Celebrating Birthdays???

Anyway, Im sure you all have your excuses to say that its a “good” innovation. Here is something on good innovations. Read it, learn it, believe it.
Next thing you know you guys will be comparing breathing with things we do while “living” lol. The first man on earth was a breathing man? Didn’t Mohammad breath?

Breathing was giving to us by Allah, so we can survive, is celebrating birthday something you can’t survive without?

Read on.

Firstly, we should know what “bid’ah”(innovation) means according to Islamic teaching.

It is defined as: any invented way in religion that is aimed at worshipping or drawing closer to Allaah. This means anything that is not referred to specifically in Sharee’ah, and for which there is no evidence (daleel) in the Qur’aan or Sunnah, and which was not known at the time of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) and his Companions. At the same time, it is quite obvious that this definition of religious inventions or innovations, which are condemned, does not include worldly inventions [such as cars and washing machines, etc. - Translator].

Jareer ibn 'Abdullaah al-Bajali (may Allaah be pleased with him) said: “The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: ‘Whoever starts a good thing and is followed by others, will have his own reward and a reward equal to that of those who follow him, without it detracting from their reward in any way. Whoever starts a bad thing and is followed by others, will bear the burden of his own sin and a burden equal to that of those who follow him, without it detracting from their burden in any way.’” (Reported by al-Tirmidhi, no. 2675. He said, This is a saheeh hasan hadeeth)

There is a story behind this hadeeth, which will explain what “whoever starts a good thing” means. Imaam Muslim reported this story from Jareer ibn 'Abdullaah, who also narrated the hadeeth itself. He said: “Some people from the Bedouin came to the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), wearing woollen garments. He saw that they were in bad shape and in desperate need, so he urged the people to give them charity. They people were very slow to respond, and it could be seen in his face (that he was upset). Then a man of the Ansaar brought a package of silver, then another came, and another and another, and his face was filled with joy. The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: ‘Whoever starts a good thing in Islam, and others do likewise after him, there will be written for him a reward like that of those who followed him, without it detracting in the least from their reward. Whoever starts a bad thing in Islam, and others do likewise after him, there will be written for him a burden of sin like that of those who followed him, without it detracting in the least from their burden.’” (Reported by Muslim, no. 1017)

Further explanation may be found in a report recorded by al-Nisaa’i, also from Jareer ibn 'Abdullah, may Allaah be pleased with him, who said: "We were with the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) early one day, when some people who were almost naked (not dressed properly) and barefoot, with their swords by their sides, came to him. Most, if not all of them, were of (the tribe of) Mudar. The Messenger’s face changed when he saw how poor they were (i.e., he became upset). He went into (his house), then he came out and ordered Bilaal to give the call to prayer. He led the people in prayer, then he addressed them, saying: ‘O people, “be dutiful to your Lord, Who created you from a single person, and from him He created his wife, and from them both he created many men and women, and fear Allaah through Whom you demand your mutual (rights), and (do not cut the relations of) the wombs (kinship)” [al-Nisaa’ 4:1].

“Fear Allaah, and keep your duty to Him. And let every person look to what he has sent forth for the morrow…” [al-Hashr 59:18].

Let a man give charity from his dinars, his dirhams, his clothing, his wheat or his dates - even if it is only half a date.’ A man from the Ansaar brought a package which he could hardly carry in his hand, then another and another came, until there were two piles, of food and clothing, and I saw the face of the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) beaming with joy. The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: 'Whoever starts a good thing in Islam will have his own reward and a reward equal to that of those who follow him, without it detracting in the least from their reward, and whoever starts a bad thing in Islam will have to bear the burden of his own sin and a burden equal to that of those who followed him, without it detracting in the least from their burden. (Reported by al-Nisaa’i in al-Mujtaba: Kitaab al-Zakaat, Bab al-Tahreed 'ala al-Sadaqah).

From the context of the story, it is clear that what is meant by the words “whoever starts a good thing (sunnah hasanah) in Islam” means: Whoever revives a part of the Sunnah of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), or teaches it to others, or commands others to follow it, or acts according to it so that others see him or hear about it and follow his example. This is also indicated by the hadeeth narrated by Abu Hurayrah, may Allaah be pleased with him, who said: "A man came to the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), and he urged the people to give him charity. A man said: ‘I have such-and-such,’ and there was no person left in the gathering who did not give something in charity to him, whether it was a large amount or a little. The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: 'Whoever starts something good, and others follow his lead, will have a complete reward and a reward like that of those who followed him, without it detracting in the least from their reward. Whoever starts something bad, and others follow his lead, will bear a complete burden of sin, and a burden like that of those who followed him, without it detracting in the least from their burden. (Reported by Ibn Maaajah in al-Sunan, no. 204)

