10 Great Pakistanis?

wiz, maybe ur parents also deserve credit for daring to produce ten great pakistanis in the days of spiralling prices and 15% GST and so on.

Hey guys we can add the names of the people
who won Nishaan-e-Haider for answering those Indian soldiers during 1965 war

Hi-my response here is for NYAhmad. Since you like Sultan Bahu, here is one for you by him:

Sapaan day putr mittar na hounday
bhanwain chuliyan dhud piwaye hou!!

(serpents baby can never be your well wisher, even if you feed milk to it in your palms)

Sultan Bahu was a great Punjabi mufakar.

Baykhatr, nice one. Are you sure he wasn’t referring to some illiterate fanatics?

The people on my list are all high performer/scholars in their respective fields. For example, Dr. General Naseem Ghani (late) of CMH Rawalpindi, was one of the top 10 ophthalmologists in the world (I think that is quite an honor for Pakistan), who visited and lectured all over the world. Ask a military type, and s/he can tell you about the two Generals (Maliks) about their contribution to the Pakistan Army. In terms of Khalifas, they are great that they preached only love for everyone regardless of whether one is Ahmadi or not. I think, only honorable Pakistanis do that.

I will be more than happy to list 100s more if you like. I guess you don’t!

Where are your ten people?

MahaRaja jee of course there was one shaq ki koi khaas wajah

Deewana420 that would be Maj. Raja Aziz Bhati

My list in no particular order:

1) Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan
2) Muhammad Ali Jinnah, Fatima Jinnah
3) Ayub Khan
4) Allama Iqbal
5) Imran Khan
6) Edhi Sattar
7) Dr. Hameed Akhtar Khan (Orangi Pilot Project - Karachi)
8) Noor Jehan, Mehdi Hassan
9) Junoon, Vital Signs, Junaid

I'm sure I missed some deserving people.

Achtung ;)

Achtung, u missed Dr. Salam. Only Nobel winner of Pakistan. But unlike Chandrashekhars and Khuranas of India, Dr. Salam devoted his life to progress of physics in third world in general and south asia in particular. Many scientists from Pakistan and India fondly remember the encouragement and help of Salam. He did try to come back to Pakistan and play a role but u know that history. It is also there in a chowk article. I am sure u just missed and this was not a communal ommision. But I believe Salam, alongwith Faiz is very important name in terms of their patriotism to the very country whose rulers treated them with contempt. Salam could have done a lot more for Pak but that was not to be.

NYAhmadi Sahib!

You need not be defensive. I did not say a word about who you pick. As regards to mine, you will be the first one to know when I am done compiling.

ZZ you wrote:

But I believe Salam, alongwith Faiz is very important name in terms of their patriotism to the very country whose rulers treated them with contempt.

Salaam, I know becoz he was a Qadiani he was not very welcome in Pakistan; but why was FAIZ treated with contempt? Okay, he had communist ideas--but he was still a Muslim (unlike Mr. Salaam)--so why?

How Stupid is this, confining whole of the Pakistani nation in b/w ten ppl.

Her farad hay Millat kay Muqqader ka Setara

I am proud of every single Pakistani, including all participants

yours Baji

People mention Imran & Miandad but nobody mentions Wasim Akram. Isn't it curious? He will certainly come before Miandad in my opinion.
Also, its surprising very few mentioned Ayub Khan.

Bajijan urf zakhmiRoh, Taslimaat!

Looks like you have been attending Nawaz Shrif's brother Shahbaaz Sharif, who is Chief Minister of Punjab's ijtimaas. He also recites shyr's on your line, like one of his favorite, and he has read this nearly five times so far. It is

watan ki mitti mujhay arriyaan ragarrnay day
mujhay yakeen hai, chashma yahi say niklay ga

