3rd Test , India vs England @ Mumbai

Re: 3rd Test , India vs England @ Mumbai

Indian media has a habit of hype-ing up players prematurely...so I will take all this with a pinch of salt.

Personally, what I find interesting about the stories of Pathan, Munaf Patel and Abid Nabi is that these guys are all from very low-income families. In fact I was just reading that Munaf's family do not even own a TV so they could not watch much of Munaf's debut performance.

What this tells me is that inspite of all the ills and politics in our cricket system and the selection process - there is something good somewhere that allows people from such modest background to rise through the system and represent the national team.

Too lazy to open a new thread.
Some may be interested in the following video :
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7709606043130625697&q=australia+cricket

Aus vs Windies (Breath-taking performance by Ambrose)

Dead straight! :k:

Baree pitaiyaan shattayaan ho rahee hai aaj kul goron ki. Khairiat to hai? Kaam shaam theek jaa raha hai aapka? :smiley:

Isi khushi mein eik aur pitai qabool karein meri taraf sey. :smiley:

Some1, opened this thread with bang...
I agree with Harbhazan being rested. I still feel Chawla if inducted should be given another chance...
Others changes may not happen.
Whatever you may say Some1, at the end of the day it about runs and Sehwag scores those.......

Ladoo Sehwag can only score when theres no pressure...i knew if England got out cheaply, Sehwag wud have score 50+, if they didn't he wud have gone for 15 at the most. I say drop all players and replace them with punjabis then it'll be entertaining cricket.

No matter who India put in as a batsman they always score runs, just the opposite for Pakistan.

Like I have said before one should not rely on simple statistics to judge Sehwag. I would want to see how many times Sehwag performed to pull India out of a difficult situation or performed on an unfriendly pitch or batted the whole day to save India from a certain defeat.
Sehwag usually scores his runs in the first innings and normally after enjoying several reprieves. He has an abysmal second innings record.

What they didn't tell you about Sehwag :

Sehwag's overall batting average : 53.66
Sehwag's second innings batting average : 25.04

Sehwag's last 15 scores : 44, 14*, 76, 36, 20 ,0, 254, 31, 5, 4, 2 , 0 , 11, 76*
If this is not being inconsistent, what is ?

I would much rather have an opener who scores in this pattern :
30,40,65,120,30.....(decent contribution in each match)
rather than...
200, 0, 5, 150, 2, 3, 0, 5, 300 (score heavily in one match and nothing at all in the next three)

Bottom line : Batting averages do not tell the entire story .

they should play that fast bowler singh in place of chawla..cause chawla sucks...heard thhat singh is even faster than munaf

If first impressions were to decide the fate of any cricketer, dead or alive, then Agarkar would be the first one in line for the "Cricketer of the Year and future fast-bowling prospect of India" award.

bhai, i know you are the resident Indian pessimist and all, but you cannot possibly be serious in suggesting dropping Sehwag from the team.

at the end of the day, he is one of the most valuable batsmen in the world, let alone the Indian side. which currently sidelined Indian batsmen could you possibly see coming in as an UPGRADE to Sehwag? there are few upgrades from Sehwag in all of world cricket…forget about Ranji players.

i just don’t follow…unless i am missing something entirely.

I think his innerself wants to see Ganguly back :D

You are right, Sehwag of today is what Tendulkar was like 3-4 years ago, crucial part of team, can't do without.

pessimism is often a healthy counterweight.

though i would admit Some1 bhai puts a few too many grins on the faces of our Pakistani brothers than i might like…but he also has high Cricket IQ, so I don’t doubt him too often.

Since you think I have a good Cricket IQ.....I hope you believe me when I say that Sehwag's days as a Test opener is numbered regardless of whether or not you agree with my opinion about him. He may not be dropped tomorrow but it is only a matter of time.

