Sexy? You’ve brought me over! When you coming to town, Lajjo? I’m waiting with a balti of doodh and my special paranthas. You’ll recognise me as the one singing the bhajan loudest…![]()
^ I forgot to add, singing in welcome of the Jamiat-Islamiyat-save Indiyat army.
How typical. Anyone who remotely criticizes the US - slap them with a label of “America Hater”. No need to analyze or objectively critique their writings, just call them Commie and America Hater. Baat khatam. Now we can all rest knowing that she’s just a loony leftie. :k: Kia ajeeb baat hai.
nadia, she is a left winger....its no secret.
Here's another no-brainer: being a leftie doesn't automatically make you an America Hater.
Nadia ji - Ms. Roy was born in Bengal a communist state in India for almost 30 years and Grew up in Kerala another Communist State in India at that time when Cold War was at its peak.I didn’t call her a commie in previous posts although It is very likely that she was influenced by the communism ideology. She herself thinks of ‘Marxism’ as a religion and sorta proves my point when she says :-
** “Kerala is home to four of the world’s great religions: Hinduism, Islam, Christianity, and Marxism.” **
I admire her stance on Nuclear issue, but one has to admit that She likes going against the establishment for no reason. she is anti-us, anti-establishment and there is no doubt about that.
I guess I wan’t wrong about the influence of Marxism on her life.
Arundhati Roy on Childhood in Kerala :-
"A lot of the atmosphere in “God of Small Things” is based on my experiences of what it was like to grow up in Kerala. Most interestingly, it was the only place in the world where religions coincide, there’s Christianity, Hinduism, Marxism and Islam and they all live together and rub each other down.* When I grew up it was the Marxism that was very strong, it was like the revolution was coming next week.** I was aware of the different cultures when I was growing up and I’m still aware of them now. When you see all the competing beliefs against the same background you realise how they all wear each other down. To me, I couldn’t think of a better location for a book about human beings… "*
She is anti american because she is Anti American. Send her to pluto with the HT brigade and the "save the chillun" knuckleheads.
Asif, So that makes her an America Hater ? If someone has had strong Marxist influences while growing up, how does that mean they “hate” America?
Whether or not she’s had Marxist influences doesn’t automatically indicate she’s an America Hater. :smack2: Why do we always use these stereotypes to judge others ? She’s critical of the US, she’s not automatically an America Hater. It’s a very simple distinction.
Let's try logic:
1) Marxist ideologies are in direct conflict with the American system of gov't and economics
2) Marxist ideologies have failed
3) Marxists blame the beacon of capitalism aka US for this failure (kind of like some other ideolgies, no names :) )
So it is quite easy to see why a known marxist would have a chip on her shoulder. Q.E.D
Nadia Ji - If It’s not just the marxist influence then I dont really know what it is. One just has to look at her Articles where she mentions USA. According to her US is the root cause of all the evils of this world.
If anyone is making any stereo type judgment then it’s Ms. Roy esp when she says :- “..Last year, like many others, I too made the mistake of scoffing at this post-September 11 rhetoric, dismissing it as foolish and arrogant. I’ve realised that it’s not. It’s actually a canny recruitment drive for a misconceived, dangerous war.”
You just have to read the article you posted in its entirity to notice her Rants against america and american corporate.
PS :- I am not a supporter of America’s war against Iraq.
Aw pooh baloney!
Asif, call it like it is, don't be polite. Mat has the right idea of sending her to Pluto. Some of her articles made me so mad I had to stop halfway and sip a Patiala to regain my humour.
I'm just waiting for the day when she comes right out and says 9/11 was a jew conspiracy and the planes were controlled by remote control. Contrast that with what Rushdie wrote for the Washington post facto. The singular most brilliant and touching plea to Islam and humanity to get it's act right. He has more brains in his finger than her entire body.
Karina, you are absolutely correct. Salman Rushdie at least has the intellect to divulge topical necessities. this idiot, has no solutions, just bakbakbakbak...like the rest of her supporters.