Well let us hope and pray for it. But agar ijazat ho tou main bhi appnay khiyaalaat ka izhar karoun:

har shaakh peh ulu bhaita hai
aab hal'ay gulistan kiya hoga

Without any doubt and excluding any sense of flattery, the only wise post that i can see in this thread is by Zakhme baji.
Mr. Asif, u ask where r all the Ghalibs and ibne sinas, well, u better get your answer by just looking at the narrow mindedness behind the opinions put forward in this very thread. ill societies produce great intellectuals, and certainly there r many from pakistan in this era, but they are not given any importance and are kept away from media. when our own media doesn't help to make the ideas of our intellectuals known to the world, how do u expect bbc and cnn to do that job. take exapmle of Iqbal Ahmed(late), Hoodbhoy, Dr. Mehboob-ul-haq(late). all of these have intended to do a lot for pakistan in their respective fields, but never given a chance by government and also opposed greatly by public with a sense of 'foreign' ideas. it is the fault and ignorance of public and success of evil governments that Pakistan has missed many oppurtunities to follow those who were determined to make a difference in the society and were internationally recognized for their abilities.
all that is needed is open mindedness and an immediate change in the attitude of educated people. for they r the one who initiate conceptual revolutions. but the kind of attitude found in this thread worries me. if we get a change in the attitudes of our educated people, i bet we would be able to produce great intellectuals in the future, and also we might be able to let the world know the lost names of the intellectuals of our past. and i won't limit it just to the intellectuals, but also to the people who have gone out and actually did some practical thing for change, including a few who are doing it right now in pakistan.
as far as telling the western people about the great Pakistanis in a show of manner is concerned, it is not necessary. Great people of our country are to remain great without any foreign recognition. in fact, except scientists, many of the western people famous for their "greatness" are not really that great and their fame is just an exaggerration by western media. take the example of bill gates or JFK.so, if some western people ask you about great paksitanis, just go forward and tell all the names u remeber, and if they get no clue about the people u r talking about, tell them it is just their ignorance, and that they need to see the world beyond the range of cnn and bbc. tell them that sorting out great people on the basis of nation to evaluate the contribution of that nation for the progress of world is a very unreasonable and an absurd proposition. if they still don't agree, let them read the translations of Faiz's poems, or manto's short stories, or tell them about Iqbal ahmed's contributions to African countries, or about that single man who has cured millions with an unbelievable sincerity-Abdul Sattar Edhi. though we must admit that we are one of the worst nations at the moment, still...
zara nam ho to yeh mitti bari zarkhaiz hai saqi
the educated people must change their attitudes. i'm really sorry for changing the direction of this thread, but i must try to stop them when i feel something would numb the minds of my people, and that is what i have tried to do. but probably Zakhme has done it in a sentence what i couldn't do in many paragraphs. ha ha don't worry while scrolling down the screen, i won't do it again.

Moon

[This message has been edited by YASIR NAWAZ (edited August 29, 1999).]

Yaser Nawaz's conclusion was

<>

I think it is impossible not to agree with the above misr'a. But every mitti is bari zarkhaiz. It is the damn ideology or 'nam', which is so deparatly missing. But you seem to be a person I can perhaps communicate with (depending upon your approval, offcourse!)so with that in mind let me ask you one question.

What is this nam or ideology of Pakistan?

at the time of its creation the real ideology could have been nothing else than 'la ilaha il allah' as the only and fundamental claim for the need of pakistan provided by iqbal and jinnah was the difference of religions among two major nations of subcontinent that leads to sub-differences. so "ideally" the ideology of pakistan was Islam.
At the the present moment the ideology of pakistan is very clear and distinct-CORRUPTION and DENIAL TO CORRUPTION after committing it at every second.

Moon.

Asalaam o alaykum Moon Sahib!

The people of Pakistan gave their verdict against this slogan (ideology) in the 1970 general election when they did not return the parties most committed to this slogan like the different Muslim Leagues and the Jamaat-i-Islami and instead elected parties opposed to it like the Awami League and the National Awami Party.

So who are we to blame??

Re: 10 Great Pakistanis?

u consider them great!!!u dident found any other then them wht hv they done..

Re: 10 Great Pakistanis?

[note] please feel free to open a new thread. Digging such an old thread and commenting on stuff posted way back doesn't make much sense esp when these users might not even be around! [/note]