In fact, I have a feeling that secretly Chappel also does not have a very high opinion of Sehwag as a test opener. When Laxman(instead of Sehwag) opened with Dravid in the first innings(closing hours of the first day) of the Karachi Test, I was convinced that the Indian team mgmt themselves did not have enough confidence in Sehwag to survive till the end of the day so they sent Laxman instead. Any sane person can tell that Sehwag is extremely unreliable and basically a hit-or-miss player. Before he scored that painstaking 76 in the last test , already some murmurs had started in the media about his spot in the team.

ps> Just to be clear, I do not hate Sehwag the way I abhor Agarkar or Ganguly. I like Sehwag just like Pakistanis like Afridi. But just as Afridi is not regular Test Opener material , so is Sehwag. Now you may say that Afridi and Sehwag are different...possibly they are...but in the context of not having the classic Test Opener temperament - they are the same.

if not temperament, then to what do we attribute Sehwag’s long list of huge scores (requiring a batsman to last) in test cricket…a triple-ton, a few of double-tons, and a bunch of centuries above the 150 run mark. A few dropped catches here and there cannot produce this kind of resume, and neither can pure sloggers (like Afridi).

i would come to the same conclusion as you just by watching him, but his record is there for all to see. sure, he has consistency issues…but any alternative will have the same constistency issues, but without the devastation and without the big scores. What talent pool are we talking about here? I am probably much less informed about the domestic players and potentials than you, so please relate any batting prospects that you know of.

either way, i think Sehwag’s star power has secured him a spot for much longer than his cricketing abilities warrant. though again, i think he is currently far from that point.

I will make this clear again - I do not hate Sehwag as much as I probably appear to from my posts above.
I am only saying he neither has the temperament nor the technique to be a Test Opener.
Now as for - then how come he has scored those triple centuries and double centuries ? That is indeed a valid question. Let us examine this in greater detail :
His triple century was scored in Multan(not exactly a bowler's wicket) and after getting half a dozen reprieves. His latest double century was scored in Lahore recently and we know how conditions were there. As I have said before - most of his high scores has come in the first innings on batsman friendly pitches. I do not remember a single instance when he was holding the fort while other batsmen were falling around him.

Anyways, I suggest you watch his batting closely if you haven't lately. Does he look like a batsman you will put your money on to survive for too long on a difficult pitch against a top quality bowling side. He just can't resist flashing at anything outside off. Already the bowlers seem to have figured out his weakness against short rising deliveries. Ntini said as much in an interview I read recently. His last innings of 76 was a fine demonstration of his abilities as a batsman(or the lack of it). I lost count of how many times he narrowly missed edging the ball to the keeper. In one instance he was Plumb LBW - not given by the Umpire. Regardless the next day's headlines - "Sehwag powers India to 9 wickets victory".

If, at the start of the game, I had the choice to bet on Sehwag or Jaffer to survive for one hour, I would bet on Jaffer...and you probably would do the same. Why do you think so ? Hasn't Sehwag scored those triple centuries and double centuries you mentioned.

I don't think I have convinced you. You are of course entitled to your opinion, but please don't go by statistics alone. Agarkar had great statistics when he first burst into the scene though he always looked like an ordinary bowler to me. Statistics do not tell the whole story.

Some1,
The question is whom are u going to replace him with. Kaif. He never opened even in one day. SS Das ur prodigy, he was a joke. Gambhir, he is a clone of Sehwag himself, but less devastating.
Sehwag has still high average in matches which India won.. close to his overall average.
Why are u worried about his second innings. What is truth is when Sehwag scores india ends up with a huge total, and there is more chances of India winning.

Lets face it, Sehwag is a force to reckon with...
I seriously don't think he has that much of a technique problem as much as of a temperament problem...
You know what am trying to say is, You can teach a bird not to dance when it rains... But when it actually rains, saala mor to nachega hi....
Similar with sehwag, He will play his game , no matter what. I dont think he's an ideal opener, but at the same time India doesnt have much options in opening... VVS laxman is fabulous, but he cant face the new ball, ditto with yuvraj... Kaif.. I think he is grossly under-rated, He is a fantastic batsman and an asset in the field, but I doubt with such little experince whether he can hold fort at such an important position.
Rahul Dravid is the Best No.3 batsman in the world so I wouldnt want to see him opening.
Jaffer looks solid and patient.
All we are left with is Sehwag, and we all know, the day his bat does the talking, the match's fate is done and over within a day or two...

