bridal color

Re: bridal color

I like the purple combos for valima's. Then the groom can coordinate his tie or shirt with that theme also.

i would ideally luv to wear a black lengha and freak everyone out. other choices are peacock blue, a warm orange and gold, deep yellow gharara (for the mehendi :) ) , blood red......

Ira, Enzo Angiolini has medium sized heels too. You can find their stuff at Macys etc or their own store. Go to DSW too. I was there yesterday and they have some really pretty sandals and the heels are not too high eitther.

wow i had no idea there were so many newlyweds/ soon to be married girl at gs
v cool

^That's how I found the place. Searching for ideas for mangni clothes, then wedding clothes, etc. :D

^lol i stumbled across it looking for mehndi designs for eid and then kept coming back to it every time i searched for desi clothes :)
so anything u'd like to share about getting married

Same here :slight_smile:

Oh girls thank you so much for the nice links and store names.

Sara516, thanks for the links!!!!

Sahar: i love ur red shoes in the thread. I have gotten all my shoes from Pak except a couple of pairs that I saw here and couldnt resist. I also have shoes for both days (my sis in law chose the walima shoes) and they are both high heeled. I also happen to be 5'6" tall. He is 6'. But i dont want to take any chances and hence looking for smaller heeled shoes for the nikah day.

The biggest tip I can give brides is to give up control of the wedding. When my parents asked, I told them what I preferred, but otherwise let them have the function as they wished. I am a big control freak so this was really hard for me. But in hte end, it was much better, because I wasn’t stressing and worrying about all the little details that don’t matter anyway. I was able to enjoy the wedding.

Both pairs of red ones are from DSW. Go have a look.

thanks i’ll try to keep that in mind… especially when i feel like nothing is working out the way it was supposed to :rolleyes:

^ Yeah. Just let go and remember what the big picture is. Forget the details. No one remembers them anyway.

Also, remember that the wedding is a stressful time for everyone. People will get upset, there will be conflict; these are temporary things developing from stress. Don't let them upset you.

sahar- just wondering, when did you guys start planning the wedding
we're planning to have it this summer INSHAALLAH but right now we're not even sure if it will be in us or pak
and i dont have any shadi clothes or the whole jahaiz stuff sorted out
tell me its going to be ok

asimaan, i know you asked sahar but i will pitch in anyways :blush:

I spent a month in Pak in summer where i bought all my clothes, got them stiched, got shoes, etc etc. If your family has a trusted tailor back in Pak stiching should not be an issue at short notice. Also, other things such as shoes, handbags, jewelley etc can also be bought in advance. I got my wedding invites made in Pak as well and they were ready within 24 hours at no extra cost (in Lahore). So a month should be just fine or even less depending on how much you want to do. The only problem that I would see would be booking a venue since that should be done in advance as soon as possible. But its ok. I would perhaps have to rush through this as well. We are waiting on my fiance’s visa as well so we are also hoping a short term wedding (in the US InshaAllah).

So unless you want to have a major, full blown gala type wedding, you should not need too much time. Good luck :slight_smile:

ira can you clarify...did you you buy the kaam pre done shadi langa and have it stitched or special ordered the kaam?

i got all my wedding stuff in 19 days BUT my mom kaam with some other stuff a few weeks later BUT my shadi jora was already 'done' i just had it stitched all my other jahez was made to order.

our karigars/boutiques told us for a shadi jorah 2-3 months is ave.

amelie i got the premade lehanga and got it stitched to my size. I was told it can take upto a month if you want something made from scratch.

In Pakistan, we have always known for it to take up to about 3 months for a custom/boutique dulhan outfit. It's always good to start as early as possible. With the other wedding clothes it doesn't take as long.

I am guessing the time it takes to ge kaam done would also depend on the season. I went to Pak in summer time when I think there are hardly any shadis. All my dresses were pre-kaam done except a couple although I would rather have them kaam done myself.

Actually the weather was horrible (in June/July) and my mother has diabetes and high BP. I would go shopping with her and hence it was a feat to get anything done since she would start feeling unwell due to the heat, too many ppl around etc etc.

I agree, thanks Ira and Kashmir for clarifying, I just wanted to make sure hte bride asking understood that in a month she may not be able to get a made from scratch jora.

Also on weather, if there is lots of load shedding....that slows down kaam too.

my parents and his parents both went to pak one year before the wedding; they sorted out the place of the wedding, ami and mother-in-law picked out all my clothes with the help of other relatives, all the arrangements were made a year before. i didn’t get to pick out anything, so it’s a good thing they have good taste ;). abu brought back some sample invitations. the summer before the wedding we finalized which design we liked, scannedit, sent it to my chacha, and he had them all printed for us.

of course, planning ahead doesn’t make much difference sometimes. there will always be last minute craziness. for example, we booked the sheraton one year before the actual wedding. at that time, they weren’t enforcing the “no dinner” rule. about one month before the actual wedding, they announced they were going to re-enforce the no dinner rule and we had to figure what the heck we would do. we decided to still have the wedding at the sheraton and then dinner at a nearby relative’s estate. then the other crazy thing was that my husband’s family got stuck in an airport for over two days! the airline wouldn’t even give them a place to sleep. they didn’t come to pak until much later than expected. then later both my father-in-law and my father had very high fevers for the mehndi and wedding day. and of course it rained on my wedding day, the only day it rained during our 3-week stay in karachi. and no one had thought to water-proof the tent where the dinner was. ah well, n the end mashAllah we all had fun and it went well.

i started looking around for shoes and bags and things a few months before the wedding. go now to your local department stores for nice make-up gift sets during the holiday season. for example, estee lauder often has really pretty ones. they are perfect for dulhans.

InshAllah, it will be okay. a lot of things might be outside of your control, so don’t worry about them. however, if there are little things you can take care of now (for example the shoe, bag, make-up shopping) do that, so that you have some things taken care of.