2nd Test: Pakistan v South Africa at Abu Dhabi - Nov 20-24, 2010

Re: 2nd Test: Pakistan v South Africa at Abu Dhabi - Nov 20-24, 2010

Please dont forget, it was dead pitch. How many south african wickets fell in two tests? Compared it to the tests where batting collapsed and Pakistan lost.

yeah I guess he did prove many of us wrong…

Lets see how he fares in NZ against Kiwis…they will be looking to have a face save after getting thrashed by India…

Disagree. Not just the pitches but Pakistan's test bowling is definitely weakened by the absence of Aamer and Asif. Had both been available (they only have themselves to blame...), SA's story would have been different and we might have even seen a different result. Steyn is way over-rated in my opinion. He is a bit like Lee i.e. he has pace but does not swing the ball like Waqar, Wasim, Pollock, Donald or McGrath

Yeah ur right ....he is no where near even in class of Lee and Akhtar

Waqar Donal Mcgrath r just way too ahead of him

yum yum

another ladoo fan? :D

jub tak Pakistan main theeey laddo ki koi izzat nahi thee. I guess i did not eat ladoo in my last 4-5 years I was in Pakistan but once moved to US, laddo became so precious. To be frank, laddos in US and Canada are way better than the ones in Pakistan. May be because of less sugar? :konfused:

actually cuz they miss a key ingredient…

:fatee:

:eek:

:sadaf:

I guess then u never ate Jalandhar ke Moti choor ke lado :yummy:

Even Asif and Amir would not have been able to do much on this wicket, i doubt even with them we could bowl them out twice on these placid wickets. Both rely on seam and swing, which wasnt there.

I havent seen steyn a lot in tests, so cant say where he stands in comparison to Mcgrath, Wasim, Waqar but he bowled well in these conditions. He beat the beat, bowled good short balls.

as expected, Kallis has criticized pitch. I wonder how Aus was able to get result out on the same pitch ....

^^ That's crap from Kalis...yes the pitch was not lively..but then since he stated "We had them under pressure all through the series except few sessions where we were not so good" then why could saffie chockers not pull off a win....
don't they claim to have a world class bowler in Steyn...who is sooo great....

The reason Saffies could not make more out of the pitch is because they are weak and are CHOKERS at the core...no matter how good they perform in other depts...
Smith is a dork at leadership who lacks the cutting edge mentality of a winning captain...
That is the real reason why Mr. Kallis is that your side did not pull it off....Full stop.

Pakistan :jhanda:

From what I have seen of Steyn, he does not swing the ball much. You need to be able to swing esp. reverse swing the ball to succeed on lifeless tracks and I have n't seen much of that from Steyn

The real test of a great fast bowler (cf. pacy bouncy tracks for a great batsman) is on flat tracks and on such pitches, Steyn is no more effective than another decent bowler with less pace

Hence among his contemporaries, I rate Malcolm Marshall, Imran Khan and Michael Holding above Lillee and Hadlee because the former were equally effective on pacy tracks and slow unhelpful sub-continental pitches. Infact both Lillee and Hadlee deliberately avoided touring India and Pakistan

And to add the ability to swing or reverse swing the ball thru the air is independent of the pitch. Weather conditions such as overcast, breezy conditions however do help swing bowling

thanday ho, aur :chai: peo

Wow…humey bhi khilao… :smiley:

*Aaj kal Pakistan mein cheeni bohot mehngi ho gai hai…wahan per bhi luddo pheekay hi miltey hongay… :smiley:

H/L

http://www.cricketonlinetv.com/day-5-pakistan-vs-south-africa-2nd-test-2010/

Misbah’s fighting knock is special given that Pakistan lost three batsmen on the same score (66). Anything could have happened then. We know too well how collapsable our batting is. So in the context of saving the game and the series, it was significant

Then I saw D6chora shooting around and spraying bullets, Mai sumjha kay shayad decent ki phir say shaadi ho rahi , khushi mai hawai firing ker raha hai, LEKIN !

Yeh kia match to draw ho gaya, ! Satyanass :smack:

Happy 5 Points Pakistan :jhanda: