ABCD....HAVE U EVER BEEN REGARDED AS????????

Nadia Ji,

I am so glad that you posted this. Myself being an American born Desi, I have despised this term ABCD. Where are we confused ? Actually, its the FOB's that I have met, that seem to me to be trying to ditch thier culture, and become so-called "American." True, I am sure that all ABCD's went through a phase of not wanting to be a Paki, but now, my friends who are ABCDs I find are the ones who are most confident and comfortable with thier country (Pakistan), religion, and culture.
I agree with Stud though, I haven't met a FOB yet who went to the Prom.

KIRAN JI
ur adorable
and yes ur right ....some ppl cant just seem to get their act straight.......

I would like to say a few thinks about those who are born here in the west , and those born in Pakistan. First we have to determine the grounds on which to compare. Are we comparing morals,socially, education or what? All the above depends on how one is raised by the parents. Some kids here in teh US are much more ethical, educated, have morals, and have a greater knowledge of both our culture and Islam. On the other hand there are kids born in PAkistan that are totally wierd, nuts with no moral values and lack of education from both parents and schools. People are affected by the society they live in, in Pakistan some kids have guns, alcohol,no education. While some kids in teh US have education, good morals and vice versa. Now coming to "abcd", its inferiority complex on teh part of the those who either dont make it to the US or west, or those who do make it but go thru millions of problems to settle. So I would suggest everyone should mind his/her business.
Anyway this is what I think.
Bye.

Guys:

There are always exceptions to the rule (in this case, there's no rule at all in first place). Generalization tends to be invalid when dealing with individual personalities. We can't treat everyone with the same yard stick. In other words, just because someone is borned here doesn't mean that person has to be labeled "Confused", in same manner, guys who have come from Pakistan are not necessarily insecure about their culture or their identity.

[This message has been edited by Imranz (edited June 05, 1999).]

Z69 and Imranz ji
how true
we do need more cool and level headed ppl like u in the world … :):):):slight_smile:
Z ji thats the point i strongly agree on that a persons personality is displayed from the way he has been raised and educated…not from the place he is from

plus i think the teenagers of karachi are pretty much more confused then us

http://www.pak.org/gupshup/frown.gif

:):slight_smile:

nadia

Does it really matter if they are more confused or not?

We live our lives...they live theirs.

KG ji
nope it doesnt matter what they think
personally i dont give a dime for what others think about me and u might have concluded that from my posts
but what i dont like is the fact that just cause u dont give into such demands ur automatically regarded as an ABCD .....noone has the right for labelling someone in such a manner

Nadia dearest…..when was being called an abcd a curse?
I'm an abcd and darn proud of it.

We can have the best of both worlds…east and west culturally and still be good Muslims. Besides...we are not in competition with anyone.
Don't ever allow anyone to let you feel otherwise.

Fata Morgana is the nicest FOB of all time!

Aap sab ka Fata Morgana °°smiles°° and kisses and ''laughs'' and "tears".

Thanks Nadia for giving me 3 smiling face rating!

You are right in not paying any heed to those ignorant. Secondly, abcd is just a way of taking out there complex that they suffer from. My suggestion to all those who are being regarded as ABCD is ignore the ignorant and look at the brighter side of things.
Bye
Zia

One thing I forgot to mention is that those who call others ABCD are actually deficient of many qualities such as poor communication skills, as such they feel like aliens!
Zia

KG, Zee69, and FATA ji

thats an interesting way of seeing things .......ok here goes

i am an abcd and darn proud of it :):):):)

gosh it felt cool :):)

You are getting what you are deserving nadia21. If you are kharab with shareef bhai from the Pakistan then they are right to call you abcd. If my webpage did not get delete by tripod then you could be seeing how kharab abcd ladki realy is.

That was a great thing you did nadia, I am sure you have got the load of your head now! :)
But one thing I would like to say at this point and that is there will always be people who will call others by different names and stuff, dont let this distract you or put you thru agony again now that you have settled this once and for all. Enjoy and have fun! leave others to roast!
bye
Zia

Zee ji

http://www.pak.org/gupshup/biggrin.gif

Muqaddir ji
i am living a very content life so i guess i am getting what i deserve :slight_smile: :slight_smile:
as for u you poor thing are getting the s*&?^(sorry kg i had to) that u deserve

[This message has been edited by kashmirigirl (edited June 09, 1999).]