Bragging Barbies

Re: Bragging Barbies

On a serious note, we tried keeping things to ourselves on my sister’s wedding… i don’t know what that rasm is called where u basically show off the girl’s jahez… well we didn’t do any such thing and no one besides the immediate family knew what cost how much and all that… and guess what… some retarded minds decided to hold this against us and said we didn’t consider them family coz we were keeping everything a secret from them :rolleyes: desis and their phaddas I tell ya!

lol the same thing happened with my cousins wedding…it’s like really mind your own business people…desi aunties just can’t be happy unless there is some sort of drama going on

OH MY GOD. Tell me about it. And then uppar say they pretend to be such religious farishtay. My milaad was THIS big or we had a huge jamaat at the wedding.

It should be nice and tasteful. No OTT which is what so many of these weddings have become. People try to outcompete each others jazziness.

If I ever marry the Lizard, we are going to elope. :snooty: and instead divert the money onto our future lizard-pcg babies.

He doesn’t know yet, but we’ll have three.

sab gareeb tou nhi hotaii naah :vivo:
its a one day function so wont mind spendinnn tons of tons of money . :blush:

lolz … ther r alot of desi dramaa queensss ready all the time to create sceness..:rolleyes:

Nami, is this an advertisement to send traffic to Wedding :asa:? If so, then yay :aisha:

Nami...ur soooooooooo right!!!!!! I dnt know why they have to brag abt it.....

Showing off at the weddings is a desi speciality. Bragging about how much was spent on kapray, jewellery, roti waghera. And then I have seen ladies holding the jahez wali jewellery and disgustingly over-done dresses up and having photos taken, as if they won that crap in an olympics event. The sad part is that the people who don't afford that kind of lavish waste of money also have to keep up, perhaps because they are expected to. The whole desi wedding ceremonial drama is quite sickening.

True.

unfortunately this still happens in my extended family. :hinna:

when I got married I told me parents that my jahez will not be displayed & my parents and my uncles and aunts everyone agreed to it. On my mehendi too I did not let anyone see the gold jewellery my parents were giving me. Later after shaadi his relative (women only) used to come to see the display piece (me) and used to ask " zeywar to dikhao jo is kay maa baap nay diya hai ".

Honestly , I don’t think a girl should marry a guy who accepts & expects jahez. These guys are not worth marrying and they should not be called man atleast not ghairat mand man. After marriage I realised what a fool I was to marry someone who was accepting jahez and stuff without even saying a word that he himself will buy the stuff needed and was of the opinion it was his haq to get jahez. Believe me decent guys do exist who are khudar enough to not take jahez. One of my friend’s all 3 brothers got married and did not take a thing from their inlaws . They themselves got all the furniture & stuff. My own dad and uncles did not accept jahez.

whats wrong with life4??? whats bad if u ask for advice about ur wedding day lehnga/make up etc?? and there is no fazool kharchi if u can afford it i think:confused:..i dun think itz a show off..itz just that u r happy and u want to share ur happiness with others too…and every girl wants everything perfect on her big day so there is nothing wrong if she shares what she will be wearing, by what designer it wud be etc etc..

^ Please, please stop using "z" for "s". It is really childish and annoying. Merci.

annoying??..not for me. ..sorry :snooty:

@Neha: Some girls go overboard.... I've seen some totally crazy threads there.
There's nothing wrong with asking for opinion, advice, etc. or showing pictures even...... after all everyone wants to be complimented on how gorgeous they looked on their special day :) Its the excessive showing off that most people don't like.

For all her sons, my grandma said no to any jahez and said that her sons will take care of anything the girls need. They still got jahez and for the second son they accepted it, and they rue the day. Because she provided bedroom furniture for one of the rooms, she expected that room to now be hers even though her husband brought her to the states. If I went to Pakistan and slept on that bed, she had issues with it. Retard.

So yeah. Be careful. Jahez CAN be a trap.

agreed nothing wrong with wanting to feel special on your day but no need to go overboard with it

Namaan, for my wedding i got a 20 ft cake and just the icing was $2,000 and then i got a dress from #$#$# designer and it was quite cheap, only $200,000:chilly:
, my dog and cat were dressed in #$@@ designer clothes and they were the ring bearers:@:

we didn’t have any money leftover to dress hubby dearest :bummer: oh well

btw i saw nothing like that ^^ in the wedding forum....:D...then again i haven't been there much so i really can't say :-D