in being a Sindhi, he would often talk about the vital role Sindh played during Independence and how our ancestors scarificed so much. I remember 2 years back, I was in Pakistan and I had to get my National Identity card made, baba insist it should be made in Sindhi and not in urdu so i end up getting it made in Sindhi:D ... if he ever comes across a Sindhi here, unki khushi ki kio hedd nahi hoti :) ... he used to wear Sindhi topi on special occasions here and My grandfather no matter which part of world he goes to, he would never go out without Sindhi Topi ....
Baba, has Shah jo Risalo at home, I tried reading it once, but it was just too difficult for me to understand what Bhattai was trying to say! :(

jhuley lal=red swing ... that makes sense :)
I know of few songs by Allan faqir and Abida Parveen ... I'm sure baba knows about these songs you posted!

Your baba must know more than me. Our generation is deviated from the culture, but our old generations were proud and aware of their roots.

very true! … but younger generation like you set a good example:k:

… btw, is it right to say, he was the first sufi saint who had come migrated to Sub Continent? or others came before him, like Bulleh Shah and Bahadin Zakariya?

BahaoDin Zakaria was his contemporary during 11th-12th Century. It is also famous that he saved Bahoudin Zakaria's life by reaching at the place in shape of falcon (Shahbaz). Bulleh Shah was a sufi Saint during Ahmed Shah Abdali's raids in India during 18th century. Bulleh Shah's view about Ahmed Shah Abdali (who generally considered as Hero in our study books) was quite different. :D

"* Khahda peeta lahe da te baqi Ahmad Shahe da*" (Consume as much as you can because the rest is going to be taken away by Ahmad Shah anyway).

why was he against him? because he served Muguals or because he was Afghani?

Because he looted the masses. Sufi Sainst whether they were migrated or local were linked with masses not rulers. Qalandar Shahbaz cam from Iran, but today his identity is Sindh and he is the identity of Sindh. Same goes true with Bulleh Shah. Bulleh Shah ( not a migrant) always talked against the discrimination due to religion or any other basis.

oh okay, since sufis were all about religious tolerance, peace and unity, this was just not acceptable! but, its strange, how this guy is still considered a hero in our books!

btw, thanks for making things clear!

Basically our syllabus / study texts are designed to serve holy cows, which are not that holy. Our books always claim that we won 1965 war from India and keep silence about 1971 results.

Same goes for per-partition history. conquerors like Mehmood Ghaznavi, Muhammad Bin Qasim, Abdali are represented as savior of locals and preachers of Islam. In fact, their purpose was not preaching Islam, they came here to loot. We cover this topic to an extent in this thread:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/world-history/541105-conflicting-heroes.html

Interesting :k:

Your appreciation, my pleasure. Piasa wasool. :D

you are right, our religio-political history of Pakistan is somehow not very accurate, it would be great if they can change the misleading information from the school curriculum.