agree :k:
*Originally posted by K-2: *
Guys I skimmed through the discussion.
Here is my understanding:
Flying kites is OK (like any other sport)
But celebrating basant is not OK, because of its background. So to celebrate this festival by flying kites is not right.
phew i thought it was too hard to understand :-)
Im glad you took your words back, it was not a reputable thing to threaten him, I personally thought he didnt say anything offensive to anyone. Atleast youre better than one particular chap here who once threatened ‘to slit throats’. There was no internet in Prophet’s times, what is so offensive about that? Unless you view the internet as a purely evil sinister thing, only then you can find some traces of offense in the post, but I am sure you dont.
As for K-2, flying kites = basant. If you guys think the name is inapproriate, then we can change the name cant we? Name it whatever you want, and on that day we can fly kites, all we want? How does that sound?
Flying kites is no sin. Its fine to fly kites and enjoy. However, what we are doing is cutting the roots of the two nation theory. Why are we celebrating something called basant (a fixed day in beginning of spring)? It is a Hindu festival! Call it Jashan e Baharan (like on PTV) or anything else, it does not change the nature of this evil festival. It is just not what we as a nation should do! Make the Eid's more interesting. Fly kites on Eid, I am sure it will be fine. Why does the whole city come out to celebrate basant and fly kites, why yellow clothes (Indians do this) why special food especially for this day???? Do we ever come out all to celebrate a day to help the poor. The zakat system is fading, are we doing anything about it? Are we discouraging how women are treated in our villages?????? Where are all these important things?? Is there a change coming in the judicial system? Go to Pakistan and find out what life is like, if you ever end up in a court! We are a lost, directionless nation.
Our leaders come and follow orders from outside and lead us to a dark alley everytime. In the entertainment and show we forget our direction everytime. Who are we? What is our purpose of creation? To be like India, be with them once more. Were our fore fathers and founders of Pakistan mad???? Did they commit a blunder??? I am not being emotional, all this is coming from the depth of my heart with all the rationality and sense.
Basant is the same as Hindus do, than why call ouselves a different nation? Lets join with India again (khuda na khwasta/ La qaddarAllah)! What is our direction? Where are we moving? The Indians are over powering us with their movies, culture and just about everything. You go to any market in Pakistan, and movie shops are full of Indian movies and posters. What message do we give to them? On one hand this, and on the other we are so touchy about Kashmir. When are our actions going to match words. It is for the same reason people are tired of Kashmir, and one day we might abandon it with the two nation theory. When are we going to wake up??
** Wake up before its too late and no resaon remains for being a separate nation!!!!**
JazakAllah Islamabad, AQ, batameez and k-2. Just leave them. Its hard for people to understand simple things. They don't care what it means or does, all they want is entertainment and that too of any kind.;)
Excellent speech…:k:
The speech is excellent , but most who if listened already have a heart with a seal!
Make up your mind already, if its a festival of death or a festival to welcome some Hindu God.
hahahahahaha…this is soooo typical. ppl like you first chop off ppl’s head, and afterwards when someone points it out to them, they start aplogizing in vain. This is so typical of current-day Pakistani/so-called Muslim mentality…tsk tsk…suppose I were in front of you: u’d chop off my head long ago…what had you done if Spock would point out the uselessness afterwards?
*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
The zakat system is fading
correction: the zakat system is fading in the so-called Muslim countries. In western countries, like Holland, it's blossoming like never before! Let alone 2,5% rich ppl in the West pay upto 30-50% of their income to zakat/tax/insurance for the poor!!!
*Originally posted by Anwaar Qureshi: *
it's the background behind the event which is attached to this whole idea
AQ you started this thread with the blasphemy theory and alongthe way someone helped you and islamabad with that panchami theory. And now you people are holding on to that one, blashemy thoery is no where to be seen since a while. And new visitors to this are greeted with that indiatimes link. Do you believe in both of them or just will cling on to any anti-basant theory one by one? It seems like you ppl are opposing for the sake of opposing!! Want me to help with another anti-basant theory?
