Alhamdulilah. I pray that it never gets celebrated again in the Islamic Republic of Pakistan! and that we as a nation learn to engagae in healthy activities.
*Originally posted by Spock: *
I think you need glasses, where did I saw flying kites is equivalent to wearing yellow. Dude, do you know that if you wore yellow and even if you didnt fly a kite, everyone will call you a fruitcake? All I am saying is, if name is the only problem you have with basant, then call it something else, and quit whining, End of Story!
u never said that..
this is what you said
Originally posted by Spock: *
As for K-2, **flying kites = basant*. If you guys think the name is inapproriate, then we can change the name cant we? Name it whatever you want, and on that day we can fly kites, all we want? How does that sound?
How you contradicted your own equation is by saying this
Originally posted by Spock: *
Munney, **there is more to kite flying than just wearing yellow.* Otherwise you wont see all the molvis shedding crocodile tears would you?
This implies that basant is not mere "flying kites" as you mentioned in one of your posts
Alhamdulilah!
Abay Aqal ke kachey ho kya? I said flying kites = basant right, and then I said there is more to kite flying than wearing yellow (HOW DOES THAT CONTRADICT). Im not wasting time on you anymore! As for the first part, I said that because you were saying kite flying is alright, and basant wasnt. Make up your mind already.
As for this ban, this ban always comes and goes (this time after basant is over
), too bad its the people dont care and it goes unnoticed.
Now can we end all these stupid basant protest threads, and yeah nice timing, the ban came after basant is over ;)
Just FYI ..Kite flying was banned till a month before basant. They'll lift the ban for basant next year as well. :p
Lets see what happens next year. Is the govt. (which sponsors) staying or going. ;) Its Pakistan my bro!
Jamaat-i-Islami Amir Qazi Husain Ahmed on Friday called upon the nation to stop India's film delegations from coming to Lahore to celebrate Basant Panchami. In a statement, he said vulgarity was being promoted in the name of Hindu festivals like Basant and Valentine's Day and Lahore had been made the focus of these activities to banish Islamic culture from this historic city.
The detractors of Basant depict it as a Hindu festival and therefore un-Islamic. Many are worried that the fans of Basant chant Vedic chants or Bhagvad-Gita while flying kites?
Kite flying banned? That means that I can be jailed if I tie a piece of string to a paper and it flies in the air?
Sounds kafkaeque.....
Do We Have A Cultural Policy?
By Shaikh Aziz
Basant festivities were not allowed in Karachi, while in Lahore it was
celebrated as being officially sponsored. Those who opposed it were of
the view that it?s a Hindu festival while others argued that it has
nothing to do with any religion. The two diagonally opposed policies
raised many questions as to what has happened to our policy-makers?
Are we following two different sets of principles or we don?t even
have a cultural policy at all? Perhaps we suffer from both. Or in
other words our policy-makers do not even know the exact definition
of what culture is! I recall the days of Ayub Khan, when he found
some time from his multitude of self-imposed assignments. He was
advised by one of his courtiers to get the music ?Islamized?.
Perhaps he was told that the bols (poetical narrations) rendered
in raagas and ragnis, such as Tum radha bano sham, or ragaas
bearing names as Bindrabani Sarang, Kalawati or Durga reflected
Hindu cultural background.
He was, in fact, unaware of raagas like Mian ki Malhar, Bilaskhani
Tori or Ghara that also formed part of our musical heritage. As
always, the bureaucracy went into action very faithfully. A plan
was drawn up to materialize the Field Marshal's perception. By
virtue of being the chief of Radio Pakistan and known for his
knowledge of music, Z.A. Bukhari launched a "crusade" against
what was called as "Hindu influence on music and musical arts".
He executed the plan very meticulously. Not only that he
"Islamized" the bols and the raagas, but also made the vocalists
to sing them with the Muslim names such as Chandarkaus to Chandkaus.
Narrations which could not be altered altogether were banned on air.
He even banned such bols as Raen ka sapna kaase kahoon, Sowat sowat
aankh khuli jab, koee na bhaayo apna, Raen ka sapna kaase kahoon -
a fascinating expression of deep love. This was obviously a futile
effort, for, never in the history of mankind, cultural contents and
values had been "baptized" in that manner. The culture is an ensemble
of collective creativeness, which takes a certain form after being
practiced for generations. It is not only the natural environs, but
also the alien invasions and mass migrations that shapes the culture.
