40 Days

Re: 40 Days

Yeah because girls today don’t realize how easy it cud be for them to gain hasanat, and rewards, doing things Allah asks them to do..

instead..
sighs..

i don’t wanna sound “anti-feminist”..

so i’ll shutup now :rolleyes:

Yaar it happens. Because women don’t have periods for 9 months, during pregnancy. So its normal to have them for 40 days.

You don’t have knowledge about women. So what you can say?

AOA Wasim, Is it an illness or natural phase of women's life cycle?

Salamvalikum Bhai

If we look at the hadith in context wrt to intercourse it says(Natural Phase would be a completely differenct issue), Prophet Mohammed may peace and blessing of Allaah be upon him, and this is how I comprehended and I feel it quite simple.
Here the word illness, is analogous for weakness,(it does affect the men also as you read the words after that let them be purified) and thats how its the same with menstruation, i hope.

If we look at the topic of this hadith, it particular Sexual intercouse, during menses is haraam. If we read the complete hadith it clearly mentions anything other than intercourse.

I read the hadith regarding this in Sahih Bukhari topic that Prophet may peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him used to fondle with her wives at this time and asked them to cover them with the izar(dress worn below the waist).

More then me, I hope a woman could answer this question. **
**Do you feel weak during this period of time.

There is nothing offending in what I have questioned above above. Because its an authentic hadith, wrt to deen any question is permissible.

^thanx buddy. c u soon in meet.

subhanAllah...we were made to tolerate pain.

i thought chilla katna was one of those things people practicing black magic were apparently supposed to do.....a 40 day ritual spent in a graveyard in order to capture a jinn.

chilla=ANYTHING that is for 40 days non stop.

hahaha..........one is chilla with chay and hay.....other is chilla with only chay.

Sara,

Not all women bleed for the full 40 days, sometimes it only lasts for a few days, especially after a few pregnancies. The significance of waiting for 40 days before returning to your husband's bed figuratively is that it allows your body to recover from the stretching, tearing, etc. Even your doctor will tell you to wait 6 weeks before resuming relations. Once your bleeding stops, you will need to make ghusl and resume prayers. You are not prohibited from leaving your house or meeting with people, although common sense should keep you home for awhile :).

Amana, yes I know that sex was offlimits during that period. But I know people who cudnt wait that long..but is that totally forbidden to do it during those 40 days ?

What bugged me was that she's not allowed to go out or meet people or anything. It's one thing to NOT go out for ur own choice but another to be "forbidden" from it because it's "haram"

Well i didnt know that. I met up with my friends a few weeks later after having my little one.

where is it forbidden or haram

^ Well doctors advise against having sex for 6 weeks after delivery. In our culture, there’s that 40 days of rest as well. But I am not sure if it is totally forbidden (religious-wise) to have sex before those forty days are over or just looked down upon. Just like I’ve heard some say “gunna hota” for a woman to go outside or do anything in those 40 days so I have doubts abt this as well :halo: