Re: Assalam-o-Alaikum
Here you go. Assalam-o-Alaikum is nothing but a prayer for the addressee. As psyah said
same is the case with AoA. you are not giving away anything from your side. It is just a prayer and it is upto Allah what to do about it.
Another verse:
**4:87) "When you are greeted with a greeting, greet in return with what is better than it, or (at least) return it equally”
I think there are two instances I can think of where above is not applicable
-
The person before you greet you in insulting way or as Jews at the time of prophet (pbuh) used to say. say ‘Assam-o-Alaikum’. In that case, keep quiet or say wa-alaikum.
-
The person greet you with salam but is known to be insulting and abusive towards Islam, Allah(swt), prophet (pbuh) etc.
Once the promised messiah(as) was doing his ablution before prayer. a hindu pandit lekhraam was passing by. He said salam to promised messiah (as). He didn’t respond. He repeated salam a few times but hazrat sahib didn’t reply. He went away. one of the companions said. Why didn’t you reply to his salam? The promised Messiah(as) said: “Hamaare aaqa(pbuh) ko to gaaliaan deta hai aur hamein salam karta hai”.