It should be clear from the above, with no room for doubt, that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) was not allowing innovation in matters of deen (religion), nor was he opening the door to what some people call “bid’ah hasanah,” for the following reasons:

The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) stated repeatedly that: “Every newly-invented thing is a bid’ah (innovation), every bid’ah is a going astray, and every going astray will be in the Fire.” (Reported by al-Nisaa’i in al-Sunan, Salaat al-'Eedayn, Baab kayfa al-Khutbah). Reports with the same meaning were narrated via Jaabir (may Allaah be pleased with him) by Ahmad, via al-'Irbaad ibn Saariyah by Abu Dawud and via Ibn Mas’ood (may Allaah be pleased with him) by Ibn Maajah.

The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) used to say, when beginning a khutbah (sermon): “… The best of speech is the Book of Allaah and the best of guidance is the guidance of Muhammad. The worst of things are those which are newly-invented, and every innovation is a going astray…” (reported by Muslim, no. 867)

If every bid’ah is a going astray, how can some people then say that there is such a thing in Islam as “bid’ah hasanah”? By Allaah, this is an obvious contradiction of the statement and warning of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him).

The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) stated that whoever innovates something new in the deen (religion) will have his deed rejected, and Allaah will not accept it, as is stated in the hadeeth narrated by 'Aa’ishah (may Allaah be pleased with her), who said: “The Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: ‘Whoever innovates something in this matter of ours that is not a part of it will have it rejected.’” (Reported by al-Bukhaari, Fath al-Baari, no. 2697). How can anybody then say that bid’ah is acceptable and it is permitted to follow it?

**When a person innovates something and adds to the deen something that does not belong to it, he is implying a number of bad things, each worse than the last, for example:
That the religion is lacking, that Allaah did not complete and perfect it, and that there is room for improvement. This clearly contradicts the statement in the Qur’aan (interpretation of the meaning): “… This day, I have perfected your religion for you, completed My favour upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion…” [al-Maa’idah 5:3]

That the religion remained imperfect from the time of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) until the time when this innovator came along and completed it with his own ideas.

That the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) was “guilty” of either of two things: either he was ignorant of this “good innovation,” or he knew about it but concealed it, thus letting his ummah down by not conveying it.

That the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), his Companions and the righteous salaf (early generations) missed out on the reward of this “good innovation” - until this innovator came along and earned it for himself, despite the fact that he should say to himself, “If it was truly good, they would have been the first to do it.”

Opening the door to bid’ah leads to changing the deen (religion) and opens the way for personal whims and opinions, because every innovator implies that what he is introducing is something good, so whose opinion are we supposed to follow, and which of them should we take as a leader?**

Following bid’ah leads to the cancelling out of sunnah practices and the ways of the salaf. Real life bears witness that whenever a bid’ah is followed, a sunnah practice dies out; the reverse is also true.
We ask Allaah to save us from the misguidance of personal whims and from all trials whether they are open or secret. And Allaah knows best.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

[This message has been edited by The Watcher (edited October 12, 2000).]

Originally posted by The Watcher:
**Firstly, we should know what "bid'ah"(innovation) means according to Islamic teaching.

It is defined as: any invented way in religion that is aimed at worshipping or drawing closer to Allaah.**

Watcher:

I am afraid you have lost me here. The definition of bid'ah as given by you, refers to religious activities. If someone says celebrating birthdays is a religious activity and we will be rewarded for it, then I will staunchly disagree on both counts.

Celberating Birthdays in NOT a religious activity, therefore it is not a bid'ah. Hence it will have no reward or sin.

If you can prove from Quran or Sunnah that Islam PROHIBITS from celebrating birthdays, than I will be most ineterested in knowing the evidence. Otherwise don't call it a bid'ah (it is not a religious activity) and don't lump it with all activities of jews and christians. The question of "good innovation" and "bad innovation" does not arise here. You took great pains to explain that good innovation is not allowed in Islam, which is fine, but, my friend, who says Birthdays is an innovation at all? It is a non-religious activity.

Not everything we do in our lives is a RELIGIOUS ACTIVITY. Somethings we do just because we are humans and some we do because of advancement in sciences and some simply because it is a life-style thing. I we start calling each and every thing we do now, bid'ah, by comparing them to the lives of our Prophet (PBUH), then we will be doing a severe injustice to our lives and our intellect.

Adios!

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited October 13, 2000).]

And one more thing Watcher
can you please quote Quran and not Hadith coz I'm shia and I still won't belive Bukhari or Muslim!!
thanks!!!

