Can a Muslim be a Vegetarian?

Oh you were talking from the health implication of that feed. yes you are right. Taking care of ourselves is far more bigger sunnat than the sunnat of eating meat.

Perhaps common sence (a gread blessing of Allah) should always be used before making decisions. No for example if you think meat is currently not good for your health ie your stomach will have problem diggesting then obviously you will do what is right for you.

Here some people are implying that since we are unsure of the way the animals were kept and fed so it is better to stay away from meat. My question for them is that, are they very sure of the conditions under which the vegetables are planted. nature of soil and things that have become part of that soil before the plantation took place. Moreover, how about pesticides and germicides sprayed on them. how about chemicals put in the soil as fertilizers. How about 'organic fertilizers' that contains feces of animals as well.
Certainly, some level of surety is good to be on the safe and healthy side but this criteria applies to both animals and vegetables.

Hareem Ji we are waiting.....

I can guess that you will reply after Eid ul Adha.....:)

Right Hashmat Bhai........question that also comes to mind is whether Allah Subhanahu wa Taala prefers that we eat the bounties that are provided to us all ............and meat being one of those bounties?

Yes you are right! d-tox..ed is also a consideration we should all be detoxed!

I have seen children (European) raised in a strictly vegetarian Family in the US, they did seem different in physical stature a bit on the frail side.

Yes choices are always ours to make!

I agree it is a Sunnah of our Holy Prophet (PBUH)..........but the Holy Prophet PBUH would go without food for days .........so much so that he would tie a rock to his stomach to keep hunger pangs from bothering him!

How many of us have ever done that?

Well Popat Bhai Sahib I understand your point however we are taught that when ever we sit down to eat we should recite Bismillah arahman nirraheem! and all the act of eating becomes an ibadat!........Right?

Yes Allah has odered us to sacrifice an animal!

so in order not to waste it.......................you can give it all away to the needy! ..Right?

I read somewhere that it was animal brains amoung other organ meats that were being all ground up and fed back to fatten the cows ........which caused the Mad Cow desease!

Yes true!....... and Rasul Allah (PBUH) said (more or less as I understood) You are the Moderate Ummah.......that does not go to extremes in their actions!

Thanks Pir Sahib for the elaboration!

it was not "some people" it was I. :) There was no implication or cal to action to stay away from meat, but a statement that if one has concerns about the meat that is available to them, then they can refuse to eat it.

Since the discussion was about meat, thats what I focused on, the thread is about, but yes the same considerations apply to vegetables as well. If is is a concern that certain genetically modified veggioes and fruits are creating issues, or the way certain vegetables are being processed is spreading salmonella etc, it is just common sense to not eat them. If vegetables are coming from a can, and it is full of preservatives and you have concerns about the preservatives, dont eat them.

However, to really clarify one thing, the issue is not with having feces in animal feed, that is not the point. I mean chicken eat all kinds of crap anyway, so do fish, but the impact of having that be a part of animal feed and what the implications are.

Now it usually is not an issue in vegetables but if certain type of fertilizers start spreading things like the mad kadoo disease..well then lets not use those fertilizers for that produce ;)

i dont know specifics, but seems like what you note the brains of other cows in the feed defintely was a source of spreading it, but there is some discussion on root causes. The other issue was for when that disease jumps from bovine to humans i.e. cruetzfeldt jakob disease.