Re: CAN SOMEONE CALM ME DOWN B4 I EXPLODEEEEEE
Phone them and yell at them or call it off i say, CALL IT OFF! I mean how dare they.. this is probably why you don't have that glow on your face.
^hehehehehe
dear you need a LOT of growing up before getting MARRIED! God help the poor boy!
i think they are mentally ill ! dhamki do that ur canceling everything and see the tamasha then
^ wot the hellllll? why are you people contaminating the poor girl's mind? please stop being so b*tchy arghhhhhhhhhh
Nadz, man, calm down, after your wedding you'll have forgotten all about it and will see how small a thing it is to be so angry about. and consider yourself lucky, I didnt even get invites for my wedding for the day of the baraat, only for the walimah which my hubby arranged and had nothing to do with me, so think about that and chill! xxx
nadz -- you're handling the teasing really well. just relax and look forward to a happy life together.
Don't think about the little things. These are just the "Invites". Who cares about them?? I didn't! I had chosen the most simple card I saw. Even if someone else choose the card for me. I wouldn't mind. My chachu arranged the wedding hall. I wanted somewhere else but I thought it's my kismat! So leave up to Allah! You want that the things should be perfect in the way "YOU WANT. But the things will be perfect in the way "ALLAH WANTS".
"Bare bare kammo mein, choti choti baatein hojati hai".
@ some of the comments ![]()
yeh i know....but the point is regardless of how nice the invite might end up being, is the fact that he didnt bother asking what we wanted....and went ahead....yes it may be lovely..but when the option of choice is removed, one feels controlled.
Nadz,
I might be wrong here, but I feel that a desi bride-to-be and groom living in the West are more involved in their wedding arrangements. They put forth their input in many decisions n are actively involved in choosing clothes, selecting a hall, wedding menu, wedding cake, order of events, etc. Whereas in Pakistan.......the **parents **tend to control everything and the groom.....and especially the bride-to-be doesn't have much of a say in things. Perhaps in Pakistan, a girl is expected to be more "sharmeeli" and "conservative" about wedding arrangements and an active interest would be frowned upon because she'll appear "over-eager." Who knows? Just talk to your fiance and EXPLAIN to him NOW that you'd like to be more involved and informed about what is going on. That way you're less likely to be upset the next time.
they think i have lambi zabaan and am taiz....
this is the stuff i get when i take an shockhorror interest in my OWN GODDAMN WEDDING...
Nadz, I wish I could give you a hug.
Calm down. I know you're sick of hearing that. But if you keep at it the way you're going, you'll end up in the ER from an anxiety attack on your wedding day. And then your big day will be memorable for all the wrong reasons.
I and most everybody else who is getting married or is already married feel your pain. It's one of the most annoying desi traditions where the people getting married have little or no control over their marriage. Even in the best of situations where the boy and girl are making decisions together, the parents, siblings, aunts, ex-best friend's former roomate's sister all have to give their two cents and do things to your wedding according to their preferences.
But look at the most important thing you've decided on. You decided on the person to marry. You care for him, you want to be his wife, you're looking forward to a new, exciting phase of your life with him. No one can take that from you. Invitations, wedding halls, dresses aside...saying yes to your husband-to-be is the decision that has the most impact on your happiness. Concentrate on that. Put everything else aside.
I've read this post and the post where you're worried about your "surprise" dresses. And honestly Nadz, though I feel bad that your fiancee didn't consult you (he should have - at the very least for your side's invites), the invitations will be looked at for all of 5 seconds and forgotten or lost. Then everybody will call at the last minute asking for date, place, directions, etc.
And as for the clothes, I feel your pain. I lucked out on color b/c my MIL and SIL totally rock and got me the color I wanted, but I had to trust my in laws on everything else because I know squat about what looks good and obviously couldn't get it all made in Karachi while I was stateside. It was beautiful. So shall your dresses be. Even if your inlaws present you with burlap sacks (they won't), you're still gonna look beautiful. Know why? Your skin's gonna be glowing, your makeup will be perfect, and above all, you will be happy, Inshallah.
Take a breath. Take a walk. Read a book. Take a long, relaxing bath. But just stop thinking about it for a little bit.
Good luck honey. It's going to be okay, Inshallah.
thankyou....yeh he shudve consulted about the cards, however he said he picked a `nicer one for us....but he said it was just his choice and we can change it...which we goddamn will....
his card is wait for it brown and grey
my face fell..it better be a bloody good design....out of all the damn culours, he chose brown and grey combo...pratt.
he chose gold and cream for ours..phewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww thank godd..
^ awww see that was thoughtful
Thread closed.
Like Sahar said, if you need to vent, GS offers a feature called blogs. It is free and used by many members here, Im sure it will be very useful for you as well.