So though he may not be ideal but he sure is the best opener available as of now, until unless Kiran More is drunk again when he goes to the selection meeting ...

LOl :)

Cheers

And Viru is humble too

When N.A. Sharma, a coach at a government-sponsored cricket center on the outskirts of the Indian capital of New Delhi, first met Virender Sehwag, he found little that impressed him. Sehwag was a 13-year-old local boy, son of a grain hawker, who lived in a house stuffed with siblings, uncles, aunts and 16 cousins. He had no dazzling skills—but was desperate to learn. Sharma was bowling to Sehwag one afternoon when dusk fell, and the coach suggested they call it a day. Sehwag refused: he wanted to perfect his stroke. "The other boys were sitting on the side gossiping," Sharma recalls, "but here was Sehwag, still batting. From that day onward, I told the other boys: 'Virender is going to play big cricket.'"
Cricket is India's national passion; Sehwag its latest object of hope and adoration. As a batsman, the 24-year-old is aggressive, graceful and, when he's on his game, outright dazzling. In a one-day match against New Zealand in 2001, he hit 100 runs off 69 balls—the second-fastest century by an Indian in history. The most striking feature of his batting is the ease with which he dispatches balls all around the wicket—the sign of a natural shotmaker. That talent is obvious to all Indians, including teammate and legend, Sachin Tendulkar, whom Sehwag idolizes and imitates.
To India's impoverished youth, Sehwag is the man of clay astride the mountain of the gods. Most of India's cricket heroes have come from affluent or middle-class backgrounds, gone to private schools and learned English and other gentlemanly ways. Sehwag was lucky his parents could afford the $3 a month for cricket training. His family didn't have high hopes: his grandmother used to call him bholi, an endearment for a good-natured simpleton. That simpleton is now a jet-setter. Invited into the cockpit of a jumbo jet on a recent flight from New Delhi to Bombay, Sehwag gazed at the gleaming dials and the skyline of Bombay coming into view and whispered: "If I wasn't a cricketer, I would never have been able to see this."
Between matches, Sehwag makes thousands of dollars a day shooting advertisements for multinational brands, including Coca-Cola, Samsung and Johnson & Johnson. The first sports jacket he ever donned was the blue blazer of the national cricket team. Today, Sehwag is a pitchman for Mayur Suitings, a giant textile manufacturer, and he owns a closet full of tailored suits. During a recent photo shoot in New Delhi for Mayur's catalogue Sehwag poses in two dozen outfits, and the photographer goes through a bagful of film, but the cricketer is ever cool, raising his eyes to the camera as if he's staring down a bowler on the pitch. "He's so sweet," coos the makeup artist.
Sehwag plans to trade in his Honda City for a red Mercedes convertible and buy his family a $500,000 home in New Delhi's posh Defence Colony. But he doesn't hide the apron strings endearingly attached to his cricketer's blazer. Sehwag calls his mother after every match, a habit memorialized in a cell-phone advertisement run on Indian television during the recent International Cricket Council's 2003 World Cup. He wears a gold Shiva medallion bought by her "for safety," he says, and his favorite dessert is still her homemade custard. Does his mother worry that her famous son will get caught up in the vacuous swirl of India's élite? "No," she says, sipping tea in her living room, a wall of Sehwag's trophies looming behind her. "He will marry a simple, homely girl who gives respect to his family."
Occasionally, Sehwag goes back to his old neighborhood of Najafgarh on the outskirts of New Delhi, distributes some pocket money to the local boys, instructs them in square cuts and backfoot punches, and lets them in on the key to his success. "I didn't have any connections," he lectures. "I just worked hard and played well. If you are talented, you will definitely get a chance." On a recent afternoon in Najafgarh, school has let out, and on both sides of a dusty, pot-holed road, boys in gray slacks and frayed navy-blue sweaters are running past piles of discarded tires and skipping over spiny-haired pigs. They're playing cricket, of course, and for these prepubescents hoping to find a way out of hardscrabble lives, there is only one role model. "Sehwag played on this spot," says scrawny 12-year-old Deepak, tapping his bat on the uneven dirt wicket. "If Virender Sehwag can make it from here," he says, "so can I."