yes it is normal not to be scared,this is new generation they don't get scared.Actually i think one should be confident because it helps a lot:) CONGRATULATIONS on ur wedding sara.If u have any questions please ask frankly or u can pm me
u are right. the new generation has the opportunity to get to know their potential mate before the wedding....not like before. So if you know who you are marrying and YOU made the decision...then why be scared. :)
I wasn’t scared about getting married, I had had the chance to get to know my husband well as he was part of our extended family (through his sister’s marriage) and therefore there were a lot of family get togethers.
I was scared about the functions, I have always been the one who is in control organising things and managing things…so it was VERY scary for me to know that while I was the bride I had no control!!!In some of the pictures you can tell that I am anxious!
Even sitting on the stage platform, I was dying to make comments about the arrangements proceedings etc…but obviously I couldn’t!!!
The advice I would give is that first of all don’t be like me and don’t stress about the arrngements going to plan etc…also, another piece of advise is be honest from the moment you get engaged…so many of my friends have lied and then had to lie to cover lies etc etc..it’s not a good start to a marriage!
May Allah SWT make all your plans for your marriage go according to plan and may you and your husband live a long and fulfilled life full of happines and contentment (Ameen)
AE, i think its more normal to be afraid of what you don't know. But when its on its way to becoming a reality, familes are involved, etc, then i thnk the fear is diminished. i was thinking abt this, fear of commitment stuff and how often you hear abt it from non-desis, that marriage is terrifying...like hello you've known this person for years, youre slept with them, lived together, everything--what is there to be scared of ?
Sara, i was one of those people who werent scared, Alhamdulillah. I was very emotional in the week before the nikah. On the nikah day, i was so rushed the whole day but when my Abbu ji called to take me to the molvi sahib for eejaab and qabool, i was soooo terrifed. And when the molvi asked me, i looked at my dad with such a scared look!!! Only when my Abbu ji nodded did i nod :D
But like everyone said, just try to relax. Prepare in advance as much as you can, leave various responsibilities to other ppl you can trust and make sure you enjoy the big day.
book your denting and painting appointment from leading beauty parlor in town (as other dulhans to be do). Beauty parlors are just like auto body shop that make wreckage look like 0 meter vehicle and driver come to know about that only after driving more than 3000miles jub warranty expire ho chukee hotee hai :D
sara take real good care of ure hands & feet as you said that you will not wear gloves .. waisay be it’s winters so hands darken when you wash alot of dishes or sunbathe .. so they would look beautiful on ure wedding day ..
** AE……same here…!!!** sara516…as the others said…drink lot’s of water ,eat lot’s of fruits…drink fresh apple juice, fresh carrot juice & saib doodh(apple grinded in milk)…all this will make you look naturally pink…& fresh… & well…may allah(swt) alwayz keep YOU & ur UNN happy…& may u lead a blissful life…aameen…
Get into the best shape possible.. healthwise.. take your vitamins, workout, get check ups and innoculations, get a complete physical done, consult an obgyn, get a pap test, start breast self exams.
After your wedding while you settle into a new routine with new people and situations around you, you may be physically and mentally stressed. Simple things like socialising, less sleep, minor arguments, adjusting to someone else's expectations of behavior, new jobs or boredom if you are not working, moving house or setting up a home, any friction with the new people in your life... all of these are ever present in new situations. These things happen, never mind how happy you think you are. It is all very normal.
Take care of that aspect right now, by making sure that your physical body is able to roll with the punches.