Re: 1st ODI: Bangladesh v Pakistan at Dhaka Dec 1, 2011 (13:30 local | 07:30 GMT | 12
Hat-trick of 4’s Afridi
[TABLE=“class: commsTable”]
Shakib Al Hasan to Shahid Afridi, FOUR
Shakib Al Hasan to Shahid Afridi, FOUR, pitched up again, and another boundary, skips away beyond leg and thumps it wide of mid-on for four more, it down to nine needed now
Shakib Al Hasan to Shahid Afridi, FOUR, more of the Afridi we know and love, a pitched up delivery is driven inside-out and over cover for a boundary, Shakib closes his eyes in despair
Re: 1st ODI: Bangladesh v Pakistan at Dhaka Dec 1, 2011 (13:30 local | 07:30 GMT | 12
From cricinfo …
[TABLE=“class: commsTable”]
Hunbbel Meer: “That’s one for my Grandsons: ‘Sons, I saw that match, when a miracle happened. Afridi was involved in arresting a collapse.’”
Shakib Al Hasan to Shahid Afridi, FOUR, it's over Afridi gets a thick outside edge past slip to complete the win, it's Pakistan's 20th successive win over Bangladesh. Slightly bizarre fact: The only player to hit a** six in this match is Misbah **
It was yet again afridi's match. he excelled where our so called Inzi and Moyo copies failed again.
Agree, Sarfraz at 4 was a bad idea...This is not the first time Mohsin is favoring a player from his city and sending him up the order to justify his selection to the people who can possibly question mohsin as selector.
Nikema bhai ... aap bhi!!
bhai, mujhely tou Aik second main pata chal geya thaa key Ehsan Bhai kiss wave length sey broadcast kar rahey they.......:D :D :D Aur Kis kaa response chahtey they...App tou EvaaainEy beech main Aaa Gaey. :D
Meyra KK Establishment sey wohi rishta hey Jou IK kaa NS/Zardari sey! :D :D
Any way what is your view on Malik's selection. He has not played a single knock of any substance since his comeback.
I believe that with guys like Hafeez, Asad, Umar Akmal & Afridi around, Malik is not really needed in any format (test or ODI)
Malik's form has been pathetic, got one very good ball against SL leggie but he should have done better than that in rest of the games. To me now (unless he gets to play at top 3 in ODI, which is where he has mostly performed in his career as batsman) he doesn't deserve to be in team.
Above is my opinion based on his last few international games.
Now why he has performed this badly, aside from his bad batting form I have more opinion about it but that I will refrain because its a separate topic as I think you only asked me about what my opinion is on his recent performance.
Malik's form has been pathetic, got one very good ball against SL leggie but he should have done better than that in rest of the games. To me now (unless he gets to play at top 3 in ODI, which is where he has mostly performed in his career as batsman) he doesn't deserve to be in team.
Above is my opinion based on his last few international games.
Now why he has performed this badly, aside from his bad batting form I have more opinion about it but that I will refrain because its a separate topic as I think you only asked me about what my opinion is on his recent performance.
Agree, Malik should bat higher or be replaced by Razzaq when he's fit (Lately Razzaq himself has not been in the best of forms either!!)
On present form Razzaq w'd be a safer bet than Malik. True his bowling has lost it's bite at the international level but Razzaq would atleast contribute something with the bat
Bangali umpiring is as *fuzul *as their batting...What is the point of playing such a weak team? This won't help Pakistani team...this tour seems to be a boring waste of time.
Congratz to fridi by the way and the team...yeah Misbah is good but this is like playing a club team..
cricinfo :cobra:
Smart stats
Bangladesh’s total of 91 is their 13th score under 100 in ODIs. It is also their second-lowest total against Pakistan and fifth-lowest in Dhaka.
Bangladesh have now gone past Zimbabwe to become the ODI team with the most scores below 100. They now have 13 scores under 100 followed by Zimbabwe, who have 12. Pakistan and Sri Lanka are joint-third with eight such scores.
Bangladesh fell for their third sub-100 total against Pakistan. Only Zimbabwe have been dismissed under 100 more often by a particular team (Sri Lanka).
Shahid Afridi’s five-wicket haul is his 7th in ODIs and moves him second behind Waqar Younis among Pakistani bowlers with the most five-wicket hauls.
Afridi’s 5 for 23 is the third-best bowling performance by a Pakistani bowler in ODIs against Bangladesh. Abdul Razzaq and Umar Gul are above Afridi, with bowling performances of 6 for 35 and 5 for 17 respectively.
The score at the start of the sixth-wicket stand (31) is the lowest ever for Bangladesh against Pakistan and their seventh-lowest overall.
The 146 balls remaining at the end of the match is the second-highest number of deliveries remaining after a successful chase by Pakistan in ODIs against Bangladesh. The highest overall for Pakistan is 206 deliveries against New Zealand in 1990.
Afridi won his 27th player-of-the-match award in ODIs, which is second only to Saeed Anwar’s aggregate of 28 awards among Pakistan players.