Apology to China - My Reply

** bohoooooo..i never seem to get here on time..jabh subh kuch hau chukta hai..i arrive..bo hoooooooooooooooo**
* kicks the table*

ouch!

[This message has been edited by isloo_ki_anarkali (edited April 24, 2001).]

lariee lariee maaf karoo …allah ka ghar saaf karoo

With Love:

Only that person worth your tears, who never made u cry!

You had censored your pic…but not enough. I made a call on suitability and unfortunately the pic didn’t meet standards.

I’ll bet your bhabhi also would say to you that it’s not okay to break the rules just cuz someone else did it.

Naik was wrong to break the rules of the forum, and so was NYAhmadi. I have, personally, addressed the situation.

I have said this numerous times before…if you see something objectionable, if you see something that is unfair, please contact [email protected] instead of brewing and boiling your blood over it. Instead of assuming that it was okay to post profanity, you should have sent a message objecting to Naik’s title. I tend to have little sympathy for those that show up in threads to complain about unfairness when they haven’t reported the original offense to begin with.

God only knows what other profanity has been posted by Naik and NYAhmadi while I am sitting here typing up this response…LOL.

Originally posted by Muzna:
I tend to have little sympathy for those that show up in threads to complain about unfairness when they haven't reported the original offense to begin with.

I'm trying hard not to push the argument any further, since u've already accepted that the mods were wrong.. and they should be dealt with too....
But when u talk about people reporting the offence.. lemme give you an example... I did report about an offensive image gallery post.. with my reasons or whatever........ the post was taken away.. and then put back... I never recieved any reply explaining why the post was brought back. So, if you want the members to co-operate.. atleast acknowledge their emails... and if they can take out the time to report something, you guys should be able to take enough out to atleast acknowledge and explain your point.

Point being, if you keep a positive attitude towards members who email the admin team about offensive posts, then people would be more than glad to report them.

ammarr,

If you can explain which post you are referring to I will investigate and report back to you.

Obviously your complaint was taken seriously if the post was removed. Something else must have transpired after that. This constitutes the missing piece of the puzzle. Before I can make any judgement on what happened and why it happened, I need all the pieces.

Ok.

Here’s the post

Now, I didn’t get any replies from any of the Mods in my inbox. And notice the mod/adminz team attitude here:

Posted by Azkar Chaudhry:
I hate hypocrites. They start to preach and do the best mud slinging anyone has seen. No one can preach me anything by starting ‘Look azkar, you stupid , ….’. I will return the mud to their face!
AC

Posted by Pristine:
For Vinni fans, this thread has a lot to offer
For those who don’t like it, just skip it!

…
Maybe you should notice the amount of support I got in that thread. And the thread-starter, was ashamed enough to remove the indecent pics himself… so, they WERE indecent. Which the mods did not accept.. and didn’t explain their reasoning or ANYTHING!

Sorry to bring this up again… but you wanted to know,… so you can have a look at it.

Thanks for the link. I’ve reviewed it very briefly. Frankly I don’t have time right now to read through it but I must say that I am offended at your post:

"… but it seems that most people on the admin/mod team are either nerds who like drooling over indecent pics of women.. or they are one of those ‘so-called-modern’ pakistanis… " - ammarr

To be very honest with you I would not be too inclined to co-operate with someone that posts this kind of stuff. If I were moderating that thread I would have been rather ticked off. To ask for an explanation is one thing…to demand one is another story altogether. This may explain the mod/admin team’s attitude.

Anyhow…

The thread in question dates back to early January…since that time the moderator of the Image Gallery took several steps to re-write the guidelines of participation in this section. Each step of the way he made very conscious and dedicated efforts to involve the membership in the process so that you, the users, would have a say in what is suitable and what isn’t. I have not seen a complaint since then.

If you feel that your request was unfairly dismissed, you still had the opportunity to contact me personally rather than decide that overlooking the rules is the best means to get back.

There will always be threads, messages and posts that will be neglected; we are not online 24 x 7 and we have continued to ask that our members play an active role in reporting abuse to avoid such situations. If you are not satisfied with a response, then you have two choices…either you persist and keep reaching up the ladder with your appeals, (remaining within the confines of decency and protocol) or you choose to avoid the site altogether because it doesn’t meet all of your standards. Of course we hope that you would select the former option.

I will not attempt to clarify Azkar’s comment as I didn’t read enough to understand to whom it was addressed. All I can say about him is that it takes a great deal of grief for him to endure before he reaches the point of reacting in that fashion.

Ammar,

We have this dicussion a number of times, and I am just repeating it. Different people have different views on public decency. Yours might be different from the person next door. On a public forum, we try to be even-handed and enforce a consistent policy.

For this reason, the policy was stated that anything which is acceptable in national reputed newspapers is acceptable here. This way we try to take out the element of personal likes and dislikes of the moderator. You do not agree to this policy and no one is asking you to change the way your think. But this forum is not the personal domain of you and me, it is a public forum and I only enforce the stated policy.

Re: the thread in question, it was restored after it was felt on a collective level that the picture is just inside the borderline. Afterwards if the topic-starter wishes to delete it or retain it, is upto him.

You are in a public forum. We make every effort to keep things decent here. Sometimes you will come across stuff which in your opinion is indecent and you are free to complain, but don't expect the whole forum to always agree to what one individual thinks. I don't expect all of you to agree at all times to what I say but I respect this disagreement and I expect the same courtesy from you guys.

I second that motion!

look ammar There is no perfect world. Different People have different standards for different things. There has been enough “khap” on this matter so now its up to the administration to do whatever THEY deem is necessary. IF they think anything is necessary.

