BRIDAL PICS.

Re: BRIDAL PICS.

omg this bride is sooooo pretty mashallah! i saw her shaadi on GEO..they showed a few clips of it on the Nadia Khan show last year..it was just AMAZING.

she looks like urmila.. who is she?

I wish I had a pic to post, but all I could find was this video:

2006 Lux Carnival de Couture

There’s a gharara that comes up at 43:18…I think I’m in love with it…despite the fact that the top looks like it’s made out of velvet (I hate velvet!)

What do you ladies think?

SNAP!

I saw this video last week and I was completely in love with the same outfit. Believe it or not, I actually prefer the emerald green velvet top. It goes so well with the 2 paincha gharara.

I wonder if it only looks good because of the way Iman Ali pulls it off?

I guess we both just have amazing taste :)

The velvet top is growing on me...I think it would look good at an autumn/winter event. The gharara itself is pretty light & flowy, so it balances out the kinda heavy look of the top. I don't think its just the Iman Ali effect...as long as you make sure to have it fitted as well as she does in the show, I think it would be pretty hot. Then again, I love almost everything Faiza Samee comes out with (except the animal prints...god knows what she's thinking with some of those)...

PS...what did you think of the bridal outfit that Faiza Samee ended her segment with?

“The showstopping finale bridal piece that took Faiza’s artisans 355 days to complete was the dull rose-coloured gharara reminiscent of the red sandstone of Agra and Jaipur that was paired with a jade green dupatta and a shahala (second dupatta) which was a weave of the jade and the red sandstone. The ensemble had reverse chatapatti at the hem and was imbued with precious stones, real pearls and woven with gold thread. “This outfit remained at the Victoria and Albert Museum for six months in 1998 and also the Royal Museum of Scotland who wanted to buy it for their permanent collection,” said Faiza.

You're right...It would only work at an autumn/winter event. It's also true that the gharara is not heavily embellished, which definitely balances out the heavy top. I think Faiza sometimes has a good knack of deciding when enough is enough on embellishing some of her outfits.

The animal prints...what can I say...I saw her outfits recently at show in London. Alot of the party wear she had bought down had the cheetah print sprayed across duppatas and shirts...I just don't get it? the outfits came off pretty tacky. I also not so fond of her jackets that go with the capri pants...you can see them in the same video you posted...

I thought it was very old world glamorous, but seemed a very heavy piece. If I remember correctly, she said that outfit took her kaam wala's like 1 year to make. It was commisioned for some museum and was made using precious gemstones, which I can't really see on the dress because of the damn lighting!

^oops..didn’t realise you had posted the description :smack:

My mother actually picked up one of those jacket/cigarette pant combos when she was in Pakistan...though she had Faiza make hers lighter than either of the outfits featured in the show. I think they look better in real life, but I agree, its definitely a rather odd look...

^ We're actually looking for a valima outfit for my bhaabi and narrowed our search down to 3 designers - Faiza Samee, Bunto Kazmi, Memoona Manan(Rouge) - the question is who should we go with.

I've seen outfits on the web by all of them, but i'm tempted by Faiza a little more - what do you reckon?

I've seen quite a few Bunto Kazmi bridals...the quality of the work and fabric is always impeccable, but I think I've only seen 1 or 2 that I didn't think were overly embellished. Her aesthetic is generally too heavy for my taste...

I haven't seen too many Memoona Manan outfits in real life...but from what I've seen, I think her cuts and style are generally very chic. At the same time though, I feel like her bridal wear is too fusiony and modern...personally, I think bridal wear should have a more classic look to it.

In my personal opinion, Faiza is probably the best of the three...the quality of her work is, at the very least, on par with Bunto's...but not as overdone. And no other major bridal collection in the Subcontinent really matches the classic, timeless look she captures...

Thanks for your input!

I’ve seen a few of Faiza Samee’s bridals at her workshop, but nothing caught my eye. The samples in her albums were pretty old as well, but I get the impression she is very capable of producing something excuisite.

There is one particular memoona manan outfit - it’s been posted before - that i’m interested in and I just love the colour…it’s the only reason why I was considering her:

It's definitely pretty, and I love the color combination too...but I feel like a bridal gharara needs more gher than that (I sound like an old auntie, I know). 20 years from now, when fashions have changed and the skinny gharara trend is long over, you don't want to flip though your wedding album and feel like your outfit is totally dated. I feel like trends like that are best for partywear and other people's weddings.

And you're right...the portfolio in her workshop isn't that impressive.

you're so right...it could definitely use some more ghair. I love it with the 2 paincha look, but I wasn't sure of the skinny feel either. I thought it was something to do with the aunty fuddling around with the skirt trying to straighten it or something?

If made correctly, it's something she would definitely want to wear again and again...no point in hanging it up for life right?

memoona manan, i think their designs are just gorgeous. but that’s just my taste. :halo:

i’d go with bunto. i love the classic look her gharara’s have… i know if i had had the budget, i would have gone with her, or Karma. what about karma, ziggy?

http://www.paklinks.com/gsmedia/files/38879/memoonamanan2.jpg - awesome jewellery!!

yeah the skinny leg...looks alright. but more trendy and contemporary than classical, which can be good r bad depending on the look ur going for. personally, i wud've ogtten that in a big lengha... bigger hte better.. :p

hmmmm i absolutely love bunto and her work...as for faiza samee....haven't seen much---do u have any 'real' wedding dress pictures from her...........????????