BREAKING NEWS: Shaharyar Khan Resigns

Re: BREAKING NEWS: Shaharyar Khan Resigns

Yes certainly for the ICC champions trophy this may be the case but the World cup is in February, therefore there is plenty of time to get them organised and get focused.

Their crime being that they are from the Foreign Office? The only person I think you'll ever be satisifed with at PCB's helm is yourself. Calling for heads (perpetually) is just your habit.

I do think Sheharyar Khan had exhausted his usefulness to the Board, however the manner of resignation indicates background problems, after some 3+ years of 'STABILITY." A period long enough for outsiders to acknowledge that Pakistanis were finally beginning to act professionally, something Sherharyar Khan should be given credit for, despite all his weaknesses and blunders. I am more worried about the disputes and problems that are resulting in these developments. I bet Woolmer is even more discouraged than he was after the Oval incident and mighg be regretting working for Pakistan team.

more than morale of the team i think it would be the discipline of the team which will be effected because mohd yousuf does'nt have a strong enough personality to control the team and bob woolmer is too laid back a person to shout at anyone.

I agree with Sir Dig A Lot. If nothing else, Shahriyar should be given credit for relative stability in the team and along with Ramiz for roping in Bob woolmer. A lot of the people jumping with joy found a lot of positives about him when he came in and even though PCB's been in a muck in the last month or so, overall Shahriyar has done better than his predecssor. His resignation is only going to rock an already rocking boat. This can't be good for Pakistan cricket. The timing is just awful.

Shahrayar Khan resigns from PCB

Cricinfo staff

October 6, 2006

Shahrayar Khan has resigned as chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board, following an acrimonious two-month period which began with the Oval debacle in August, and culminated in Younis Khan’s departure as captain yesterday.

Saleem Altaf, the PCB’s director of cricket operations, said the government had accepted Shahrayar’s resignation, adding that Dr Naseem Ashraf, a government adviser and member of the board’s ad-hoc committee, was set to take over the role.

Shahrayar, 72, a Cambridge University graduate and former foreign secretary of Pakistan, took over the post in December 2003, and had overseen a period of unprecedented stability in Pakistan cricket. He is the nephew and cousin of the two Nawabs of Pataudi, who both played Test cricket for India and captained the national team.

**Under his tenure, Pakistan gradually regained its place as one of the game’s leading sides, with the memories of General Tauqir Zia’s nepotistic administration put on the backburner.

Khan pulled off a major coup in June 2004 when Bob Woolmer was appointed as coach, and in partnership with the captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, set about forging a squad that - at least until this week’s events - were among the favourites for the World Cup next March.
Now, however, following Younis’s refusal to lead the side in India and Khan’s own departure, a cloud has descended once again over Pakistan cricket. It remains to be seen whether Woolmer, who came close to quitting when the ball-tampering row erupted at The Oval, will be able to continue in an atmosphere that seems to be degenerating by the day.

====================================================

He was better than many and should have stayed. Atleast up to worldcup. He did helped Pakistan regain the pride, he did show the b@lls and stood-up against ICC on ball tempering Issue, he did not change coach and captain after every series and every lost game and much more…but looks like I will be the only one in this forum mourning his departure :slight_smile:

I am sure Saleem Altaf has his hands in both (younus and Sheheryar) retirements

Guys…take it easy…our Yousuf will come home with Champions Trophy…voilá… :k:

:jhanda: Pakistan Zindabad! :jhanda:

Just in 3:337 GMT Bob Woolmer Retires.

According to Geo Mustansar Hussain Tarrar to be next Pakistani Coach

I am with you, although not as strongly to call it 'mourning." But I definitely would have liked him to stay until after the worldcup for stability reasons. I think cricket boards should run tenure of 4 years beginning after each world-cup, so as to allow the new people who are taking over ample time to form a strategic plan and follow through. Something Ramiz-Sheharyar-Woolmer combo almost achieved.

And Mutazulzallulzamaan Tarrar will be his deputy :slight_smile:

i can bet Bobby will not renew his contract after WC.

make afridi captain and just get this over with.

Yeah and that wil be the last nail in the coffin.