It is a shared experience steeped into remote past, which has
undergone constant change through assimilation, added by newer
experiences.
But the fact remains that every change has never been accepted nor
been readily rejected. It takes much time to go either way, depending
upon its adaptability and the inherent psychology of the recipient
culture. Pakistan's cultural history is no exception. While its
ancient past is still smothered in the scattered archaeological
remains, our present cultural life is a confluence of diversified
influences. The archaeological relics speak of the existence of a
rich musical culture many thousand years back. Its present form
differs in many aspects owing to a constant process of changes
that it had undergone. Music being the most sensitive form of
expression, accepted only those changes that it could assimilate
without affecting the fundamental perception of our heritage.
For instance, the contributions made by Amir Khusro did not entirely
assimilate with the local music. He, either added a few raagas from
Turko-Persian-Arab music or made minor changes in the contents of the
composition, or even renamed them after Arabic or Persian after making
some tonal adjustments. This had a profound effect on the Northern
Indian music in a sense that it added a new flair.
This addition was accepted because it did not replace the physical
philosophy, contents and interpretative objective of the raagas.
But in doing so Khusro was conscious of the fact that music was a
collective heritage and his sole efforts could not change the
centuries-old concept of music. Therefore, in composing bols of
raagas he reflected the people's culture, not of his own. Panghat
naaheen jane det, dekhat sab naari morey and innumerable of such
kinds are still sung with the same popularity as the bols preceding
him.
The main factor behind this was that Khusro did not want to introduce
a diction and tonal value which could not be apprehended beyond the
prevalent cultural values. After Independence, Pakistan and India
inherited the same musical heritage. Music remained a common legacy.
The only difference being the attitude towards this finer art. Many
grandmasters migrated and settled in Pakistan, besides those who were
already living here. At one time such great artistes as Roshan Ara
Begum, Bare Ghulam Ali Khan, Asad Ali Khan, Habib Ali Khan Beenkar,
Nathoo Khan, Machhoo Khan, Sharif Khan Poonchhwale, Umeed Ali Khan,
Manzoor Ali Khan, Bundoo Khan and his son Umrao Bundoo Khan, Zahoori
Khan and many others made Pakistan a great centre of music.
Ironically, the governments in power developed a very casual attitude
towards music and other performing arts. Misconceptions brewed up and
for certain political reasons. They treated music as an art of
troubadours and wandering minstrels. They did not have even the
slightest feeling as to how to preserve this great heritage and promote
it. The artistes - from dance to drama and story-telling to vocal and
instrumental music - all lived on their individual efforts. Some even
died of hunger and abject poverty.
A very effective effort was made by the national carrier but it was
too short-lived. The government had established department of culture,
but it served no purpose except arranging a few concerts for the
visiting dignitaries as if the culture was meant for a selected few.
In contrast, countries like Kenya, Uganda and Sri Lanka, with almost
the same economic conditions, made efforts for the promotion of
culture. Whereas we are yet to decide whether dance is a part of our
culture or not? At times, the dance masters had to flee the country
and perform in alien cultures.
Our musicians have yet to find some dependable source of living. The
unfortunate fact is that almost all grandmasters in vocal and
instrumental music have expired, and there being no institution of
training, we are left with a few artists who are yet to groom.
Amid such conditions, the only question arises as to what we intend to
do with our culture. With the present social conditions, our cultural
heritage cannot survive until there is a concerted effort at the
official level. Without official promotion and patronage, we can only
lose whatever has been achieved through the individual efforts. We
have to evolve a policy that should govern the affairs of culture,
make attempts to promote them and establish institutions where its
preservation and promotion is made.
A tribute to Basant
Mir Jamilur Rahman
The great modern philosopher Bertrand Russell wrote in early thirties,
"the idea that the poor should have leisure has always been shocking
to the rich". Change a few words and the saying still holds true. The
amended version would read, "the idea that the people should have
pleasure has always been shocking to the clergy."
