Best Medical Care

Re: Best Medical Care

^not everyone is in it for the money..also doctors pay by comparison to the time spent training isn't as high as people assume.

Nobody is assuming anything
Its just a question

anyway...for those brits who need an operation Poland is a good choice

Everything you say up there is good book knowledge and talking points. There is not a single society in the world that follows that. Your assertion that** rich must **pay for the welfare of the poor is absolutely absurd. I am not a "rich" person, but trust me I work hard for what I have and its for my family and loved ones. I give liberally to charities I believe do good work and help some others privatley, I will never endorse a "welfare state" and I am not alone in this view. Socialized medicine has failed everywhere, show me one country that has a socialized medicine and it works wonders....

***The role of the government is to act as a bloated bureaucratic Robin Hood, taking from the rich to help the poor.*

Allah help us if people like you get elected to the office.... I take it back, there are plenty of sick liberals who think this way and are in the office in US, UK and Canada.

Hello, ever heard of long term care insurance plans? I have one, I suggest you do some homework and find out how they work.

Finally, ahmadjee, I am not advocating that people be denied medical care, I am just against the idea of "others" paying for it.

AJ aap bhi na, bas :smack:
Here you go…

Best Medical Care
Hussaini, Batool M, MD
902 Foster Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11230-1363
(718) 859-1848

Femme, is this the Batool aunty that comes on PTV?

Kaleem Bhai, you know no one would want someone else paying for them if they could afford it on their own. And those who can’t afford it aren’t just lazy, it’s a complicated social problem where the answer doesn’t lie in ‘get off your butt and work for it’. For example, a guy who works two jobs (as a grocery stalker at night and a security guard in the morning) can’t afford the health insurance at all, and he probably works more than I do in the 24 hours.

Anyway, according to a recent report on NPR, due to the steady increase in cost of health care more and more Americans have to turn to the government for paying their bills. One analyst predicted that in the coming decade there will be no choice but to turn the medical sector public.

Aur nahi tau kya :clown:

Sarah, I wanted to add to what Faisal Bhai said that most, if not all hospitals, especially in relatively rich states, try to work with you on the finance of it, where you end up paying 1/3rd of the bill and the rest is written off but the catch is that you have to show that you actually don’t have any money to pay for it. There are social and religious organizations that counsel such patients.

health Insurance should be privatized, but gov should put cap on it like how much they can charge per famlity acording to what they make. There should not be increase every year.
I know Health care in UK is free but its not that great. My friend went for eye problem and lost the hearing. The Dr could not fix her problem and she went to USA to have her problems taken care of.
I guess it depends on person to person based on their experience.

If everyone was willing to give to charities to enable those who struggle to get quality medical treatment, then there would be no need for socialized medical care.

However, not enough people do so to make quality medical care for all possible.. So the government must enforce this through socialized medical care. I believe in the system so I don’t mind the fact that I give more than I get, because I knwo that someone somewhere is receiving more from the system than they can afford to give.

Converted to US funny money or dollars, every year I gave through taxes around $2000 to pay for the National Health Service in Britain. I would see a doctor for maybe one hour a year (so let’s call that a cost of $100-$200) and buy $200 of medicine for about $30 through government discounting.

And I’m happy, because that kind of sacrifice ensures that the system is there to easily support those who need it the most.

European (including Canadian) mentalities are more geared toward the welfare of society as a whole, whereas US mentalities are mroe geared towards the welfare of the individuals. Immigrants to countries tend to soak up the mentality of that country.

European (including Canadian) mentalities are more geared toward the welfare of society as a whole,

Maddy, is that the reason that European nations are facing economic problems? :)

Well, another result could just be that all your "good" doctors flee that so-called modern social welfare society and settle in a place which allows them better freedom to practice medicine like they choose.

Doesn’t happen so much in the UK as to be a significant problem. Canada has a problem because they didn’t allow any kind of private practice at all.

As Ahmadjee pointed put, the goverment is going to be fitting the bill more and more. As baby boomers age corporations who cover healthcare costs now are going to buckle. in 2004 GM spend $5.8 billion on health care, in 2005 they spent $7 billion. You going to see both individuals and businesses calling for some form of public healthcare and the older sector of the population who needs healthcare the most is also a strong voting block and they will demand it. And Kaleem is right in calling Public Healthcare a liberal issue, I think all liberals would be proud of that lable.

Maddy, Zakk, when you guys claim that a good health care is a ‘right’, I want to know on what basis?

On the basis that in a developed society, not one person should be left without the medical care they need for any reason whatsoever.

Universal health care is fine, but if it means that you need to wait weeks before being seen by a physician for major medical problems or have to bear hours and hours of wait time for emergencies, then that system needs fixing. It can't really be called the "Best Medical Care".

Maddy, I asked because I thought you guys had a religious conviction behind it. Anyway, if you consider it a right, it shouldn’t be limited to ‘developed nations’, it should be universal.

The Alma Ata declarations is an example AJ..a society which believes the state has no statutory obligation to raise the standard of living of the society as a whole..through investment in education, health, law and order is generally a cruel society.