It doesn;t make one a genius or a savant to suggest that they are against-war. Who the hell is for war? I am also against child abuse and domestic violence. See..novel concepts. :)
Originally posted by Asif_k: *
**According to her US is the root cause of all the evils of this world.*
yaar meri baat sunein. How does that make her anti-American? She's anti-US, clearly, she's against the current American administration. So am i. Big whoop. So are thousands of Americans. Does that make them anti-American?
You just have to read the article you posted in its entirity to notice her Rants against america and american corporate.
Just read her own comments in that very article, i posted the excerpts above. Anti-American is just a stupid, irrational slapstick label to paste on someone when one doesn't want to objectively analyze their opinions. She's against the administration, she's not against American people.
Anyways of course you are entitled to your own opinion. i just happen to disagree with it very strongly because i don't believe it's an accurate generalization of those who happen to be critical of a government's policies.
*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *
yaar meri baat sunein. How does that make her anti-American? She's anti-US, clearly, she's against the current American administration. So am i. Big whoop. So are thousands of Americans. Does that make them anti-American?
Thousands of those Americans dont blame America for all the evels of this world, neither do they think of 9/11 as a "canny recruitment drive for a misconceived, dangerous war.". They also dont have a problem with America's Corporate like Ms. Roy has.
i don't believe it's an accurate generalization of those who happen to be critical of a government's policies.
But you do agree with Ms. Roy when She says **"So, it's hard for me to say this, but the American way of life is simply not sustainable. Because it doesn't acknowledge that there is a world beyond America. *"*
An Idiot who hasn't lived in America for even 100 days, doesn't know a thing about American Society but still wants to pass her Judgement on America & American Way of Life. I am sure in your eyes that is not a gross generalization but just being a Critic.
In defence of Ms Roy
My few bits and pieces on Arundhati Roy, her critics etc.
Going through the posts I see that most people do have many objection to Ms Roy.
The first type would be the ones attacking her personally. This type I will ignore cause I see no way reason is going to help while dealing with them.
Then there are those who oppose the content of her writing.
Well, yes a lot o published articles are against US foreign policy. A lot of articles are also against US Big Business, but then she is hardly the only voice shoutin against these issues.
Lets see a few of her pet peeves..
US Foreign policy - well as far as I can see most people on this site are against a lot of the Bush foreign policy so we have a lot in common with her.
The Narmada Bachao Andolan - The fact is, it is good to have a debate on any issue. Many of the points raised by Medha Patkar and later by Arundhati Roy had merit and did not deserve to be ignored by the Govt. The fact that over 100,000 people were displaced, well the truth is that they were just thrown out and not relocated peoperly. This is what Arundhati Roy wrote about....A neccessary voice (not the only one) for the displaced.
Nuclear tests - She is clearly anti nucelar. btw, she wasnt anti national cause she was opposed to nuclear tests. She has the same stand with any country testing nukes. She strongly believes that nukes are the end of the world, and wants to try and change that. Whats wrong in being idealistic?
Other issues she has written about - like freedom of speech etc, well very valid in the context that it was raised.
I remember her being jailed for contempt of court after a case was filed against her for assault. I read a copy of the police FIR and the complaint. It was a joke. The fact that the court looked at the case even after the bad drafting and the lame accusation taht couldnt be backed up with proof...well that was a travesty of the judicial system.
As far as her skill at writing go, I think she is very good, especially when writing essays. And of course she has a booker prize, which she fully deserved. But of cours thats my judgement...
As far as her marxist lineage goes, I can understand that as well, coming from Kerala. The general thinking in the state is along socialistic lines, maybe the hardcore Marxism has given way to pseudo capitalistic Communism but the driving force still has a socilaistic tinge to it, regardless of the party in power.
By the way this stubborn streak runs in her family. Her mother, Mary Roy was responsible for changing the Constition in regard to the right of Christian women to ancestral property after their marriage, and she runs a school called Corpus Christi in her hometown, Kottayam.
Apparently Mary Roy set up the school since she felt the other schools in the area did not offer enough to Arundhati enough opportunity to develop heer talents. This is a very sought after school today, BTW.
Arundhati has also tried her hand at filmaking, albeit one which didnt do too well. Dont think it was a commercial venture though.
I really admire the lady for she has the courage to say the things people dont want said and the courage to stand up and fight against all comers....