ziggy, your whole experience sounds fabulous! i can't wait to see the finished product now.
That might be a long while...i've been told that if I place an order in June/July, then the finished product won't be ready till February/March :(
ziggy, your whole experience sounds fabulous! i can't wait to see the finished product now.
That might be a long while...i've been told that if I place an order in June/July, then the finished product won't be ready till February/March :(
does she have another unmarried son?? hee heh i am just kidding. btw, that bride in second pic look like mahnoor baloch
I think that was her only son - I can also see the slight Mahnoor Baloch resemblance as well!
Re: Bunto Kazmi Gahara decision - help!
yeah but it'll be worth the wait, from the looks of it! place the order already! haha
Love the colours! I see a bit of blue on the edge of the green sample, I guess it's double-shaded. I would add a bit of blue to the edges, like very thin piping or something, to pick-up on the blue more. But even without it, it looks awesome! Your bhabhi is one lucky girl.
And I'm drooling over the quality of the fabrics. Last time I was in Karachi I saw the most purest banarsi silk and jamavaar, it looks so yummy in real life that once you've seen the real thing, you can't settle for anything else!
The quality of her fabrics were amazing and I say that with alot of confidence considering the quality I saw elsewhere. She had a complete fabric room, which we visited and she spoke to us about various colours and fabrics - she was so amazing and patient!
The green fabric is actuall made up of blue and gold threads, which when interwoven into one another gives the green shade that you see. It's gorgeous in real life...
Awesome choice of colors and kaam ziggy! I bet its going to look beautiful! InshaAllah.
Ziggy this is for her wedding day right? what about hte valima, are you guys choosing that? what/who are u going with?
I'm olive complexioned and my valima outfit was similar to your first description . At first I was very skeptical that I'd look like pepto besmol in tht color , but trust me it looked amazing .
PS Thep ics of my valima are huge else would put them up for your help .
Ziggy this is for her wedding day right? what about hte valima, are you guys choosing that? what/who are u going with?
Yup, the outfit is for the wedding day. i'm not entirely sure who we are going with for the valima, but I was quite impressed with Sana Safinaz and their bridal collection. I had never seen their wedding outfits upclose and was quite skeptical initially, but their workmanship really threw me away!
Sounds great! I love chatta patti, but I don't know how it will look on the border.
I'm olive complexioned and my valima outfit was similar to your first description . At first I was very skeptical that I'd look like pepto besmol in tht color , but trust me it looked amazing .
PS Thep ics of my valima are huge else would put them up for your help .
reduce their size and then upload them.
hey, you mentionsed Swarovski. what is that? do you have a sample pic of that kinda kaam?
Beautiful colors, will look delicious!!
Not a fan of chatti patti myself either for a wedding dress, seen very few that Ive actually liked. But Im sure the rest of the dress will look gorgeous inshallah!!
Thanks sweety for the advice...you're probably right about the duppata - i'll have to ask her about this.
Save the chattapatti, everything else seems perfect.
Besides, i was also thinking that the chattapatti border that she suggested would be heavily worked and the colours (for the chattapatti.....in your case the colors are harmonious in depth of tone) would not seem too distinct (if that is a concern n u dont want a "hotch-potch" of colors) as in the case of a normal chattapatti...Also, the width of the border at the gharara's hem determines how much chattapatti needs to be done ( 4-5 inches of it would not be much for a chattapatti plus all the kaam over it)...So IMO u could think over it, else a contrasting border instead of chattapatti would anyways look great!:)
i have personally seen the net and Bunto has been using it quite a lot of it recently....also for regular shalwar kameez dupattas( she has also done both kameez and dupatta with the same fabric)...this net unlike other nets is def sturdier( with a soft feel) than other nets that are known for their poor draping quality. I thought the net was sturdier and would have a nice fall to it given the kaam and applique on the borders of the dupatta. I think the bride shouldn't have a problem getting it stay nicely on top. Best is to ask Bunto though:)
And, you should feel assured of getting nothing but the best and authentic farshi gharara from Bunto!! :) Good Luck!
We just picked up an outfit by Bunto Kazmi with Swarovski work - its essentially the use of crystals which are made by a company called Swarovski specifically. Some designers use crystals quite a lot but Bunto claimed that she used Swarovski crystals specifically in all her outfits because the quality was much better. Having seen the oufit now for myself, I believe her because it shines and shimmers quite alot:
^ thanks Fingirl for your advice. The net sample she has given me for the duppata has a very soft feel for it...she called it high quality belgian net, which she wanted to use for the shirt as well. She believes that it is easier to work with and because the kaam contains alot of swarovski crystals, that the embellishments won't simply start falling of I guess. I've actually had this issue with another outfit I bought which had swarovski kaam on jamavar fabric, and the crystals started falling off immediately!
^ which is such a shame, cos swarovski’s are really expensive too! but in the end, boy do they sparkle! they’re definitely fab.
swarovski crystals are also being used in desi jewellery these days also… i think silsila’s shaadi set had swarovski’s (am i right, lady?)… but here’s the website for anyone who wants to check it out- http://www.swarovski.com/
they were semi precious stones (my gold set that is), not sure 100%, will have to check the authencity certificate he gave me as its written on there. my lengha however had those stones, they had a box full sworoski crystals of all colours at maria b and you could pic what size/colour you liked, close up pics of the lengha and sworoski crystals are on the 'maria b conned thread' and boy do they sparkle like mad!
]