Re: Biryani Questions
JUST STOP BSING PEOPLE
hahaha…seriously, birr / barrah means baby goat. ![]()
Aur phir tum complain kerti ho ke no one loves you
hahaha…seriously, birr / barrah means baby goat. ![]()
I am sure it is. Lekin oos ka biryani se taaluq nahi
hmmm…ab mujhe research karni paRegii…magar summer ke ba’d…abhii to maiN plants kii research meN magan huN…jaanwaroN par research summer ke ba’d! ![]()
Birr sounds like a poorbi word. Biryani is not a poorbi dish. Its a mughlai cuisine, hence the Persian influence
nope, it’s an arabic word.
barrah is Urdu version of Birr. ![]()
KFK, Biryani comes from the word fried.
I have always heard elders like naani dadi say “piyaaz biryan karo” meaning fry the onion. biryan means to fry and since biryani is basially made of fried onion, meat and then rice and spices, its called biryani.
I guess KKF was/is probably craving goat biryani.
The History of Biryani
Biryani has become a classic dish of South Asian cuisine. Its many mouth-watering varieties make it hugely attractive to South Asians and Westerners alike. Like any South Asian classic, the dish is steeped in a rich history dating back to the Mughal Empire.
By Aisha Farooq • April 14, 2013
http://www.desiblitz.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/biyrani-1.jpgBiryani has most certainly become one of South Asia’s most prized trademarks.
Biryani encompasses a heritage of classical South Asian cuisine. Its complexity and skill to produce marks it as one of the finer delicacies of our time.
Originally, biryani was invented during the Mughal Empire. Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan’s Queen, Mumtaz Mahal is reportedly thought to have inspired the dish in the 1600’s.
On a visit to the Indian army barracks, she found the soldiers heavily undernourished. She requested the chef to prepare something that combined both meat and rice and provided a balance of rich nutrition and protein. What the chef created was biryani.
Because of its connection to the royal courts of the Mughal Empire, biryani also stands out as a dish reserved for the most special of occasions. The Mughal Emperors were known to lavish in luxury, wealth and fine dining, and biryani became a perfect staple dish to suit.
The name derives from the Persian word *beryā(n)*which means fried or roasted. Birian means ‘fried before cooking’.
Traditionally, rice was fried before boiling. It would be fried in ghee or clarified butter and then cooked in boiling water. The frying process gave the rice a nutty flavour but it also formed a starch layer around each grain. This meant that rice would not clump together, and it would retain its shape when mixed with the meat.
but nothing beats hyderabadi biryani!!!
i have dream of that stuff
Biryani is simple indianisation of pulao which is very old dish from Central Asia. It’s like all other meat dishes of koftay , kebabs etc which were spiced on India.
i was talking from ‘linguistic’ point of view. ![]()
Reha; don’t do the brown rice; kabhi kabhi tou khaani hoty hai so why not the real thing ![]()
I do both foil+tawa for dum!!!
I love cooking Hydrabadi Biryani and Persian Pilaf. Which really is like chicken biryani with raisins and nuts, Hyderabadi Biryani is also called Kachhe gosht ki biryani, meat is tenderized in papain (Papaya) tenderizer and yogurt, you don’t need to pre cook the meat, you layer tenderized meat at the bottom of the pot, dump 3/4 cooked rice on top, seal the pot real good and bake using only bottom elements for 45 minutes at 325F. You can sprinkle warm milk on top to prevent drying of rice, I love lots of green chillis in my biryani. Goes real well with eggplant raita.
I agree with everyone, don’t make it with brown rice.
That would be such a disaster, I think you need to be really good at making biryani before trying with brown rice.
Hyderabadi biryani is a miracle of a dish. You put meat, which takes a long time to cook, with rice ( half-cooked, no less), which cooks quickly in the same pot. And yet you end up with a dish where both meat and rice are optimally cooked. Its simply awesome!!
Khattichic can correct me here, but I don’t think papaya is used in the classical versions. It messes up meat’s texture.
Correct. The true, old school kachay gosht ki biryani does not use papaya to marinate the meat. Just yogurt and spices. There are some people who will use papaya in their marination thinking it’s needed to tenderize the meat and help it cook through.
I’ve never heard of sprinkling warm milk…does it work in helping the dryness factor?