Zaidi ky hath buhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat lamby hain on ka khisakna mushkil hi nahi namumkin bhi hy:hoonh:

Only 2 major achievements seem to be mentioned, which were all in the past . Wasn't Rameez Raja also resposnible for hiring Bob Woolmer. Anyway, like I said these were in the past.

The question is what difference would he have made from now till the world cup. I suppose one thing he may have done is to get more short term coaches for the super star players i.e. batting coach, wicket keeping coach for squeeky Akmal and possibly another fielding coach. Would this have made a difference to the teams chances? I personally don't think so.

Maybe he could have solved the opening batting problem - by making himself available. He couldn't have done much worse than likes of Butt and Co.:D

Seriously I would like to know what you think he may have done which would have increased Pakistan's chances at the World cup.

Yeh...I thought too like that...the rest of the world teams will go out of their freaking minds... :D

PS: Anyways...Afridi did captained in 20-twenty last time in Hong Kong...right?

Khan had nothing to do with Bob’s appointment. It took a concentrated effort from (then CEO of board) to bring Bob on board. However I commend shaharyar for not changing captains on quarterly basis (but then again we dont do it when team has generally done well)

I am sure timing of all these developments is not good, since ICC trophy is around the corner. But in long term, it may result in some betterment for PAK cricket.

I think we all should give Sheryar credit for his diplomatic skills with other boards, especially with BCCI and ECB, but it is more important to be popular with your players and staff then with other boards. Being ex bureaucrate he probably forgot he is doing all the trips, negotiations and friendship ties only because of his team. Assume if he was a Chair of Zembabway board, I don't think any one would have cared for him.

Only one good thing in his tenure is hiring of Bob is that credit should goes to world political dynamics, since post 9/11 Pakistan became a close allied of US, and US pressurised India to end hostilities towards Pakistan, and the best way to resume ties between Pak & Ind is to start with cricket. And first series between Pakistan and Ind resulted enormous amount of money, which gave free hand to PCB to hire any coach at any price.

Any way, we should stay optimistics but shouldn't be too excited since it is less likely Pakistan will get a PCB chair some one like Imran, Musharaf will replace one horse with an other. And New chair will bring his favorites in positions like managers, marketing etc.

Only time will tell (next 3-6 months) whether the departure of certain individuals is good for Pakistan or not. We need stability in the team and it seems that those people did not do a good job since Oval Test. Moreover, the selection committee was very poor. I do not know how the new people will react and shape PCB, but as long as Woolmer is the coach, I am optimistic. I just hope PCB, stay back and leave cricket matters to coach and captain.

Sherry Baba was a decent man and a thorough gentleman. His achievements were many which included winning a decision in favor of Pakistan in the ball tampering fiasco. The way he managed that affair without indulging in any mudslinging and simply following the rules showed his class.

Tauqir Zia=Junaid Zia, now that was a PCB Chairman with nor moral qualms in getting his son to play for Pakistan. Dr Nasim Ashraf is the idiot who was involved in the Oval fiasco, Iam sure Khan sahib was deeply hurt by this episode cause it was against the spirit of the game under his leadership. Then Yunus Khan saga, that was the nail in the coffin.

This is what Bob Woolmer had to say about SK:

Woolmer, brought in by Shahrayar as coach in June 2004 as one of his major coups, praised Shahrayar as the best boss he had worked with in his entire career. "He's done a wonderful job for Pakistan. Without any argument, he is the best chairman, CEO or head of board that I have worked with in my 20 years as a coach."

Woolmer also suggested that Shahrayar's advanced years - he is 72 - had played a part in the decision. "I think he handled the Inzamam affair and the Younis affair brilliantly and it is very sad to lose such a fantastic and wise counsel. I think he thought that he didn't need this sort of aggravation at this stage in his life and that is fair enough. He is a great loss to Pakistan cricket."

Those who are using derogatory words for this fine servant of Pakistan should remember this man is 72 years old, old enough to be many ppls on this forums grandfather and more importantly has never shown any disrespect to any individual.

Hmmmmm ! wake me up when its all over guys !:sleep2: