Assimilation

Re: Assimilation

^ Then don't look at those jeans.

That's the plan madame.

There's a solution for that...get shalwars/trousers that are more fitted like trousers and not the ones that have hte crotch coming down to the knee. that just feels gross.

Male or female?

Oi Sara, either one. It's haram to be checking out crotches in general :D

You try talking to my stubborn khala.

She doesnt think its haram to check otu crotches? :(

It must add some proper 'masala' at weddings/dawats to have an aunty checking out crotches. Gents better make sure to zip up eh?

Sara I can top that: One aunty wearing a sari with a low cut blouse with uhm significant 'saggage' at a fundraiser at an Islamic Center...Allah toba.

how about aunties wearing the sleeveless dresses that can fly wiht their wings..err i mean arms.. :D

I have grown up in the US and have never met someone of Pakistani descent who wants to disassociate with ALL aspects of Pakistani culture.

:smack: Now these visuals will haunt me forever.

That statement wasn’t meant for you, it was meant for Sara516, and her suggestion to get shalwaars made where the middle doesn’tt hang so low.

:rolleyes:

We are not a nation ... we are just group of people. Our identity is money and we follow it. Today Pakistan would become America , we'll be the first one showing our patriotism. Its true we humans are rational and we use every reasoning to prove it most ethical.

InshaAllah Pakistan will rise one day. Ameen.

what about the other side of the coin? meaning families who moved to the UK in the 60s or 70s, and to this date, cannot speak a word of english, nor have they made any efforts to learn the language whilst living in England yet accepting social services provided by the govt? normally, they need translators. i don't understand how you can live in a country for so long yet make zero effort to learn the language.

where do you draw the line?

Yes.

How many of us are talking about WOMEN when we talk about NOT DRESSING UP IN DESI CLOTHES???

I have heard many pakistani's criticising WOMEN for dressing in western apparel (that does NOT necessarily mean semi-naked) but not really come across these ppl saying that MEN should go to work in a shalwar kameez instead of "pant-shirt".

Why does every thread has to turn into a complaint section for 'suppressed ' Pakistani women living abroad? Is assimilation only about what clothes you wear?

so what? :mad:
u gotta problem?! :mad:

it is true that people are ashamed of their roots but their is a contingent reasoning behind it. even though there are countless nice things about Pakistan, but i cant neglect media’s war on Pakistan, along with Pakistan’s unstable political and economical conditions stops you to defend your country.
so sometime i dont like to discuss ABOUT ME, or GETTING MY IDEOLOGY DISCUSSED.