Christmas Festivities

Re: Christmas Festivities

so is halloween… one is readily accepted…the other is not… yeh kya baat hui?

Well, that’s obvious isn’t it?

Thanksgiving and Halloween don’t seem to carry much religious significance to people nowadays.

Christmas is still considered a sacred day mainly for Christians.

Lol I didn’t say Halloween is accepted by me. It’s also very pagan.

My kids are young so I tell them that some kids celebrate end, some Hanukkah, some diwali and so on. There are sooo many people in the world, everyone cannot celebrate on the same day because all the toys will run out from the world so we celebrate them on different days because each holiday has a different story behind it. The festivities of the season are so bold and in your face that this year I had to hear a bunch of times but can we exchange holidays so someone can celebrate eid and we can celebrate Christmas. UMMM No!!!

Thanksgiving does not, nor ever has had any religious significance or origin whatsoever. It’s purely a North American historical thing. Nothing more, nothing less.

Halloween is considered by the vast majority to be secular as well. The people who do “celebrate” it in the religious sense have nothing to do with candy or Disney costumes or trick or treating.

With Christmas, Jesus is the reason for the season. Christians believe they are celebrating the birth of their Lord and Savior. Hazrat Isa (AS) is not our Lord nor our Savior. Nor is there any proof of his birth in the month of December, let alone Dec 25th. Some non Christians (muslims, jews, agnostics, etc) may feel comfortable separating the consumer and cultural aspects from the religious, and “celebrate” the secular parts of the holiday, but I do not, so I tell my kids that we do not need to “celebrate” something in our home with gifts and whatnot that we don’t have any belief in. Plain and simple.

If someone gives our family a Christmas gift, we accept it graciously. I allow my kids to give their teacher a gift at the class holiday parties because I also acknowledge Eid with them as well.

In regards to “missing out” on Christmas, it’s a non issue in our household…No tears, no drama, no second thoughts.

To be honest after a decade or so even Christmas will lose what little religious significance it has. Here none of the English people I know are remotely religious nor even know what Christmas is for properly yet still celebrate it!

I know that you are saying it in jest, but do you think that I will offend Christians if I do that? I doubt?

I dunno.

Try to find out next year and report back to us. :slight_smile:

It’s probably too late to go looking for all the Muslim decorations this year if they even sell them anywhere. :slight_smile:

There are plenty of online sources to buy Muslim decorations all throughout the year. And the companies that specialize in installing Christmas lights could easily make a crescent moon or minarets out of lights on TLK Bhaiyya’s roof :hehe:

Let’s do it then.

TLK, are you on for the challenge ? :smiley:

[Par ba’ad main na kehna keh kissi nay warn nahi kiya tha. :chai:]

Christmas Festivities

TLK that sounds like a really good idea! If not around Christmas but Eid.

Ha! Cute and clever kids you have. thats really cute lol.

Then they will really stand out. :slight_smile:

Christmas Festivities

That’s true, but is that a bad thing? It’s a nice peaceful gesture in my mind. I don’t think many of us consider decorating our homes with lights and such around Eid similar to the way it is done around the Holidays. Maybe for people with little kids who are still learning it sounds like a really effective way to get them into the Eid spirit. Similar to how American families do on Christmas. No? How comfortable do you think Muslim families would feel going that far over here? I guess it really depends on where you live I imagine.

We usually decorate our homes with lights outside when there’s a wedding in the family. I have never seen anyone do it for Eid. Would it be a good idea?

Mashallah.

Excellent…very well stated.

Btw if Santa is seen in Bethlehem is it still Christmas in Poughkeepsie?