Watcher..

there is no mention in Quran and Sunnaf of usage of computers.. so it means that it is not part of religion and according to your definition is bi'dah..

so do yourself a favour.. do not use the computer.. coz i dont want you to increase your burden on the day of judgement..

live long and prosper

Turns out most are shia here, who deny the words of Mohammad in authentic books of Hadith. I would love to debate with you guys, without any bad intenstions. But, this is time of a crisis(as you all know situation in Mid-east)I think, instead of leting these small issues divide us more, we should put back our little tiny differences and unite and support and pray for our brothers(shia or sunni) in their ordeal. Thank you. I hope you all understand and feel the same way.

We will inshallah get into this topic in debth and more seriously.

Originally posted by Pristine:
** There were no jeans worn by the Prophet (PBUH) and the sahaba in their time, because it was not available. Now, jeans as a dress, were probably developed by christian designers, but there is no prohibition in wearing it by muslims, because this dress is not associated with any religious practice of christians. If you wear jeans, there is no sin, and similarly there is no reward. Its just a neutral everyday action. Although, you will have reward if the jeans cover your ahraam, which is the mandatory parts to be covered by a muslim man (i.e. from waist to knee). As a hadith suggests that you will be rewarded for abstaining from haraam and showing your ahraam parts is haraam. **

What I'd like to say IS! the pants, ahem, the pants DO NOT!! hide your ahraam as the word goes. Check out the hole history of people in the US from the 60s or even before it. Jeans is envolved in doing more social damage than any other things. And if Jeans would hide your "ahraam" these people would not have used the jeans to look at someone's body. The problem with jeans is, its too "TIGHT" when you wear it. The word TIGHT ring any bells? TIGHT means, it sticks with your body and you'r ahraam are easily viewable to others, which means -> bad news!. Its not that jeans was not available then and is now, its the fact that it is TOO DAMN TIGHT on us, maybe that is why it is not right.

Originally posted by NYAhmadi:
**There are big celebrations in Pakistan on Eid Milad Ul Nabi. Is that sacrilegious? How about 14th of August that we celebrate, would that also be against the spirit of Islam?

Pristine makes good points.

I don’t think that God intended to make things so complex. If you can’t celebrate your birthday joyfully, you are not thankful for the life that has been given to you. Celebrating birthdays is celebrating life.

In addition to Cake, Dae Bhaley should be served (lots of masala, and not too much Dae).**

Actually, if you go in the past (blast of the past, hehehe) you will see that Bhutto (Benazir's father) started what you call "Eid Milad Ul Nabi" from the platform of his government at that time. It dint even exist NO WHERE before that. So, you dont say that it is an Islamic event, caz brother! it just AINT one!

Unwished thanks for explaination.

Could you please tell them the unimportance and irrelevancy of breathing with this topic.

Eid-Milad-Nabi? THere are ONLY TWO(2) EIDS in ISLAM, where/when the hell did 3rd come in? Another bid’ah on the name of goodness.

Actually I am glad this topic is being suspended. For me, as I stated earlier, it is not interesting, but rather only mildly amusing.

Re: Eid-Milad-ul-Nabi. I agree that it is not an Islamic ritual and is a classic example of bid’a, which was explained by Watcher quite clearly.

Re: Jeans. I am not convinced entirely. The Islamic prohibition, as far as I know, is against tight and transparent dresses for muslim women; dresses from where the curves of the body are apparent. If you have any other evidence, pls provide. Also, don’t you wear any jeans yourself?

Or do you also preach things which you yourself don’t do?

Come on…why are you being so hard. Islam is a very natural religion which doesn’t preach intolerance, rather provides excellent guidelines to live a successfull life for here and for everafter.

With much larger and complex issues, staring at the muslim ummah, to be discussing whether celebrating birthdays is allowed or whether it is a bid’a (religious activitiy!?!?), seems quite inane. We need to focus on better and more important things.

Watcher, keep continuing doing your good work in creating awareness about the issue of Al-Aqsa mosque and champion the cause of unity for muslim ummah. Debating a comparison between hinduism and islam, and then, in the end, thrashing the ideals of hinduism won’t win you any converts, instead will only bring more conformity of views amongst the non-muslims foes in their erroneous belief that Islam is intolerant of other beliefs. Take care.

Adios!

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited October 14, 2000).]

Pristine, no one is trashing Hinduism. I am only posting what is written in their books and what the famous scholars have writen about Hinduism.

We will continue this debate some other time. I am sure this will pop-up again sometime.

I don’t think at this time, we should debate on tiny issues like this. Its time to put down our differences and unite.

Has anyone considered, that as we celebrate birthdays according to the Gregorian Calendar, in any case islamically these days are not significant.

