re: Bangladesh TEAM might have won hearts but someone else was a loser…
Why feeling Sorry for Bangla
Im Glad they lost and even more glad we won the final in their own back yard ![]()
Why feeling Sorry for Bangla
Im Glad they lost and even more glad we won the final in their own back yard ![]()
re: Bangladesh TEAM might have won hearts but someone else was a loser....
Lets not soft-pedal our country's history and the way we treated bangalies. Hasina's dad was the one against whom Pakistan state and army launched a full scale war killing at an industrial scale after denying them legitimately won elections. Hardly surprising if her daughter doesnt feel upto giving players from that country medals.
Her father and her family was not killed by Pakistanis but her own countrymen. By extension than she should not give medals to her own countrymen as well.
why don’t we go ahead and give all pakistani cups and medals and give them to the bangalis …because of the polictical history?? only way to get weight off of our chests is to give them victories in a game…![]()
No not by extension. You’re comparing apples an oranges. On the one hand you have a state sanctioned action by an army effecting millions of people. On the other you have some soldiers mounting a coup. The grievance isnt quite the same, nor is the guilt.
That would indeed be something to roll eyes at. Fortunately nobody suggested that, nor did that happen. What is being made fun of is asking someone very closely related to the primary target of very bloody actions committed by our country to give medals to a team representing our country. It is completely understandable why she wouldnt want to give Pakistanies medals, and its completely mean spirited to make fun of someone who wouldnt want to.
Assuming Palestine ever gets independence from Israel its like asking a Palestinian prime minister whos dad was hunted by Israeli army during which process they killed countless palestinians, to give awards to Israelies.
Nationalism is fine. Mindless jingoism is just stupid.
why is she hosting the team in the first place?? if she dooesn't have the balls to hand over ''sports medals'' ???
She isnt under any obligation to hand over "sports medals" to anyone. Had Bangladesh won it and she chose to give them, that would be a "choice". Bangladesh has ties with Pakistan just as plenty of other countries with histories have with each other. Doesnt mean alls hunky dory and the past doesnt matter.
so u are mixing sports and politics…cool :k:
as if thats unusual.
Surely if the grievance was that great that she could not bear to stay around to give medals to the team, how could she than bear to be in the same stadium as the team which is so despises. Doesn't make sense.
No not by extension. You're comparing apples an oranges. On the one hand you have a state sanctioned action by an army effecting millions of people. On the other you have some soldiers mounting a coup. The grievance isnt quite the same, nor is the guilt.
That would indeed be something to roll eyes at. Fortunately nobody suggested that, nor did that happen. What is being made fun of is asking someone very closely related to the primary target of very bloody actions committed by our country to give medals to a team representing our country. It is completely understandable why she wouldnt want to give Pakistanies medals, and its completely mean spirited to make fun of someone who wouldnt want to.
Assuming Palestine ever gets independence from Israel its like asking a Palestinian prime minister whos dad was hunted by Israeli army during which process they killed countless palestinians, to give awards to Israelies.
Nationalism is fine. Mindless jingoism is just stupid.
Surely if the grievance was that great that she could not bear to stay around to give medals to the team, how could she than bear to be in the same stadium as the team which is so despises. Doesn't make sense.
Makes complete sense to me. Theres countries/athletes I watch routinely because either I support their opponent or I want them to lose. Doesnt mean I'd be happy giving them medals if they won, and my grievances are usually much less serious than this country killed countless people while trying to kill my father.
It still doesn't change anything. Pakistan won. Haters can hate. It just shows how pathetic she is. She can go cry in her prime minister house. :)
She has to be above the politics now that she is President. You cant be sulking over some incident whole life. If she was indeed there with the intention that only if Bangladesh wins then she will give medals else she will walk out then this is pretty pathetic.
Makes complete sense to me. Theres countries/athletes I watch routinely because either I support their opponent or I want them to lose. Doesnt mean I'd be happy giving them medals if they won, and my grievances are usually much less serious than this country killed countless people while trying to kill my father.
Maybe it does to you but not to me. it is simple if you hate someone so much that you cant bear to give them a medal but on the other hand you are quite ok to come and watch them play just in case they lose and you can make some political mileage out of giving medals to your own team doesn't show you have grievance against that team or country. It shows other motives. If she is that much hurt than why invite them in the first place, why have diplomatic relations with them. Now dont come back and say it is alright to have all this but the grievance and hurt only shows when her team gets whipped.
what did she say?
oh god, what a [EMAIL=“bi@tch”]bi@tch! says alot abt what a pathetic person she is and def nt fit for her position. manhos aurat!
acha hai uska manhos saya humari team pe nahi parha
Or inhumanly possible, to be politically correct.
But anyway, it’s not like Haseena is the be-all, end-all representation of the people of Bangladesh. I am sure there are a lot of good people there. A lot. What she did was cheap and pathetic, but it’s not like it had much of an effect on us, either way.
What a strange defence of Haseena! And why are you mixing sports and politics? I do not condone/approve of what happened back then in 1971 but neither can I defend Haseena's strange antics
If India had beaten Pakistan - and I have no qualms in admitting that the Indian batting is much superior or that they have got the wood on us in crunch games of late .... they must find better bowlers though - in Asia Cup Final on Pakistani soil and Zardari had left before giving the trophy to Dhoni, I would have criticised him severely too (and I am not kidding!)
This was a case of bad hang-up, unsporting gesture or 'rondi', pure and simple
Pak and India have a history and Mushy can relate to it personally and professionally.
But here he is representing Pakistan as the head of state
Blah..I watched the presentation ceremony again, and Bengali crowd sucked...screw it. glad they lost :)