2nd Test - Lahore Apr 5 - 9

Pakistan win second Test to level India series](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040408/3/34fs.html)

LAHORE, Pakistan (AFP) - Pakistan demolished India by nine wickets in the second Test here to level the historic three-match series at 1-1.

The Indians, trailing by 202 runs on the first innings, were bowled out for 241 in their second innings just before lunch on the fourth day at the Gaddafi stadium here on Thursday.

Pakistan, set a modest target of 40, lost opener Imran Farhat for nine before Taufiq Umer and Yasir Hameed guided the hosts home to an emphatic victory 25 minutes after lunch.

The decisive final Test begins in Rawalpindi on Tuesday for which India’s regular captain Sourav Ganguly will be back after missing the first two matches due to a back injury.

India, on their first full tour of Pakistan since 1989, had won the first Test at Multan by an innings and 52 runs last week.

But the tourists’ acclaimed batting line-up mustered only 287 and 241 here on the greenish wicket, while Pakistan scored 489 in their first innings.

This was the fourth time in the last three years - after Zimbabwe, the West Indies and Australia - that India had allowed the opposition to bounce back after taking the lead in an overseas series.

“Pakistan played better than us and deserved to win this Test, but we are very excited at the prospect of playing the decider in Rawalpindi,” said India’s stand-in captain Rahul Dravid.

“We should have batted better in this match, but at least we fought till the end which is a good sign.”

Pakistan skipper Inzamam-ul Haq said the criticism from fans and the media before the match had made his team determined to fight back.

“There was a lot of pressure on us, but we were not worried because my team was good enough to win,” he said.

“We played to our potential in this game and won. I hope we can continue like this at Rawalpindi too.”

India, who started the fourth day at 149-5, were saved the blushes by young wicket-keeper Parthiv Patel, who hit a defiant 62 not out.

Virender Sehwag, India’s last recognised batsman at the crease, added four runs to his overnight score of 86 when he was caught behind edging a slash off Shoaib Akhtar.

Patel, who had added 55 runs for the sixth wicket with Sehwag, put on 75 for the eighth with Ajit Agarkar (36) to save India the embarrassment of an innings defeat.

Akhtar finished with 3-62, his best bowling performance in the series so far.

Leg-spinner Danish Kaneria, who claimed three of the five wickets to fall this morning, returned with 3-14 from 6.4 overs.

Akhtar struck twice in his fourth over of the day when he dismissed Sehwag and Irfan Pathan in the space of five deliveries.

Sehwag, who hit an epic 309 in the first Test, hit 14 boundaries during his 145-minute resistance against the inspired Pakistan attack.

Pathan survived four balls before he was caught off Akhtar’s rising delivery for zero to leave India at 160-7.

Agarkar hit Umer Gul to the cover boundary to help India avert the innings defeat.

Agarkar then launched an attack on Kaneria, hitting him for two boundaries before the leg-spinner spun one sharply to have him caught in the slips.

Patel hit Mohammad Sami for two consecutive boundaries to equal his previous best of 62 against Australia at Sydney last year, but at the other end Kaneria claimed Anil Kumble, stumped by wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal.

Kaneria wrapped up the innings by trapping last man Laxmipathy Balaji leg-before just before the lunch break.

did u guys see danish’s interview at the end of the game…

i aint gonan say anythin about his english or accent.. but the way he was speaking seems like he was nervous… he was literally shaking… he was saying few words and then dean jones were helping him finish the words.. but still he was thinking and then sayin it… but that was funny…

dean jones bhi na.. ksii ko bhi nahi chorta.. he also cought taufeeq umar and yasir hameed in the end :smack:

i really like this guy.. he is funny.. a very good supporter for pakistani batsman.. :k:

though he was stutering his english was or rahter the intended english was better than most pakistanis :stuck_out_tongue:

any ways weldone to pak chadis off as usual :stuck_out_tongue:

oh yea 100.8 mph yet again :dixsi: :jhanda:

talking about jones did u see his summer shirt lol the slater was making fun

err man..keep it clean! :disgust:

however bad his english sucked, he can never top u

cb u soar loosing rat :stuck_out_tongue: stop being so gangulish :wink:

well done Pak team. on to the next match now.

Kaneria’s stuttering interview was a highlight for me. He was mumbling with the words locked in his throat then sentences would spill out all at once accompanied by wild-eyed expressions like someone had poked a gun in his back. Great stuff :k:

Unless you yourself stutter or know a family member that stutters you will never appreciate the struggle. My wife is a speech pathologist and deals with people like this everyday. You should thank your blessings that you or your children don't stutter and don't make fun of something people have no control over. Shame shame.

O baley baley baley

:bhangra: :bhangra: :bhangra:

Great stuff from Pakistanis. They nailed India down just like india did in Multan. Pakistan returned the favor with interest as they wrapped up the game on 4th day :slight_smile:

Danish Kaneria's mulaakaat with Indian reporter Faisal Shariff:

Home > Cricket > India's tour of Pakistan > Interview

The Rediff Cricket Interview/Danish Kaneria

Faisal Shariff | April 06, 2004

"The house with the toran [streamer] is mine," said the voice at the other end of the telephone, issuing directions.

