All you guppies living abroad!!

Re: All you guppies living abroad!!

I was reading Jang (headlines) with my dad before I had started the first grade in Pak. Moving abroad, parents brought along naunihals, taleem o tarbiyats n bachon ki duniyas so taht I wouldnt lose touch with the language. By fourth grade, I had every page of each mag memorzied by heart. :)

Parents kept strict rules of speaking only urdu at home and with each other (siblings) while we grew up (Brother had once used shakar batti to describe some 'agar batti' seen at someone's house--this led to the 'urdu only' rule). Not so much of a prob now that all of us have vocab better than the avg Pak. student. They kept us (and still do) involved with mushairas, poetry, songs, etc to teach us the language. Also made me write letters in urdu to cousins in Pak as a child.

I can speak, read and write fluently cept some really mushkil words that cannot be made out by a pen -- (ex: bain ul aqwami -- parents once tested my writing skills using this word :) )

amelie …n x comm…thank you!! :slight_smile:

x-commi…i’m impressed to hear you were reading jang at such a young age …

khayr …even though we r late …i’m trying to make sure my kids do learn writing n reading too…!!

btw, you cracked me up with ‘shakarbatti’ :hehe:

wow your parents were mean :smiley:

haha.
i grew up in cali. i can only speak urdu. cant read it. cant write it. !:blush:

how many of you know urdu....n by that i don't mean spoken urdu ....i need to know about writing

I can speak Urdu though maybe not properly (every other word is English but only because either I don't know their translations and/or I have trouble pronouncing the translation so it's easier and quicker to say the English word). I cannot write Urdu but I can read it if I try (I do at times).

n those of you who know .....when, where n how were you taught ...???

My mom tried teaching me at home to read and write Urdu. She taught me the alphabet and gave me written exercises but she gave up after a while because I already had three other languages that I needed to learn.

did u enjoy it ....or was it something like an additional burden....???

I never enjoyed studying. :) It wasn't a burden but I didn't really care to learn it.

how keen u were to learn ....n what's your view NOW ......???

Now I wish I did know how to read and write Urdu fluently.

if you were to send your kid to some local community centre/ mosque etc, to learn urdu .....what do you think will be the right age...???

Inshallah I want my children to learn Urdu for sure. I guess 4-5 years of age is good because that's when they will be learning the English alphabet as well.

larki.....:)
thank you.....i liked your post!! :)

I only can talk Urdu i can't read or write it but i like to learn it.

some pretend that they cannot read write or speak urdu especially in pakistan belonging to burger families! but if someone in us know already who they are and they donot feel lost especially after 9/11 sub ko apni ass-i-liyat ka patah chal gaya hai aur woh goray ban-nay ki koshish nahee kartay! theek!