Oh BTW is it bidah to use another calendar? Shouldn't we be sticking to the Islamic calendar?

But seriously, I was told that an Islamic way of celebrating a birthday is to give charity and think of others on this day that Allah has given you life. Why not? and why can't a party for friends be included.

A Korean friend told me that on her birthday she sent a card and a gift to her mother, why not? A chance to make someone close to you happy.

After a certain age birthdays also lose their significance, it's just another day.

After a certain age, the birthday is just a reminder that another year has gone by, and we are one more year closer to our end!

Re: Gregorian...hmmm.... thats an interesting point. I don't think it is bid'ah because using a calendar is just for reference and is not a religious activity, whereas bid'ah refers to religious activities, right?

BTW, I know people (my mom included), who still use the islamic date of birth to celebrate birthdays by giving out charity and offering extra prayers and asking forgiveness for all the sins. Maybe thats one more way of addressing this whole issue. Hope it helps.

Adios!

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited October 15, 2000).]

Birthdays in my mind should not be celebrated but are times of reflection.. more so than new years day.. as it reflects more on what you have done in the time you have been on this planet.. and what you still have to do in the little life left.

That is one thing which does not make me happy to be celebrating my birthday.. In the end it is just another day that you have in common with 500 million other people..

but if you want to celebrate.. please do.. what ever makes you happy..

In addition to the above post.. i saw this
http://www.understanding-islam.com/rs/s-085.htm

regarding celebrating birthday.

This just shows how arrogant and annoying everyone can be!

Someone tells you the what he thinks is right, and you start making fun of him and annoying him. The funny thing is that most of you are Muslims.

He has done his best to prove his point, however, you can contradict on that, he is not a scholar!

But it is known without doubt that most famous scholars regard birthday, x-mas, and especially haloween as forbidden in Islam.

For me, knowing that much is enough. What is the use in doing something that you dont get ajar for, however there is a great possibility that you might get gunnah for it. I understand that most of you most have done probability in Maths.

Dont worry Watcher, I hope that InshaAllah God will reward you on the last day for all your contributions on this forum, and that he may help you and all of us follow the right path! (Aameen)

Peace to All,

Yahya

PS. Please don’t take this harshly, however I am willing to withstand any critism. It would be as it has always been wiser to discuss matters of religion in a mature way.

If someone doesnot want to discuss about this, or is tired of discussing this topic (Pristine), he/she can just leave.

prince_x:

Nice of you to join the discussion. And nice of you to remind that any one tired of this topic can leave.

Enjoy your stay here, now that you are a ‘Senior member’.

I am sure, all the things you do in your life and in your daily activities, you only do for ‘ajar’. You don’t do anything, which has a ‘high possibility’ of ‘gunnah’. I am so glad for you.

And I am also sure that Watcher will get reward for bringing so much knowledge to us, and for you in supporting him.

Did I miss anything here?

Oh yes, if anyone doesn’t wish to celebrate birthdays, don’t celebrate.
Is it prohibited to celebrate birthdays…? No further comments.

Don’t Blame me…
C’est La Vie
:slight_smile:

Pristine:
You don't do anything, which has a 'high possibility' of 'gunnah'

I try not too and every Muslim who is afraid of the last day and has a reverence for God should also avoid 'gunnah' as much as possible.

Don't you agree with me?, May I ask you how long you're gonna live?

AOA,
Yahya

Allah knows best...

Very realistic approach. Agreed and also a word of praise for your mother brother. She is also lucky to have a son like you, mean it.

shair.

From birthdays to Levis..whoa..I will not get into a discussion of the social impact of jeans

Although I suspect that it may be similar to choori daar pajama or lungi.

The point is that Innovation in religion is Bi’dah. I agree with that. If I add one more sijdah in nanaz cuz I feel extra thankful or I rotate 360 degrees after rukoo, or if I increase zakat to 5% thats bi’dah, but if I celebrate my team winning the match, or my brother getting married (blackzero..you know your time is near), how does that become a part of religion?

But, if it is not a part of religion, in my view there is nothing wrong with it. People celebrate the seasons, harvest days, rain etc etc..people celebrate weddings, births..

But if its just something you do, how is it an innovation in religion?

People come up with the argument that Islam is not just a religion, but a way of life..and anytime you add something to the way of life, you are adding to religion. Now I am a very open minded person but that thought is absurd because that is equal to having no innovation in life..period, be it in medicine, farming, travel etc..and Islam is a very logical religion therefore we know that this is not a correct argument.

So by the same token, other things in life, whether they are celebrations or festivities should not be a problem, as long as they not be refered to as a religeous event.

ditto to you kami bhai (urf fraudia)!

happy birthday to you…lol