It is not often that you find torans adorning doors in Pakistan, I thought as I drove through Frere Town in the posh Clifton area of Karachi. But, then, it is not often that a non-Muslim plays for Pakistan.

The yellow Suzuki cab turned into Chaudhary Khaliquzzaman Road, and enquiries about its most celebrated son drew blank faces.

Danish Kaneria is special talent with a unique identity. A young leg-spinner of immense promise, he is a Hindu who is proud to be a Pakistani. His Test debut in 2000 against England, in what was Pakistani legend Wasim Akram's hundredth Test, was followed by constant exclusions from the team and comebacks to it.

He is a Khatri Rajput and only the second Hindu to represent Pakistan in Test cricket. His maternal uncle, Anil Dalpat, was the first.

After several requests for directions, I arrived at Rimpa Sunbeam Apartments as a 6' 1" silhouette waved out from the balcony.

It's a typical Gujarati setting as I step into Kaneria's living room: bright blue sofas with matching curtains, a huge television set and a photograph of him and Aussie leg spinner Shane Warne.

Kaneria got married on February 15, the same day as VVS Laxman. The video recording of his wedding is playing with Hindi film songs in the background. It appeared like any other Indian wedding video. Zari-clad women, loud décor and the traditional festivity were all there. In a way, it felt like home.

A plate of chocolate pastries and cola were on the table the moment I settled down on the sofa. The obvious question finds its way out of me.

"How is it for a Hindu in Pakistan?" I asked.

My question is turned around, and Kaneria asks me how I feel as a Muslim in India.

'Normal,' I reply.

"I don't ever think about my identity. I am a Pakistani and my religion cannot change that. My religion teaches me to first respect my motherland and then my religion," affirms Kaneria.

"When I took my first Test wicket, main sajde mein gaya Pakistanma ke [When I took my first Test wicket, I bowed in front of my motherland]," he adds.

For Kaneria, country comes before religion; before faith. But India does hold a special place in his heart.

"Like Muslims look at Mecca, I look towards India as my sacred land. I hope I can visit that place someday.

"We might be in Pakistan but that does not stop us from celebrating our marriages, our festivals. During Diwali, it's a blast. We burst crackers well past midnight; Holi is one of the most widely celebrated festivals in Karachi," he says.

His mother, Babita, hopes to visit the Sai Baba temple in Shirdi, Maharashtra, and is planning to travel with her son when he visits India next year.

Kaneria was introduced to cricket by his Parsee uncle, Kawas Mulla, when he was eight years old. Then a chubby, short kid, he grew up watching legendary Pakistan spinner Abdul Qadir, but decided against replicating his action.

"I had a natural action and I was very comfortable with it. You can learn from someone else but you should not copy the style," he says, adding he was supported by the local media in Karachi which campaigned for him and saw his name being discussed for selection to the national squad.

Three weeks later, back in the Pakistan Test squad, in place of Saqlain Mushtaq, he realizes the onus is on him to perform and grab the latest chance that's come his way.

And he is optimistic.

"If you look closely, Shane Warne did not pick too many wickets till his first 15 Tests. Also, Muralitharan took a long time to get five-wicket hauls. Perform karenge, aur who bhi consistently *," he says.

As soon as the Rawalpindi Test ends, Kaneria will be on his way to England to play for Essex for six months.

"With confidence and time I will mature into a better bowler than I am," he promises despite a tough opening day in the Lahore Test on a wicket tailor-made for pace bowlers.

A good showing against the Indian batsmen, the best players of spin bowling, could prove to be meteoric for Kaneria's career.

Danish didn't stutter very much during test when he took some valuable wickets!*

*Originally posted by TUMS: *
Unless you yourself stutter or know a family member that stutters you will never appreciate the struggle. My wife is a speech pathologist and deals with people like this everyday. You should thank your blessings that you or your children don't stutter and don't make fun of something people have no control over. Shame shame.

huh.. who is making funn about his talk.. noone... i was just saying that IMO he was shaking while speaking..may be he is either too excited or too nervous.. i didnt knwo that he stuter... even if i would have known..i would still not laugh becuuse he cant talk like us... jeeeeez.... we arent that bad who would make fun of our own players just because they dun talk good....u and ur wife probably have enough experiance witht hose people.. but it was something very unusual to me...

Why assume anyone is making fun of Danish's stuttering? What's wrong if he stutters? We like him just the way he is so relax dude.

Congratulations to the Pakistani team and their fans. They were the better team. :k:

Matsui, take this cordial stuff and shove it in Multan. We were not only the better team but we ARE the better team. See you in Pindi. :k:

Funguy, be careful what you wish for. You already lost the cup, if you lose in pindi, you might lose what the cup protects. :hehe:

Remember Parthiv Patel this morning? The cup saga?. You could be next. And I don't think you have a cup.

Fungi, I maynot have the cup, but you don't have what the cup protects. jaa..nawab keh peechay kHaRay hokay panKha maar. :)

Congrats. to Pak.
Seems like much tauted pak bowling is back. We wil have a great battle (i hope) in pindi. How is pindi track ? Pak. cricket experts, please comment.:k:

*Originally posted by Matsui: *
jaa..nawab keh peechay kHaRay hokay panKha maar. :)

Seedha seedha bol yaar kay aaa mere peechay khaRRa ker.

haan usay angoor bhi khiladay! :hehe: