Asia Cup: Pak vs Ind, SL vs. UAE - June 26, 08

^ but it begs the Q where is all the bowling talent that some of us keep bragging about? It seems our bowling resources are severely depleted if anything with nil bench strength. Frankly I have not seen a real fast bowling talent emerge from Pakistan since Akhtar (who at his peak is in the same class as Imran Khan and the two W's capable of destroying any batting line-up). Asif and Gul are decent rather than great. Plus in those days we had Saqlain who was a very effective one-day bowler.

Re: Asia Cup: Pak vs Ind, SL vs. UAE - June 26, 08

The bowling talent and every thing is all there. Why is that when we lose a match we start taking the whole team apart. This is the same team that beat the Indians comprehensively a few weeks ago, I didn't see the Indian team being torn apart. Hota hai. Live with it. You win some you lose some. When you lose your main bowler and also our captain who could have bowled it makes a difference. Maybe if he had not retired hurt and stayed on for another 30 minutes or so we would have been in the range of 350 and that would have put a total different gloss on the match.

well played India and they deserved to win but in the end lets not tear our own team apart.

If in the next match they beat India or win the tournament all of you will be singing their praises sky high.

^ You tell'em Ehsan bhai...

My take on this match is that India may still very well have won the match if Gul and Malik were available, but it would have been a closer game in that case.

Excuse me Ehsan bhai. A much-needed win for sure but that was by no stretch of imagination a "comprehensive" victory. I said it at the time don't judge our bowling by victory in the final. Remember we were defending a 300+ total and the Indians were chasing under the lights (which is never easy) and they still almost got there despite losing wickets at regular intervals!! Not only that had Dhoni not erred by coming in so low down the batting order, it could have been a very different story.

No one is criticising the batting today but it is plain for everyone to see that our current bowling attack (even with Gul and Malik) is below-par. so let us not gloss over our bowling problems. Fawad, Rao etc. are club level bowlers at best. The bowling needs a lot of improvement. With Lawson as our coach, I expected the bowling to get better, but it has actually got worse.

India's victory today was comprehensive for sure.

excuse me who made that total of 300+, some aliens? Now you are making excuses that it was not Pakistan who won the match but Indians were chasing under the light, (they were doing the same today as well) and had Dhoni come up the batting order we would have lost. So we cant win under any circumstances, we win because other teams play bad and we lose because we don't have a bowling attack. Yeah right. No pleasing some people.

Ehsan bhai please don't twist the argument by talking about batting now :DDid I criticise the batters? Noone is taking the whole team apart but it is pretty obvious that our current bowling attack is crap (to put it very mildly) and I am surprised that you don't get that. Yes the batters did well to make that score in the final and they batted well again today....shabash to them....but believe you me they are not going to score 300 every day. What if we bat first and make 270-275 (which is still competitive if not commanding). How are we going to defend that score with the current bowlers? :)

chitrol hui team-pak ki tik-taka ke.. :chai:

Hum phir haar gaye :mad:

we better win rest of the matches :mad2:

Indian selectors are smart aassssses and think over the head. Though I would not advocate for Dravid considering his poor form, Ganguly should have been in team. I dont think Rohit Sharma or Yousuf Pathan can play big innings. They didn't learn from Kitply loss.

could not agree more with that comment. I would never drop a solid player like Dravid. And Ganguly's one-day record (even better than Dravid's) is such that he deserves another chance

You are completely wrong about Rohit Sharma. Yousuf Pathan needs to get more chances.

On a different note, BCCI sucks big time. I hate BCCI for what they have done to ICL players and Kapil Dev and for the Zimbabwe issue.

I still maintain that in ODIs between India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan --- any team can win on any given day.

So, to GoldenAsif & Ehsan -- you can analyze the games till the cows come home, but seriously the outcome of ODI matches between comparable teams remains a LOTTERY. ( ICC should ideally make finals of all ODI tournaments BEST of 3 games to bring some logic into the outcomes).

Test matches are the real deal to gauze talent -- but sadly they are BORING..............

Bottom line …

**Bring Back Akhter… **:dhimpak:

n i personally feel … Sami is way better then rao … ohh but he was in ICL … so cant play for Pakistan :emmy:

What about bringing back other bowler of the ‘highest quality’ Rana Naveed Ul Hasan???

The great Viv Richards might sum up our current bowling predicament by saying something like,

"Man, it don't matter who your bowlers are, the score is still 300!!"

Yah maan.

Guys like i said earlier national stadium karachi wicket is damn good batting wicket 300 is nothing on that wicket, so pakistan scored 40 or 50 less runs, also i think it will be very difficult to win all 3 of our remaining matches to qualify for the finals, i think India has the best side in the tournament, Sri Lanka # 2 and Pak # 3 best side, we need good bowlers, guys remember when our Bowling lien use to be like this, Attack with Shoaib and Sami, Asif and Shabir/ Gul first change and Razzaq, Afridi, Hafeez and Malik was playing as all rounder, that was a good lineup for Pak, i think Pak cricket is under their worst time, pak in the past was known for bringing up good Fast bowlers, now days sohail tanveer, Ifthikar Rao and Gul they are 2nd string but what can we do now politics has destroyd cricket in our country, I love A Razzaq i think he is a better allrounder the afridi why would pak let him go to ICL when clearly he can play another world cup no clue.

Umar Gul is out of the Asia Cup!

Pakistan will never be able to come up with "real fast bowling talent" in future unless ICC take it easy on tampering and doping checks.

yaani abhi tak woh cup ke andar betha howa tha?? kitna bara cup hay bhai? aur kis ne band kia tha usay cup mai? :ASA: