Award - Longest Running Post ..... Admins, join in the search plz

'Tis the season for awards… I guess Oscar-fever is consuming the guppies tooooo.

First there were the ‘Prince Fav Guppie Awards’ and then the ‘Pakistan/Kashmir/World Guppie Awards’…

Now here is the new one…

Which post is the longest running in ANY of the forums during the past one year…?

You can nominate based on # of visits (quite poor control), or # of pages/posts (again subjective) or longest time between first and last post (hmmm… again tricky). Basically anything will do…

Do some digging and nominate the post. For starters, lets see…

What about this one…

Khutab-e-Zainab in the darbaar of Yazid - by ramesha in Religion Forum http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum13/HTML/001539.html

The the post was created on October 03, 2000 and its still going from strength to strength. Total 1,343 visits so far (AM of Nov 4, 2000). 4 Pages long… :slight_smile:

This post is a proof that even a single Guppie (don’t go on the nicks, ok?) can carry the whole post to 4 pages (ofcourse, with generous help of Ctrl-C/Ctrl-V) and with lots of patience. Don’t fire all your bullets in one go.

Any other nominees…???

:slight_smile:

Don’t Blame me…
C’est La Vie

listen mate
i wreckon the longest running post with quality has to go to bashirra
there is no doubt about it
bashirra has been long running and is full of quality

Nothing in this world has put so many men on their feet as the alarm clock

I did some initial study. There are many threads that pass the 4 page (35 replies on each) margin ..

the most number do come out of Poetry .. as an example, http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum10/HTML/002820.html is 5 pages long.

Also Sabah’s wedding thread got lots of visitors and contributions: http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum2/HTML/001624.html

Look at this thread with 6 page splits: http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum1/HTML/002154-6.html

and this one with 6 page splits too: http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/./Forum13/HTML/001269-6.html

As far as the most visited threads, these are in the MP forum. regularly, these pass the 1000 visits mark.

But its quite interesting topic .. let me do some more research …

for those thread hunters, some posts may seem to have broken images. Please ignore these …

azkar

Here is another one:

To all pakistanis who hate india/indians http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum1/HTML/002154.html :smiley:

Azkar baooo…

Good work, yaar… I checked out those threads, and they make fascinating reading :slight_smile: Especially the ones in Politics Forums… The ever-green, ever-controvertial, ever-lasting two topics are

1. Hindu-Muslim (Pak-India)
  2. Shia-Sunni

What makes me wonder, is that the same arguments are given again and again. People Leave, new ppl come in, and the same arguments are given again and again with the same fervour, as if those reading it have short memory/deficient or complete illiterates…

And to wonder, that most of the Admin team and some secior members are reading the same arguments since 1998, and are still able to keep a straight face and polite conversation going…truly amazing. Since Sep 2000, when I joined, I have read shia-sunni and hindu-muslim bashing enough times to last me a life-time… :slight_smile:

The more interesting topic was sabah’s wedding, I had read some references abt it recently, but never actually visited the topic, till u provided the link.

One problem, though. The visit counter is acting up. E.g. My browser is showing the following stats..

**SABAH’S WEDDING…DHOLKI..and TAPAs TIME ** (…Forum2/../001624.html): Total visits 15
Hinduisnm vs Islam (…Forum13/../001269.html): 208
To all pakistanis who hate india/indians (…Forum1/../002154.html): 298

Obviously each page has a diff counter, thats why? Can u dig out the actual stats plz? :wink:

Looking at the number of posts by some ppl, I beleive another award is justified for the largest number of posts for an active member. Active meaning, who has posted atleast once in the last one week… Thats another thread…

So anyone, anyother nomination for the longest running thread during the last one year… (obviously Azkar hasa technical advantage over others) ? :slight_smile:

Azkar:
If you can dig out the following easily, we will all enjoy it:

1. Longest Running thread (# of posts-wise) ever (since inception)?
  2. Longest Running thread (# of posts-wise) in each forum (current list of forums only)?

Thanks…

Don’t Blame me…
C’est La Vie

Originally posted by rizwanfareed:
**listen mate
i wreckon the longest running post with quality has to go to bashirra
there is no doubt about it
bashirra has been long running and is full of quality

Bashirra....? aray yay bashirra kiya hai bhai? "Bashira in Trouble"? Koi URL link to ho ga, ya phir hum dhondtay hee reh jayain???

Don't Blame me...
C'est La Vie

Longest Running post in Voice Gallery http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum28/HTML/000073.html
(Bashira)

**Na Kabah mai na Be-tullah na dewaroun key sayoun mai, Namaz-e-Haq ada hotien hain Talwaroun key sayoun main