To keep it simple, I agree that unnecessry resources are applied for one night only BUT it was neceserry for regulating this festival, to minimize the losses of preciuos lives and electricity.
yeh kia aap loug girgit ki tarha rang keyoon badal rahey hain ![]()
- basant is a hindu festival
- people die because of kite flying
- lots of resource are wasted on basant day on kite flying
- jahil lahoris have nothing better to do then making noises and wasting money on hindu festival
then all of a sudden kite flying is ok ![]()
It seems that you are not sure what is right and what is not.
If kite flying is ok then what is all the fuss about
The people die because of kites and the money wasted is on kites.
People fly kites on basant hanomaan ji ki pooja nahi kartey :nahnah:
*Originally posted by Islamabad: *
Flying kites is no sin. Its fine to fly kites and enjoy. Why are we celebrating something called basant (a fixed day in beginning of spring)? It is a Hindu festival! Call it Jashan e Baharan (like on PTV) or anything else, it does not change the nature of this evil festival. It is just not what we as a nation should do! Make the Eid's more interesting. Fly kites on Eid, I am sure it will be fine. Why does the whole city come out to celebrate basant and fly kites, why yellow clothes (Indians do this) why special food especially for this day????
ummm.... i agree with u as welll..... cuz in karachi we do fly kites during the spring.. but offcourse we never reserve just one day for this.. or even call the whole thing "basant".... we used to call it Patang baazi or somethin like that....
<<<<If kite flying is ok then what is all the fuss about
The people die because of kites and the money wasted is on kites.
peoples dont die because of kites okay.. its just that some idiots are irresponsible... thats it....
O bhai.. aap manaao basant.. who cares…? hamaaraa kaam thaa bataanaa bataa diyaa.. I follow the hadith where Rasoolulah:saw: said Whatever thing is doubtful, leave it and whatever is not, accept it.
Sorry bhai jaan.. it is doubtful for me, it may not be for you… Happy Basant ![]()
Since the Lahoris have begun to celebrate Basant, the so-called liberals of Pakistan see Basant as a sign of secular Pakistan, the Mullahs see in it a "kafirana harkat" and dhoti clads across the border trying to prove it an old Hindu heritage, and the efforts of all these idios remain in vain. Basant is simply a spring festival of rural punjab and my dream of observing it with them will one day come true. INSHA'ALLAH....
*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
correction: the zakat system is fading in the so-called Muslim countries. In western countries, like Holland, it's blossoming like never before! Let alone 2,5% rich ppl in the West pay upto 30-50% of their income to zakat/tax/insurance for the poor!!!
Thats because in Holland, the emphasis is not on celebrating Hindu festivals. In Holland, and the West in general, we do not have Muslim representatives who are traitors. In west we protect our identity and mostly stick to our roots (Islam). It is very good Zakat system is doing well there. May Allah make it even better. This is what I am crying about, that in Pakistan our direction is wrong. All our emphasis is on everything un Islamic.
*Originally posted by shawaiz: *
Since the Lahoris have begun to celebrate Basant, the so-called liberals of Pakistan see Basant as a sign of secular Pakistan, the Mullahs see in it a "kafirana harkat" and dhoti clads across the border trying to prove it an old Hindu heritage, and the efforts of all these idios remain in vain. Basant is simply a spring festival of rural punjab and my dream of observing it with them will one day come true. INSHA'ALLAH....
Good Luck. I pray you end up across the border !
*Originally posted by Spock: *
Make up your mind already, if its a festival of death or a festival to welcome some Hindu God.
I am in no way criticisng the Hindu religion. I am very clear about what i say and it is a Hindu festival. Even Indians saying that would not convince you. It is also a festival of death. I think you did not read my first post. It is a festival of death because the Pakistani identity has died! It is a country of many alive people who are poweless amidst many people with dead souls!
I have a suggestion for all you guys. Lets introduce new festivals in Pakistan. You guys love everything foreign. How about celebrating some Jewish festivals. They even have dances during worship. Pakistanis don't have any identity of their own left anyway, so enjoy! The Pakistanis like you would enjoy a lot and you would also be enjoying kicking our asses in some other forum or this again!
Have fun!