AMERICAN citizen KIDNAPPED from Model Town in Lahore

Re: AMERICAN citizen KIDNAPPED from Model Town in Lahore

aur, aap popcorn khaate rahiye :smiley:

Pakistani police described the guy as working in the development sector so it is not that he was up to no good. In any case, there is something known as a precedent. If a white guy can be kidnapped in the middle of a posh area in one of the few cities in Pakistan where the government does exercise some degree of control then that hardly sends a good signal to any foreign visitor, including investors abroad considering investing in Pakistan.

Just as the attack on Sri Lankan cricket team spelled all but an end to international cricket in Pakistan, kidnappings like this can be very detrimental for Pakistan's prospects of attracting foreign investment. Because to invest, investors first need to visit Pakistan. And it is very likely that they won't if there is no reasonable guarantee that they will be able to return in one piece.

In light of recent events, i would doubt that he is working on some development projects, unless it is related to promote terrorism and anarchy, just for you info, the other day, there was small news item in one of the news papers quoting political agent of FATA that, since there is restriction on the movements of US consulate members, the number of terror incidents have gone down...

Currently, Pakistan is considered as war zone in investment world so there is no investor ( apart from Chinese, who are often kidnapped) willing to invest... secondly the white-guys should know that this is no good time for them to come here, they are the one who have turned the region into hell and no one is going to have sympathy with this white guy no matter what...

Aren't you taking it bit to far, i suggest watching CNN and FOX news is good but taking everything they have said as word of god is bad...

There are a lot of foreigners working in agriculture, industry, service sectors in Pakistan with an invaluable contribution to our economy. There are a lot of people trying traveling or living in Pakistan facilitating our economy. some technicians travel to Pakistan installing much needed infra structure/machinery. This kind of incidents bring a bad name to our country and damage nobody but our own country/economy.

Any kind of glorification of such incidents is the last thing we need in our country specially during these testing times..

^^ No one glorifying the issue, just look at the guards, one was BHAGORA from Army and other was some policeman... why do he need to have these kind of guards, whereas he can easily contact any security agency and have guards...

to me if he was genuine and not an American spy and is not abducted by the Agencies of Pakistan, then these very guards might have their hands in it...

Anyway in a country where hundreds are being killed and kidnapped on weekly basis, this one make no difference... Rehman Malik is on it and he will get him back

Nobody in the international media will read all your descriptions. This incident will just be exploited by already biased media against Pakistan. I just hope the kidnapped person irrespective of his real job is recovered soon for the benefit of our country.

Pakistan for a middle to low income level country has much less street crime. Not a single foreigner ever has been abducted from Lahore before this incident ever. All these positive aspects are never highlighted by international media. I just hope this time our police/intelligence agencies find the kidnapped person sooner than later..

^^ I know, no matter what we do or say as long as it is not in line with the International (read Western) Media's interest, it won't be true or won't carry any credibility, the whole credibility lies with them, whatever they say or they think is true so in that case, i need not to make any case anywhere and i need to protect my interest by any mean as, even if i use legitimate way, i am going to be ridiculed so why take headaches of doing it by proper channel, why not do it easy way.. i have nothing to loose...

"I have Nothing to Loose" is where the western Media has pushed us, we have lost so much that these kind of incidents make no difference to our health.. i don't care if ten more Americans are abducted and killed, many of Chinese friends have been facing that from last 20 years, so it is common, if they are here then they should know the risks of being here...

Again as i said, i am not in favor of kidnapping anyone, be it a Pakitani or any national... and again on the same note, i am not in favor of having Raymond Davsis in my country... i don't know anything about this man, he sure was working in some sensitive areas...

That is just a conspiracy theory.

Newspapers like Daily ummat "quoting" a "political agent of FATA" i.e. most likely a Taliban accomplice do not have an iota of credibility. Besides FYI, it has been quite some time since the restrictions on the movement of US consulate members were actually removed after the Americans threatened imposition of similar restrictions on the movement of Pakistani diplomats in the US!

Good luck shaking off the stigma of being considered war zone with kidnappings like that taking place!

With attitude like that, I am sure no one is dying to come to Pakistan either. Tourists shunned Pakistan long ago. And it is Pakistan that still keeps asking for trade, aid, loans, and development projects from the international community.

Irrelevant. Can you deny that reprehensible kidnappings like this one further undermine Pakistan's prospects of attracting foreign visitors and investors? Why is it that save for Afghanistan no cricketing nation worth its salt has decided to visit Pakistan after the attack on Sri Lankan cricket team?

Anything which is against western interest is conspiracy theory, and that ends the debate

lol. if you insist..

**haiN aur bhii dunyaa meN ā€˜debator’ bahot achchhe
kahte haiN k ā€˜Hanibal’ kaa hai andaaz e bayaaN aur **:cb:

rahee na taaqat-e-guf’taar, aur agar ho bhi
tu kis ummeed pe kahiye ke aarzoo kya hai ?

bana hai shaah ka musaahib, phiray hai it’raata
wagarna ā€œforumā€ meiN ā€˜hanibal’ kee aabroo kya hai ?

(Ghalib key rooh say maƔzrat saath)

wah wah! muqarar irshaad muqarar irshaad.. :)