a truely great player but wat sadens me the most is that i was too young to watch him and waqar at their peak :(
well now , another legend has gone for good. So does that mean that he leads others as well ..whom do u think will follow him?
Good decision.
I really didn't see any future for Wasim in the Pakistani team.
Waqar and Saeed should follow Wasim.
Anyways, there are alot of options open to him.
I think becoming our national team bowling coach would be a great job.
Thats if Javed and Wasim get along.
It’s sad that he’s going but he has done a lot, and I think enough. This reminds me of Sambrailian’s post which made him the Guppie of the Year 2003.
naheen ye naheen ho sakta
roko wasim ko roko someone stopppp himmmmmm
Don’t hold your breath for it. Its highly unlikely we’ll ever find anyone as good as Waseem. I mean even Sir Donald Bradman praised the guy. How do you replace someone like that.
Good decision by him .. but still kind of sad :( I think he was the only 'great' cricketer in our team. Saeed, inzi, waqar are all good players but wasim was simply the best player our side has seen in the last decade.
this is sad :(
hes a GREAT player!!!
they were showin all his test hattricks n his wickets in the WC 92 final on PTV today.....it was amazing!!!....his hat-trick in india!!!
hes really been outstanding
i hope saeed anwar doesn’t go at this stage of rebuilding process..cuz we havent found any opener like him .//so till we find any (GOD KNOWS WHEN) he should remain in the team..and i hope they take him on the tour to england…cuz we really need him now ..since wasim has also gone:teary1: ![]()
About time.
He wasn't only one of the greatest cricketers that Pakistan produced but one of the greatest in the world! As a bowler and all-rounder he was simply un-rivaled by any in his time.
In view of Akram announcing his retirement I thought that this thread should be revived in order that the guppies could read the tributes paid to this great man here a few months ago.
Wasim
Thank you for the 1992 world cup!!!
I'm in tears.I know he had to go but not like this.Fie upon the crikcet board specially Tauqir Zia ,histoiry won't forgive him.Wasim Akram eik hi tha , koi aur kabhi nahin paida ho sakey ga.He is the all time best, Shaan-e-Pakistan !!
Indeed a great Cricketter.Whole cricketing world will miss this legend.
I would rate him among 5 great players produced in Asia along with Imran,Sachin ,Murali and Gavaskar.
:k: :k:
I have said it lots of times and ill say it again and again.
This person is a and will stay a huge talent. For me one of the worlds cricket Legends. One has to admit, be Pakistani or not!
Well I think he really deserved a lot more at the WC 2002 but unfortunately...anyways wish HIM all the best for is life and all the best in future!!!
Wasim you are just brilliant to WATCH!
Nahi jaain Wasim bhai
He was by far the greatest cricket in history ![]()
The Game Responds:
*Cricket will never be the same again for me. I will go mourn now. People, That Is All.*
A lot have been said and could be said about Akram's brilliance. His domination with the ball was unmatched. He really made the ball do the talking for him. Well it is kind of hard to imagine Pakistan cricket team without him; I guess we just took him for granted. As for someone replacing him I doubt its going to happen. We have a lot of really good crickets coming up but nobody with the spark of Akram. A lot of people have said give the youngsters some time and they will show what they are capable of, but compared that to Akram, who didn’t take much time establishing himself. With no first class experience he just emerged on the world scene and somehow managed to stay on top till the time he retired.
I think it was a good decision, though I would have preferred if he had announced it right after the world cup before he was dropped from the Sharjah squad. Tauqir Zia has made a lot of blunders but this was a real big one. Well if he wanted to prepare a young team what was the point of giving the captaincy to Rashid Latif who also stated that he will retire after the world cup. Youhana could have been given captaincy and Kamran Akmal could have been included for him, if not than why drop Akram after having a better world cup then virtually every other Pakistani player. A lot could be said in that regard but the simple fact is Wasim was not coming back in the team as long as Mr. Zia is there as I think Wasim was paying the price of being close to Imran Khan who Zia despise so much.
In the end it was career full of milestones, one after another. Countless smiles brought to people's face by one of the all time greats. The famous six of off Richards to the swinging yorkers in Sharjah to the famous two deliveries of the 92' world cup to the super human performance in England after 92' world cup. Akram was always there for Pakistan. He will surely be missed and I hope we can utilize him in some way in our cricketing structure. I wish him all the best.
*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
A lot have been said and could be said about Akram's brilliance. His domination with the ball was unmatched. He really made the ball do the talking for him. Well it is kind of hard to imagine Pakistan cricket team without him; I guess we just took him for granted. As for someone replacing him I doubt its going to happen. We have a lot of really good crickets coming up but nobody with the spark of Akram. A lot of people have said give the youngsters some time and they will show what they are capable of, but compared that to Akram, who didn’t take much time establishing himself. With no first class experience he just emerged on the world scene and somehow managed to stay on top till the time he retired.
I think it was a good decision, though I would have preferred if he had announced it right after the world cup before he was dropped from the Sharjah squad. Tauqir Zia has made a lot of blunders but this was a real big one. Well if he wanted to prepare a young team what was the point of giving the captaincy to Rashid Latif who also stated that he will retire after the world cup. Youhana could have been given captaincy and Kamran Akmal could have been included for him, if not than why drop Akram after having a better world cup then virtually every other Pakistani player. A lot could be said in that regard but the simple fact is Wasim was not coming back in the team as long as Mr. Zia is there as I think Wasim was paying the price of being close to Imran Khan who Zia despise so much.
In the end it was career full of milestones, one after another. Countless smiles brought to people's face by one of the all time greats. The famous six of off Richards to the swinging yorkers in Sharjah to the famous two deliveries of the 92' world cup to the super human performance in England after 92' world cup. Akram was always there for Pakistan. He will surely be missed and I hope we can utilize him in some way in our cricketing structure. I wish him all the best.
Well said LM bhai !!!!!
being and Indian I can tell you despite being pakistani Wasim has enjoyed great respect and fan following in India much more then even many Indian players. he was so much respected by the even the enemy.This shows his greatnes.
Allah jannat naseeb kare.
Amin...
abey o aqal ke andhay wo mara nahi, RETIRE howa hai. kuch loog ![]()