I’ve said this on numerous occasions that you guys do an awesome job on the site. That is not the question. I did not intend to flame you guys. But keep in mind that your visitors/members could have legitimate reasons to be annoyed too.. and if they do show their concern, then it should be addressed accordingly.

Pristine, yup.. we’ve had the discussion on numerous occasions… BUT, did we have one during the time this thread was alive? Nope. I DID NOT GET any explanations for whatever the mod team decided on. WHICH discouraged me to actually go ahead and discuss my point of view directly with the MOD team.

And I appreciate the fact that you guys have started putting in the time and effort to listen to your members complaints.. and i appreciate the fact that the policies have gotten much more tighter and reflect the Pakistani culture much better.. (but do u think it could’ve been this way had I not complained again n again?.. cuz i did not get any response from the mod team

)

I visit this site for fun too. And I understand different people can have different view… but sometimes a member can take offence to one of these views.. and if they complain to the mod team.. they should be given an answer or explanation.. no?

And I apologize for that rather rude statement. No doubt it was wrong of me to say that. I was just frustrated at the lack of a response. But that isn’t an excuse i guess. (And you might want to take a look at my email.. which i sent to the gshup team.. I’d say it was nice and polite.. and u guyz should have responded to it

)

And yes Pristine, I understand that different people can have different views. And that its upto you to decide which ones are decent enough to be portrayed in img. gallery. I dont think I’ve ever questioned your decision again.. have I?

Anyway.. thats enough i guess.. the point was.. if you dont like people complaining in the msg. boards.. then make sure you encourage them to contact you thro email

Kher, mitti pao! I appreciate that you guys took out the time to reply to my senseless ranting

who—me, aap sadqey say ho kar aa gae..?

Thanks for sharing your thoughts ammarr....and I hope that you will continue to do so in the future.

While we are on this subject, let me add one more thing. Some members have complained to me about instances where members have tempered their own pics to show as if they are in hijab or having a beard.

I appreciate the position of those who complained and acknowledge receipt of all your messages.

No action is being contemplated at this stage since all the tempering is done by the members themselves and secondly, because, it is our collective opinion that such acts do not translate into a breach of forum policies/rules. Those who disagree with this have a right to their opinion, and no one is taking this right away from them. You have made your point to me and on the threads. There seems little point in repeating it again and again.

Thanks!

So at the end of the day…was the post against the rules or not? It was hilarious regardless!!

I was trying to be quiet but now you have mentioned this so I will try to clear the point. I understand that you are referring to one of the post with words containing “Hijab”.

I wrote to you that it is wrong that someone try to make fun of someone else’s beliefs. Keeping in mind that I am perfectly OK if someone (guy/gal) post his/her pic. I also think that Hijab is part of my belief and hence it shouldn’t be ridiculed. If I am not wrong then it is against the rules of Gupshup to make fun out of someone’s belief.

You know very well what response did I get from you mentioning “Watcher”.

Muzna Baji, there are quite a few examples here and there on Gupshup that happened quite recently and the above one is one of them.

kiss say faryad karein aur kiss say munsafi chahaiN

I didn’t intend to question anyone committment to this forum as I think all the mods are doing great job and I am happy that they listen and hope they will keep doing so.

Now, I will just take it easy

I thought I was done with this thread. Guess not.

khan sahib,

I find several things on this forum to be insulting. If I started to list them I'd probably make a lot of people very angry. Reality is that I cannot enforce everything that I like and disallow everything that I don't.

If you feel that you disagree with the way some members are depicting the hijab....then I would suggest that you express your opinion (again whilst remaining within the confines of decency and protocol) in the relevant thread.

There are two ways to cause change: by force of diplomacy, where you have a vote (and frankly this matter put to vote would likely not win) or by forcing the change through peer pressure (e.g. if enough people go into a thread and express their discontent then the author of the objectionable post/thread is likely to retract/edit the material him/herself.)

There...I hope I have explained at least one clear point.

May I be excused now?

khan_sahib,

I thought I had responded to you, and sure enough I did. I didn’t respond to all of those who complained. Since you mentioned part of my response, so shall I fully post the relevant correspondence? I hope you don’t mind. Here it is :slight_smile:

----- Original Message by khan_sahib -----
I think I have already expressed my views on this particular thread. My objection is not the girl posting her picture as it is her right to do so but it’s definitely not her right to make fun out of Hijab. I know that in one of the other thread somebody suggested her to take Hijab and this lead to her starting this topic which might be funnier but it’s a mockery and taking the micky out of Hijab. I don’t deny anyones’ right to post their picture but I certainly do want that Hijab shouldn’t be ridiculed here which I strongly think is part and parcel of my belief.

Regards

----- Reply by Pristine -----
April 19, 2001 09:05 PM

Well, its a good thing you decided to vent your feelings in the thread. In some situations, it is best if members express their view-point to ensure a healthy debate, rather than moderator butting in and trying to be dictatorial by implementing a rule which is not there.

That someone’s posting a touched-up pic with a hijab made u feel that she is rediculing and making fun of it is something worthy of a separate debate. :slight_smile:

Woh kiya kehta tha Watcher … yeah… Take it Easy. :->

Now, lets rest this case. Have fun.

oh great....Pristine had already responded and because of khan sahib I had to sit here and type up an answer......

in the meanwhile someone was probably posting something that I would probably find offensive......

Apart from the chak chak on this post ...

Originally posted by Khan_sahib:
kiss say faryad karein aur kiss say munsafi chahaiN

The above reminds me of ...

Bahut hain zulm keh dast-e-bahana-ju keh liye
Jo chund ahel-e-junoon tere naam leva hain
Baney hain ahel-e-hawas muddai bhi, munsif bhi
Kise wakil karen, kis-se munsifi chahen

Khan_sahib: I will post this Naz'am by Faiz, in the voice Gal. tonight! Look out for it.