2nd Test - Lahore Apr 5 - 9

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

FG,
Batting fourth on this wicket wont be tough. Wicket will ease out with passage of time. Match will totally depends on how Pakistan bats on 2nd day. If they manage to get a lead of 150-200 then It is all over for Indians. But if lead ls around 100 then Indian batsmen can bring India back in game. Whatever this may be. we are going to have one cracking game in hand .Pendulam will keep swinging both way for rest of the match unlike the first test which was one sided.

For pak to be ahead by 150-200 runs, they will have to bat at least till middle of the 3rd day or longer. If they try to get there sooner, they may endup getting all out. That leaves less than 1 1/2 days for the second inning on what is most likey to be a placid wicket. Unless the Indians fold dramatically, the result is a draw.
But cricket is a funny game.

^^
Sorry for splitting this reply.
If pakistan manages to lead say 75-100 by end of the day tommorow and declares then they have a shot at winning if they can bowl India out for around 350. This will give them about 250 to chase in a less than a day, which is possible.

*Originally posted by desinum1: *

For pak to be ahead by 150-200 runs, they will have to bat at least till middle of the 3rd day or longer. If they try to get there sooner, they may endup getting all out. That leaves less than 1 1/2 days for the second inning on what is most likey to be a placid wicket. Unless the Indians fold dramatically, the result is a draw.
But cricket is a funny game.

well lead of 150 means..Pak needs to score 440 runs.They have already scored 61 .so They need to score 380 more. Which they can do it ideally in 4 session(95 rusn per session). But to be on negatgive side lets say 5 session. Which means by Team time on 3rd day. Thet still leaves Indian to bat 2 days and one session. Its very rare to see any team bad that much in 2nd inning.

I think result is a must in this match.There is no chance of draw.

if Pakistan can take a lead of like 100 odd runs of prolly 200----
inshAllah the game is in our hands:jhanda:

Where are the Pakistani crowds? I thought they were cricket lovers. They seem to flock to ODIs but not test matches. Whats gone wrong here? Need serious explanations :confused:

I think scoring 380 in one day is a big task for Pakistan. Remember, even with sehwag going on the 1st day in the 1st match india could not get 380-400. 1 or 2 quick wickets (sp. Inzi) and they will be lucky to get 300 in the entire day.
If pitch plays fair, then indians can easily draw it. any decration around lunch on 3rd day will not bear any result except draw. Except for Gul , Pak bowlers were not impressive. A couple of indian top order got out fishing rather then good bowling by Gul.
Any case, we will know in couple of days.
This brings up another question. What did inspire dravid to bat on what was drummed up to be a seaming track?

What did inspire dravid to bat on what was drummed up to be a seaming track?

One word: "Inzamam"

This ability of Indian cricket team of some hero emerging in a crisis situation...some not so superstar raising his hand and taking on the battle...the Balajis, the Sehwags, the Yuvrajs, the Pathans...how so beautiful to see a cricket team where there are so many stars...the real superstars. Hats off to Indians for having a fighting spirit.

:konfused:
I think CBM thing is going too far. Fist Inzi tried to be nice, now Dravid.

exactly. “pehle aap” “nahi, pehle aap” etc.

^ :hehe:

Are yaar :smack: Who is asking them to score 380 in 1 day.

So if there is declaration on 3rd day lunch you think Indian can bet for 2.5 days. Dont overestimate us Indians .It is flattering.

Let us wait and see.
I think India is capable of playing almost 2 days on what will be a batsman friendly track in coming day. Which may not give pak enough time to chase. But you do have a point about 150-200 lead, this can put lot of pressure on india.

Let us wait and see.
I think India is capable of playing almost 2 days on what will be a batsman friendly track in coming day. Which may not give pak enough time to chase. But you do have a point about 150-200 lead, this can put lot of pressure on india.

Once a team is batting 2nd with a deficit of 150 runs ,believe me..it looks like opposition has 12 players.

Does any one know where I can watch highlights of the 1st day? I checked Pakistan vision, but no good.

http://www.skysports.com/skysports/cricket

:sunny:

spend less than $5 - and watch the highlights of any Sports!

Let us wait and see.
I think India is capable of playing almost 2 days on what will be a batsman friendly track in coming day.

not india, vvs laxman and dravid only. and since we all know that vvs can bat only against Australia, rest assured that team india can bat at max for 3-4 sessions 2nd innings.

I believe putting up a big score like 400-450 will be a huge score for Pakistan. But can the team get to that point? I don't know, we are missing Abdul Razzaq and Moin Khan. And have brought in 2 very inexperienced players. It will depend on the top order batsmen. If they can get upto 300 and still have Asim Kamal, Kamran Akmal then i think we have a solid chance of putting up a big score. Otherewise i think its gonna be toy gh. I think Imran Farhat is going to be Mehmaan for only a few minutes and not sure if Yasir Hameed was in form either. Luckily its a new day and these guys can hang on until 150-200runs.

*Originally posted by Zoab_Khan: *
I believe putting up a big score like 400-450 will be a huge score for Pakistan. But can the team get to that point? I don't know, we are missing Abdul Razzaq and Moin Khan. And have brought in 2 very inexperienced players. It will depend on the top order batsmen. If they can get upto 300 and still have Asim Kamal, Kamran Akmal then i think we have a solid chance of putting up a big score. Otherewise i think its gonna be toy gh. I think Imran Farhat is going to be Mehmaan for only a few minutes and not sure if Yasir Hameed was in form either. Luckily its a new day and these guys can hang on until 150-200runs.

Why there is so much non-confidane in new comers. I saw same kinda message for Umar Gul but he did pretty dman good. I am sure Asim and kamran will do good too.

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *

Why there is so much non-confidane in new comers. I saw same kinda message for Umar Gul but he did pretty dman good. I am sure Asim and kamran will do good too.

please take a look at our performance at first test. Then you can see why we don't have any confidence in them.