Re: Can you defend yourself?
Ive never been attacked...but I can throw a punch :)
I'm afraid I'm not so great in these situations. I never really was a fighter, well mentally I'm stronger nowadays, but physically still not strong enough to fend off attackers. I was attacked in my own home some years ago, my children were in panic and shock, not knowing what to do. I was attacked by 2 females living in our neighbourhood. I was beaten up, even if it would have been one, I still couldn't have defended myself, never could as a child and still can't unfortunately. :(
thats y i always keep a scissor in my bag ;)
****Girls should always know how to S.I.N.G in such situations ![]()
Those are the weak areas you should know in order to be able to somewhat “stun” or “paralyze” an attacker long enough to disengage and flee.
S = Shin
I = Instep
N= Nose
G= Groin
Oh and remember when you throw a punch ladies keep your thumb tucked into the fist and go in that sequence SING and you can literally floor a guy .****
Sure I can defend myself if I get attacked.
Growing up, I got into plenty of fights in school and otherwise. I was pretty hot-headed. It hurts but what that does is give you experience to think in the heat of the moment. All this talk looks very lyrical but when you’re actually in the thick of it, its hard to think and it is over before you know what hit you.
That’s why I recommend everyone takes some form of self-defence classes. As Faris mentioned Krav Maga is incredibly effective and is now taught to most police, paramilitary and military forces around the world. Its widespread too and I’m sure you can find classes in almost every major city in the world.
I’ve been through three knife attacks, one gun-point robbery and plenty of violent altercations. AlhamdliAllah I’ve gotten lucky in all scenarios and funny enough, I was arrested three times (For the three knife attacks) but released eventually because it was self-defence. I think the best thing I ever did was train (Boxing, BJJ and MT). What that gave me was an awareness of everything that was happening around me, good reflexes and response dynamics. After a while, you learn how a particular kind of person is most likely to attack you, there are certain behaviours and patterns that you can just pick out at a distance.
So yeah, kicking them in the balls or gouging out their eyes looks lovely on paper. But you need to train. And if you’re not trained.
Shout, thrash and run as hard and as fast as you can.
Any powder is an awful choice as a self-defence ‘weapon’. You are as likely to get it in your face as the attacker. There’s a reason proper self-defence sprays use a relatively high pressure concentrated burst.
Smart move. The first rule of self-defence is to acquiesce. You can be a hero/heroine or you can walk away and live another day. All this talk about bravery sounds beautiful but unless you have had professional training, you need to walk away.
so girls…self defense comes later…how many of you can run really fast with those weird HEELS you wear?? ![]()
mein to hamdardi mein poocha :(. Acha nahi likha ho ga. aap khud kahtay ho gay k agar tumharay pass gun hay to lut lo jo lootna hay ![]()
Allah mian ne itni aqal di hai humain k we will take off our high heels… jooti utaar ker us se attacker ko phainti laga ker… we will run barefoot ![]()
maybe we can stab them in the eye with those heels and run away. ![]()
cool idea, make sure you use both heels as it will be very difficult to run with one shoe in your foot.
Aor Nishanay ki practise karni ho to ghar mein chotay bhai to ho gay hi na ? ![]()