Entertainment and the relaxation it provides are the basic needs of
human beings. Rich or poor, educated or illiterate, young or old,
they all yearn for excitement and amusement. They find it in sports
events, movies, music and television. No wonder that entertainment
has become the biggest industry in the world. This industry is very
indiscriminating. It disregards geographical boundaries, has no
religion, and shuns politics. Its aim is to keep the people happy
and provide them relief from the daily drudgery.
The Basant has been criticised on many accounts. Some argue that it is a Hindu festival. When it had no effect on the Lahoris, the argument was forwarded that Basant is wicked because many lose
lives and many others are injured celebrating it. But the Lahoris
were not convinced. The latest criticism centers round profligacy. The self-righteous keepers of the national ideology tell us that
Basant causes wasteful expenditure and is thus irreligious. However, the Lahoris rejected all these sanctimonious sermons and celebrated Basant with a zest that was never witnessed before.
Basant is a cultural event that heralds the end of winter and arrival of spring. Kite flying is just a sport that has become affiliated with this festival because the season of spring generally brings a clear
sky and just the right amount of wind. Moreover, culture does not spring from religion but grows from the land and is a product of local customs and traditions. People may have the same culture and yet they would not turn into a single nation. Europe is the prime example of
this phenomenon. The countries of West Europe have no marked cultural
divisions. Its people eat the same food, wear the same clothes, admire
the same music, enjoy the same sports and celebrate the same festivals.
They even share the same faith. And yet they are not one nation. Every
effort in the past to unite Europe into one nation by force has failed.
Now the prospects of a united Europe through consensus have become
real. However, the driving force behind this latest attempt to unite Europe is neither cultural affinity nor religion but economics.
The rightists and fundamentalists have spread the scare that India would overwhelm us culturally. Therefore, they advise us not to listen to the Indian music or watch the Indian movies. They demand
that our television should not entertain but only sermonise. They want the womenfolk banished from the television. They would prefer men attired as women performing the female roles in TV plays, as is
done in Saudi Arabia. It is certain that if ever these people attained power, the TV, the Basant, the movies would become
the things of the past. Asceticism would be the order of the day.
Whether the rightists like it or not but it is a fact that we have more cultural similarities with India than with our Muslim brethren
in Iran or Afghanistan. Who in Afghanistan or Iran chews pan? Where else but only in the Indian subcontinent the red chilies are an essential ingredient of our food. Do Arabs wear dhoti, shalwar or sherwani?
Our marriage customs and the rituals we follow after a person's death are common with India except for the religious part. We watch Indian movies and TV because they produce entertaining and glamorous
programmes. We understand the language and the family problems they
present are similar to ours. In which other country the saas-bahu (mother- and daughter-in-law) relationship is the subject of so many plays and movies? In spite of all these cultural similarities with India we are and will remain a separate nation. East Pakistan broke away with us not because we were culturally dissimilar, but because
we were politically and economically dissimilar. If we do not watch
out, political and economic dissimilarities existing between our different units may yet bring another catastrophe. It is a
misconception ardently propagated by our conscience-keepers that money should not be spent on comforts, merriment, and food and on things without which one can survive. Instead, they say the money
should either be saved or given in alms to needy ones. The Basant being a fun-filled festival is on top of the prohibitory list. It
is good that people ignore this advice otherwise we will be in a real economic mess.
The man who has the money but does not spend it is the real villain. If every man were to put his savings in the safe the economic activity would come to a standstill. It is obvious that the money saved in the vaults does not give employment. And where there is no employment, there is no prosperity.
The Basant festival made the people spend voluntarily and with joy. People from faraway places descended on Lahore in flocks. Hotels and guesthouses were overbooked. Taxis worked overtime. Rent-a-car business thrived. Havelis in the walled city fetched as much as Rs200,000 for a night of kite flying. People spent millions of rupees on kites and its accessories. Where did all the money go? It gave employment to the kite-makers and created job opportunities in the
travel-related industries. The food shops operated by middle and
lower-middle operators did a roaring business adding to the income
of the poor. Unemployment hits the poor worst. The economic slowdown in the
recent years has hit them the hardest. Our growth rate has fallen; foreign investment is down to negligible level worsening the
poverty situation further. It may come as a shock that according to World Employment Report 2001, the number of Pakistanis living
below the poverty line has increased from 17.8 million to 43.9 million in the past 11 years. The daily wage earners do not find
work for 285 days of the year.
