british Gupistanies

Re: british Gupistanies

Noooooooooooooooo waaaaayyyyyyyy !!! I just report and move on like a good citizen of GS.

lol.... your secrets out Verizon

reloaded - i was begining to toy with the thought of actually liking you, then that crack about knees and IRS, well, spoiled the mood... I have a lil red book that I am penciling you in (not to worry you are not in ink status yet).

Daisy - sigh - lovely party, but as all true Brits do, the squabbling amongst everyone brings to mind middle school and the play yard during recess (you know, the my dad is bigger than yours, mine takes me to the movies, mine wears shorts, etc etc), makes me feel very young being in the midst of all this bickering.

Dada - I do not know more than 3 words of Urdu, so my critique would be on the purely visual of those Pakdramas. I like Alpha Bravo Charlie because it was fascinating, it kept switching around and it was hard to follow but the drama was pronounced, lol. I though Uncle Urfi was good but was expecting drama (due to the Shaft intro) but was pleasantly surprised with comedy.

I really don't see any of the links surpassing what is being played out here though. I like watching Daisy do her verbal gymnastics keeping this bunch on an even keel. One would think there should be a job for someone with her talent in the UN.

Pass me one of them there sconey thingys everyone seems to be munching on - gonna dunk them in my coffee. God bless my wide hips :)

Minah ji,
one day when you will understand both audio and video, that day you will forget Shakespeare and Wordsworth…
these are only selected dramas, and world recognized these as the best both in audio and video.
But this is really something that you still watched and liked them, this is really something :) and I hope one day you will enjoy the dialogues spoken as well,
Btw, why not start learning Urdu ? there are so many people at this board who can teach you in a better way e.g. AQ.

you want Ritz Crackers? I am having it now, saltish one :-p

Ps: some body(s) were waiting for you in life lol

Lady, you dont dunk them... you spread them with a good dollop(technical term) of clotted cream and strawberry preserves

Daisy - dollop is a technical term reserved for ice cream, sour cream, and butter only, anything else is pretentious. What on earth is something as vile sounding as clotted cream? Sounds like what you get with no refridgerator. And you wish me to slather it atop my sconey thingy? Do you dislike me that much?

btw - are scones always this dry?? Do you have muffins?

Dada - I have been trying to learn Urdu for three (or more years). You don't know me but trust me, I am very very very language intolerant. As soon as I try to speak another language people beat me for swearing then I get hives under the stress. It is not pretty, face all puffy and red sigh I have learned after all this time to say aap not hum and if you add casio (lol, don't start on spelling, I don't even spell english correctly) - that is supposed to mean "how are you?" There you go, three years of people laughing at me lead to that :)

lol, minah...Im quite certain casio is a brand name of a calculator I have somewhere...its japanese

perhaps you are trying to say "how are you" in Japanese

as for the clotted cream..its extra extra thick and creamy cream with about 62million calories per spoonful.

omg what are you talking about?! there's like soooo many brits on here. more than amreekis, i'd say!

Minah Ji,

Oh I really wanna listen you now…
Casio rotfl

Ok try this spellings: Aap Kasi ho ? (for female) and ap kaisay ho ? (for male)

I would have said, when you ‘ask’ Casio…my reply would be no I have Citizen :-p

Btw, this Urdu is dual language, meaning its different for men and women… just like Japanese and other languages…
Grammars and few words are different for different sex…
So, have you been to Pakistan ever ? you better go and live there for few months…

My one of Bhabhi (brother’s wife) is white American, they were married 20 years back, she knows 100% Urdu but she don’t speak cuz of we all lol, tho she can speak…
She has transformed herself into a complete Pakistani culture, she pray and recite Quran and doing wonderful. She is very loving and very caring person….mashAllah :-)

I am sure if you try, you can learn… but you need to live with any Pakistani for few hours daily and talk to them in Urdu only …

This thread has grown a lot since this morning.

Anyway here a topic to discuss over tea:

who do you think will get the Olympics London or Paris?

How they count till millions? Using Casio(not Kasi ho) Calculators or what ?

Dada- what being married to two Paki men over the period of 20+- yrs doesn't count?

And I am torn, hurt, crushed, MORTIFIED that my escort is now rolling on the floor laughing at me and my feeble attempts to understand the world. And you also scared the life out of me, there are TWO versions of the same language, that was what killed me with Italian.

Thank God English is such a basic language.

I listen to my husband all the time, nothing has sunk in. However give me a number and I have it for life. Language slides in one ear and out the other. Example: I have taken 5 yrs of Italian and speak two sentences (to which the italian friends say no, i don't speak italian at all) but I can read italian and spanish due to them both being so close.

uzzy - very easy is that topic - the English, the French are so busy looking at the sky due to their being born with that air of disdain, so their aim would be off. Besides can you think of one battle France has won in the past 200 yrs or so? I rest my case.

^^^ perhap they did..lol

Uzzybuzzy, Miss Mohabbat thinks we shall be saved because Sir David Beckam has gone to singapore ... um ...er.... um

well.... um...you know...do what ...um...er well

Well...thats what she thinks

I think they might not choose London because if everyone still hates us brits in 2012(for siding with those merricans) I guess no one will come to our 'lympics

My Irish American aunt sits there nodding repeatedly to the urdu around her at famiyl get togethers waiting for people to translate the really juicy bits of gossip .....

is your Irish American aunt Minah?

Mad_Scientist - now I know why you own your own soft spot in my heart, you are an honorary Irishman on the inside. I should have known.

btw - all Irish love a good gabfest especially slinging the dirt......

Daisy - nope, he's not or I would have had him married off by now, you see, I have 100+ assorted nieces and nephews from blonde/blue right on through to gold/brown eyed wonders of nature that would have captured his cool heart.

Minah ji,
Wow 2, and 20+ mashAlalh… but I asked if you visit Pakistan, you will learn a lot about the culture, tradition and dresses jewlry etc…. that will explain so many things to you, and you may learn Urdu more faster than that 3 years :-p

Aww… I am sorry… can I pluck for you some red flowers ?… no I did not meant to hurt or mortify you at all, actually I should not laugh … that’s the reason my Bhabhi do not speak Urdu… we should let you speak and try to correct you, that way you will get more feel more confident…(next time I will do rofl within the brackets and you can see that)

After reading the last paragraph… I feel so proud that I was not the only dumbo, who never was able to speak French even living in French colony for more than a year, could not speak Pashto even living with pashtoon for about 5 years ..lol welcome to the dumboo club

Pass me the Guiness now hic

Okay okay, that was a TERRIBLE attempt at stereotyping. :halo:

lazy_d : Minah’s probably not my aunty nor related to my aunty. Minah … you’re not in Detroit or have any relatives in Detroit do you? :hoonh:

Maddy - after that hmph I may or may not :snooty:

Aside from that, I have literally thousands of Irish family nomads all over, unfortunately since the Catholic Church frowns on birth control, it seems that all the families have 10 - 16 children, one every two years from marriage through menopause (and usually a surprise after that).

We could be related my brother, lol

Oh look, thanks to my t party we have reunited a long lost family

i think im better than Oprah...no?