1st Test , West Indies vs India, Antigua, 2nd June

Re: 1st Test , West Indies vs India, Antigua, 2nd June

India as usual lacks the killer instinct.
Greg Chappel is turning out to be a retarded one-day coach. Not playing Pathan and Harbhajan in tests is an unforgiven sin. You need to take 20 wickets to win a test. You ain't gonna take it with VRVs.

^ Well, they took 19.9 wickets after all, so Chappal may still claim it was worth the risk. I do agree that not playing his most experienced bowlers was stupid.

I think it was a great test in every sense of the word. This test symbolizes cricket and why cricket is so different from any other sport. Imagine playing for 5 days and then claim it was a great match because the game is drawn. Duh! Who will understand that except a true cricket fan. :)

To all the buzurgaan-e-deens and alim-e-ulooms, if India had given West Indies full ten (10) overs to bat yesterday instead of the last five (which came about in the final stages of that disastrous Lara's field incident as one sensed Dravid wanted to bat until the end of the day), the conclusion of the match would have been tipped in India's favor and they would have clinched it an over or two early.

once again, the nailbiting nature of these windies matches, whether test or odi, makes the losses and draws (when in winning position) that much more difficult to stomach.

like somebody else said, much needed killer instinct is currently absent in the side.

^well said. all in all, it was a treat to watch. i really thought that this match was going to be one big drag till the end as the procedings were slow. dhoni started it i think from the minute he came on the field and since then the match like totally spun on its head.
i however dont agree with a couple of posts where the claim has been that wi had the moral advantage. i dont think saving the game necessarily (in this situation where 1 more over or 2 and the the game was set pretty much) gives wi advantage over india. wi were better than india in first innings but from there india really picked up its game.
i do agree that bhajji and pathan were missing but more than that, one guy who was missing was agarkar (here come the jutis flying in my direction!!!).
with that said i thought it was a real good effort from india with the ball. getting a team out in one day is a little tough but unfortunately for india close wasent close enough!.

India never was nor it ever will be a great Test side. If you look at the great test teams of the past and present, they all had a match winner bowler - Australia have had many in Lillee, McGrath, and Warne; Pakistan had Imran Khan, Abdul Qadir, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis and Shoaib Akhtar; England had Botham; West Indies had plenty in Garner, Roberts, Holding, Marshal, Walsh, and Ambrose; Sri Lanka have Muralitharan. Who do India have? Kumble? Sure if it's Dehli and Jayaprakash is umpiring but let's face it he has not run through oppositions abroad.

I am not talking about good quality bowlers. I mean bowlers who can run through a side in two sessions.

:hoonh:

India's abysmal overseas record in tests continues.

Excellent match yaar. I left the match at around 150-3 and thought ‘oh well, its a draw’

subha utha tu kahani hee kuch aur thi. Must have been a great finale and kudos to India for fighting back in this match splendidly. :k:

One thing I'm happy about is that finally we are getting close matches in the Caribbean, NOT because of their umpires but because of good cricket :D

:smiley: inshAllah all india will regret it it would have been an easy win for indian if irfan pathan was there