The problem of unemployment would not be solved by preaching savings
or by alms giving. The government alone cannot solve it. It has to
be a collective effort. The governments in the past had tried to
ease the unemployment situation by giving jobs, but that had only
compounded the problem. There is a big difference between 'giving' and
'creating' a job. To give a job where none exists burdens the
national economy. But to create a job relieves the national economy
from burden.
The person who creates employment ought to be given VIP treatment.
There could be nothing more pious or magnanimous than providing
jobs to the unemployed. The government on its part should never
feel reluctant to encourage people who help in reducing poverty
in the country.
The religious parties should give a thought to their recurring dismal electoral defeats. They would never get the popular vote unless they come to terms with the popular feelings. For starters, they could stop attacking the PTV seven days a week. Watching PTV is not a legal obligation. If somebody does not like what the
PTV screens, he has the choice to click the button and turn to another channel, the number of which runs into dozens.
*Originally posted by PakistaniAbroad: *
is it the festival itself or the way people chose to enjoy it that's dangerous?
Basant does not mean u have to fly kites with wire close to high power lines.. or discharge your weaons in the air..
If someone dies at a wedding due to firing.. is firing at the wedding bad or people should just stop having weddings?
So correct Pardesi Pakistani bhai !! If ppl make mess of such a good thing as basant, then it is their responsbility, rt? Yeh Islamabad kakey da dimaag kharab ho gaya hai.. His name should be changed from Islamabad to Allabahad cuz it doesn't seem he remains a sher-dil Punjabi anymore.
*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
Lets see what happens next year. Is the govt. (which sponsors) staying or going. ;) Its Pakistan my bro!
Tu rehda kithey ai wei? Agar Tu Islamabad hai to mein Lahore..
First off, I never said that kite flying is alright and basant was’nt, please prove that i did.
how do your two statements contradict?
here’s how…
in your second statement you mentioned this “Munney, there is more to kite flying than just wearing yellow. Otherwise you wont see all the molvis shedding crocodile tears would you?”, now having said this you have contradicted your own equation that was posted in your earlier post, “flying kites = basant”. now let me modify your equation with what you stated in your second post
more to kite flying than just wearing yellow = basant
having said that, all i want to say is that basant is much much more than mere kite flying…
I think you need glasses, where did I saw flying kites is equivalent to wearing yellow. Dude, do you know that if you wore yellow and even if you didnt fly a kite, everyone will call you a fruitcake? All I am saying is, if name is the only problem you have with basant, then call it something else, and quit whining, End of Story!
App Maulvis ka buhat zikr kartee hee. Esse kue hee bhi.:maulvidis
Now can we end all these stupid basant protest threads, and yeah nice timing, the ban came after basant is over ;)
Dear
Again you used the word Mullah and maulvi. Akhir app
hum se share karee naaa apne istory.
Ghum halkaaa hugaaa share karne seee.
Akhir ko who is mullah or maulvi here......
*Originally posted by mulz: *
Tu rehda kithey ai wei? Agar Tu Islamabad hai to mein Lahore..
Jithay bhi rehnda aan tenu basant manan ton fursat mil gaey ae. Jey weela ho gian hain teh jari angrezi likhi hai thread wich ono parh. Shad aqal phar laway. dosri jamaat da munda!
*Originally posted by rehman1: *
Dear
Again you used the word Mullah and maulvi. Akhir app
hum se share karee naaa apne istory.
Ghum halkaaa hugaaa share karne seee.
Akhir ko who is mullah or maulvi here......
Now can we end all these stupid basant protest threads, and yeah nice timing, the ban came after basant is over
I dont see the word mollah or molvi in that quote. Next time, do bother to read the post before ranting.
Spock Jee
Yeh ranting kee huwee.
Yeah, kite flying = basant, same thing different neme, and yeah there is more to kiteflying/basant than just wearing yellow. HOW DO THOSE TWO CONTRADICT?
I wish all these cafe posters would just go back and Pak Affairs return to its normal state.